PDA

View Full Version : pc vs xbox


reptile
07-02-2003, 07:30 PM
Im trying to decide whether to get pc or xbox version. I have rented the xbox version and liked the game. The pc version has online play the xbox one does not. I know the graphics on my pc would probably not be as good as the xbox. I use a notebook as my pc. The specs are:
Pentium 4 1.6 GHZ
320 MB DDR RAM
Geforce 2 Go 8 MB DDR
20 GB HD
DVD-ROM Drive
Would this be able to play the pc version at 30 fps? Thanks

legameboy
07-02-2003, 08:01 PM
Your computer is fair, it would probobly run it at 30 fps. One thing is, with the computer version, there is so much content you can get and so many servers the game never (well slowly) gets old. One the XBOX, its more like finish the singleplayer and do the same old maps with your friends once and a while. My preference is the PC, but it all comes back to you.

EDIT: Oh, and welcome to the community! :wavey: :cheers: :wavey:

Haemon
07-02-2003, 08:22 PM
8 mb video card? You might need a new one, but otherwise it will run fine. You can find a 64mb one for about $50.

I really suggest upgrading because I run on a 16mb and usually get about 15-20 fps on really crowded servers. The minimum requirements also say 16mb video card I think.

Good luck

reptile
07-02-2003, 08:26 PM
I cant upgrade its a notebook. ive played games that say 16 mb as the requirements. SimCity 4 to name one.

Haemon
07-02-2003, 08:34 PM
Well try anyway because you have a better cpu and more RAM then myself, and the pc version is way better than any console version.

[edit] See how the demo runs, if you can find a copy.

Sam Fisher
07-02-2003, 10:49 PM
JO on PC is way better than on XBOX, PC has downloadable maps, skins, etc...

And welcome to the Forums ;)

Prime
07-02-2003, 11:36 PM
PC is the only choice.

yolkboy
07-03-2003, 01:17 AM
There is no choice :D PC all the way! :)

Semicolon
07-03-2003, 01:21 AM
You are here because you already made the choice...

Now you must figure out why you made it...

lllKyNeSlll
07-03-2003, 12:46 PM
You will be fine. with 320 ram and geforce2 you should get better graphpics than xbox. Im just worried that its an 8 mb. My 8 mb rage (worst ever) on my laptop I got decent fps up to 85 cap sometimes with all graphics turned down it wasn't bad. On my 256k rd ram geforce2 64mb 1.8 ghz I can get 150 fps (release the cap) with all graphics down. With graphics up and 800by 600 resolution I can get 60 to 80 on a 4 to 6 person server. With that res the graphics should be much better than on xbox considering TV unless high definition has even less than 640 by 480.

Prime
07-03-2003, 03:15 PM
I would say that it is worth upgrading your video card if you can. JO on high res is a beautiful thing, and will add to your enjoyment of the game.

Emon
07-03-2003, 04:46 PM
Go for the PC. Even if you can't get as good visuals because of your video card, you'll be able to run all sorts of user made levels and mods. Besides, you can always upgrade your PC later and get a real cheap video card. Hell, a GF4 Ti 4200 would work fine, and that's super cheap. Check http://newegg.com for prices on hardware...

txa1265
07-03-2003, 06:21 PM
So he can't upgrade.

However, I've never heard of a 8MB GF 2 Go ... only 32MB. Maybe I'm wrong, though.

I played it my first time on a Dell Inspiron laptop, GF 2Go (32MB) 1.13GHz, but I have 512MB RAM. Ran pretty well for most of the game at 800 x 600, there was one level (I'll not spoil) late in the game when I needed to drop to 640x480 and I was fine.

Mike

Emon
07-03-2003, 07:34 PM
Oh, I missed that. :o

And yeah, I thought GF2 Go was only 32 MB? The 8 MB would probably be a TNT of some sort.

MikeDoggg2004
07-03-2003, 11:48 PM
well this is what i say rent it on XBOX if you like the control configuration Buy it! If not get it on PC:explode:

lllKyNeSlll
07-04-2003, 12:46 AM
jkii might be more fun on xbox just because You don't have to deal with the pressures of internet gaming or meet up with ppl like Mr. Joshua lol.

reptile
07-04-2003, 07:18 PM
I didnt really like the controls on the xbox when using the lightsaber. It felt akward trying to do those moves.

edit: it is geforce 2 go with 8 mb. The notebook is a dell inspirion 2650.

Semicolon
07-05-2003, 07:26 AM
Originally posted by lllKyNeSlll
jkii might be more fun on xbox just because You don't have to deal with the pressures of internet gaming or meet up with ppl like Mr. Joshua lol.

LOL What about Xbox live??

Prime
07-05-2003, 01:54 PM
Originally posted by Semicolon
LOL What about Xbox live?? I don't know much about it, since I am a PC gamer, but aren't the users of XBox Live relatively few in number? I was under the impression the online PC community was much larger.

Semicolon
07-05-2003, 06:05 PM
Yeah i'm pretty clueless now...I'm all PC too...

Go Prime!

yolkboy
07-07-2003, 03:01 AM
XBOX? :D I'm all PC as well!

Go Prime and Semicolon!

Semicolon
07-07-2003, 06:03 AM
Yes go all of us!!! w00t!

Prime
07-07-2003, 01:29 PM
Originally posted by Semicolon
Yes go all of us!!! w00t! Your skills are complete! :D

Luc Solar
07-07-2003, 02:12 PM
Ummm...what's your normal frames-per-second? I checked mine for the first time just now and it was about 20-40 on the lowest settings (just me and a bot in Bespin).

I'm getting an uppgrade tomorrow, so I just want to know exactly how horrible sluggishness I've had to put up with all these years compared to you guys. :)

I also hope to find some explanation to my awful aim (I'm the worst sniper ever! :D ) and lack of sabering skillz...and...well...skills in general. ;)

Semicolon
07-07-2003, 06:52 PM
Mine was 60 last time i checked...

I did it awhile ago though...how can you figure out your FPS?

NerfYoda
07-07-2003, 08:01 PM
I'm all thumbs when it comes to playing FPS's on that big ol' XBox controller. Go for the PC.

Luc Solar
07-08-2003, 03:30 AM
Originally posted by Semicolon
Mine was 60 last time i checked...

I did it awhile ago though...how can you figure out your FPS?

The console command was "/cg_drawfps 1" or something like that. (someone correct me if I'm wrong)

I experimented and realized that a 20-ish fps means I can't kick ****. With 40fps (no lightning spamming or force fields & only one bot) I could actually land a few frontal kicks now and then. :)

Getting my uppgrade today. Can't wait!

Semicolon
07-08-2003, 04:42 AM
alright cool thx Luc. :D

Neverhoodian
07-10-2003, 10:45 PM
It's not really fair for me to say which JO is better for playing using the levels that came with the game, as I have never played the Xbox version, but for added replay value, you can't beat the PC.

There is a thriving JO modding community that has released (and will release) excellent levels, models, and game modifications for both single and multiplayer. These modifications give JO a new lease on life, and it's the reason why I still play it frequently every day.

This is just an idea, but maybe...(don't kill me, all JO fans)

wait until it's sequel, Jedi Academy, comes out.

Jedi Academy will have a cartload of new features included with the game, including customizing your character's gender, species, saber hilt, saber color, and Force powers. It's going to come out this autumn. If you can afford the wait, compare the two games and decide which one you want.

Luc Solar
07-11-2003, 03:52 AM
OMG


OMFG


:eek: :eek: :eek:

I got my uppgrade. I had no idea kicking was this easy! I can kick anything that flies by now! Pull-kicks anf frontal grip kicks are easy as hell too. I can't believe that my lousy FPS had such a huge impact on kicking. :) No more relying on sidekicks for me.

I think I have a good chance of getting to be called are "scripter" now, instead of the good old "lamer". :D

About the topic >> PC all the way. If you want to play a FPS you need a mouse for aiming, not some clumsy controller.

yolkboy
07-11-2003, 08:40 PM
Hey Luc, what upgrade did you get? New vid card?

Luc Solar
07-12-2003, 03:49 AM
Nothing fancy, but >>

Athlon 2600+ / Ati Radeon 9500 / 512mb of DDR. (+new case, hd etc.)

My old setup was a 600mhz p.o.s with a Gerforce 2 MX. :o

Lil Killa
07-12-2003, 04:30 AM
Get it for pc cause it's way easier to control and it's more fun on the pc than on the xbox

yolkboy
07-12-2003, 04:38 AM
I'm currently runnng a AMD Athlon 900 MHz (yeah the first one) GeForce3, 768 MB SDRAM, 2 HD = 120 MB. My rig is about 4 yr old though lol. I can't really expand on it anymore. I'm building a new one though... currently my specs are Athlon +2700, 1Gig of DDR, @ least 120 GB HD (combo of 2), aluminum case, and a new video card. I dunno what vid card I should get though. Should I go the ATI route or stick with NVidia? considering the 9800 and FX series... Hmmm. Decisions Decisions...

Emon
07-13-2003, 05:19 AM
If you have all the money in the world to spend, get the Radeon 9800 Pro or the GeForce FX 5900 Ultra, whichever is cheaper. The 9800 Pro is faster, but may be more expensive. A good bet would be to get the 9800 non-pro to save some cash. It's hardly slower, you can do a little overclocking to get it to perform like the Pro.

yolkboy
07-14-2003, 02:11 AM
Oh... I thought the FX 5900 Ultra was faster than the 9800 Pro 256. From what I read they are both priced at $500. I might be wrong about the price though. $100 is a lot. But I don't do any overclocking. I'm trying to find more reviews on both though.

<|DLS|>Darth Fett
07-14-2003, 08:36 AM
Originally posted by lllKyNeSlll
[B] I can get 150 fps (release the cap)
how do u "release the cap" or uncap it to get a better frame rate?
:confused:

!SoS! Acrid {J}
07-14-2003, 12:34 PM
i think what yer talkin about is
/com_maxfps <number of fps u want the game to be limited to display>

this is just to see how many fps u can get most ppl use this in conjunction with cg_drawfps 1 its recommended u leave it at 100 being as it wouldnt make a diff cuz the human brain cant tell the diff between 100 and 200 so yea

mr. Hutt
07-16-2003, 12:43 PM
Originally posted by Prime
I don't know much about it, since I am a PC gamer, but aren't the users of XBox Live relatively few in number? I was under the impression the online PC community was much larger.

not really, actually in the 2 million i think. BTW, i say go for the pc version (JKII isn't even LIVE compatible)