PDA

View Full Version : When you couldn't play your favorite game


TheHobGoblin
07-09-2003, 12:49 AM
Tell a stgory about when you couldn't play your favorite game. I have to say JKII which I still can't play since I got that damn Windows XP. Man I miss the lighsabers.

XERXES
07-09-2003, 01:25 AM
when Secret of Mana first came out I bought it and played it for a weekend and didnt move, I literally played it non-stop on a weekend. When I got reeeeely close to the end I got grounded from my SNES for playing it too much. :D

Rogue15
07-09-2003, 01:49 AM
hm? winxp? mmmm i can run it fine on my parents' computer and they use xp...try tech support at lucasarts?

TheHobGoblin
07-09-2003, 02:17 AM
I'll give it another try tomorrow.... Off topic anyone know where they do image hosting I want my sig up

Azrael
07-09-2003, 02:22 AM
I used to have a Voodoo 5500, so don't get me started.

The Cheat
07-09-2003, 02:44 AM
good ol' voodoo, man i miss that company, yeah i just go crazy when my computer is at the shop so i cant play games

Lil Killa
07-09-2003, 07:00 AM
My comp has been slowed down from a screwed up security program that he needs to upgrade but he won't so I can't play any games on my comp unless I want extremly low fps (singlediget) now if that doesn't suck I dunno what does....

TheHobGoblin
07-09-2003, 12:13 PM
Another game I couldn't get working is Elite Force for Mac. It was a good game too.

Sam Fisher
07-10-2003, 10:54 PM
Well, right now I'm being a very evil kid. Currently I'm banned from all of our comps at home, but the parents can't get a resourceful(sp?) little b****** off my sisters laptop, now can they? [evil laugh]

Elijah
07-10-2003, 11:40 PM
Originally posted by Azrael
I used to have a Voodoo 5500, so don't get me started. I used to also... didnt stop me...

The worst time was when I blew a power supplie, and bought a new one along with battlefield1942... of course BF1942 came in the mail like 3 days before the powersupplie.

Agen
07-10-2003, 11:51 PM
When my friend borrowed my JK2 cd and i couldn't paly cos he went on holiday :rolleyes:

Before that though, back in the days of JK1, BFP (:D :D :D :D) messed up my JK, i didn't have a clue why my game wouldn't work but a helpful Sysop told me what to do. I really needed it at that time cos i had a match against bsb_dyno, unfortunately i missed the match (got told i was a chicken).. but beat him 4 days later :D

Elijah
07-11-2003, 12:05 AM
Barons head and SBX3 at Caesars palace... JK1 days... mmmm *sniff* the good ol' days

Bob Gnarly
07-11-2003, 12:36 AM
Hmmmm I have to say when i found my old Nintendo system i played Mario 3 and Mario 2 for hours on end.

Oh and when i couldnt play my fav game i played my second fav :D

ZBomber
07-11-2003, 01:12 AM
When I first bought JK2, my dad went on the PC and found like 10 viruses. =\ I cou;dn't play the game for like a month. :eek:

TheHobGoblin
07-11-2003, 01:45 AM
JK1 when I notices the cd was chipped when I dropped it.

gorganfloss
07-11-2003, 03:19 AM
After years of obsessive Diablo 2 playing, I got a new comp and bnet wouldnt work. Now that I redid my comp yesterday, bnet works. But my friend rubbed off the d2 cd key from the case on accident...Now I can finally play it, but cant at the same time. I hate when life screws you over like that.

Lion275
07-11-2003, 03:24 AM
Isn't life grand? :p

Tyrion
07-11-2003, 03:35 AM
Just recently,actually.

I got SoU(an expansion for Neverwinter Nights) and well..my computer got a virus and so my dad has to format my drive this weekend and do a clean install

Which meant I couldnt play ANY pc games at all.:(

Lion275
07-11-2003, 03:40 AM
I was at the very low end of the system req. for SWG, they updated and well what do you know it changed from being 700MHz to a 900MHz, may I note that my machine is 863MHz


Isn't life grand?

Elijah
07-11-2003, 05:23 AM
Originally posted by Tyrion
Just recently,actually.

I got SoU(an expansion for Neverwinter Nights) and well..my computer got a virus and so my dad has to format my drive this weekend and do a clean install

Which meant I couldnt play ANY pc games at all.:( You should learn to do it... I can format this computer and reinstall XP in an hour flat (40 GB Hard Drive)... I dont have the patience to let someone ealse do it :p

Lil Killa
07-11-2003, 05:46 AM
Originally posted by ZDawg
You should learn to do it... I can format this computer and reinstall XP in an hour flat (40 GB Hard Drive)... I dont have the patience to let someone ealse do it :p

I would reformat my comp right now if i had the chance cause it has been so slow lately it is vertualy imposable to play any games on it. The catch is he has stupid virus stuff and he would get pissed off if he found out i had reformated and he had to reinstal it (HE has instal it cause it's parental control **** that never gets ussed cause i'm a good little boy):cool: but oh well I got two other comps in this house to play on so i'm not completely screwed I just can't use my nice geforce 4:(

Tyrion
07-11-2003, 06:47 AM
Originally posted by ZDawg
You should learn to do it... I can format this computer and reinstall XP in an hour flat (40 GB Hard Drive)... I dont have the patience to let someone ealse do it :p

My dad has ALOT more experience in this than I do..

Besides,he also needs to partition it and I dont know jack about doing that..

..oh,and then there's that little fact that, knowing my luck and general attention(or lack of) of what I'm doing, I'd end up sending my HD to kingdom come.

:p

Chewbacco
07-11-2003, 03:40 PM
It was not me but it was when Tie 23 got this new game that he wanted so badly that when he put it on, it wouldn't run. He started to get mad and teary before I found out how to run it an hour later. But that was about 2 years ago. He was just turned 11.

TheHobGoblin
07-11-2003, 07:30 PM
Originally posted by Gorgan
After years of obsessive Diablo 2 playing, I got a new comp and bnet wouldnt work. Now that I redid my comp yesterday, bnet works. But my friend rubbed off the d2 cd key from the case on accident...Now I can finally play it, but cant at the same time. I hate when life screws you over like that.
what realm are you on?
My account name is Oglim

Wanderer
07-12-2003, 10:33 PM
For me it's always a matter of time when I can't play the games I want to. JO for example. Now is the first time I really have the intention to play it till the end ( Was always stopped because of Saberdesigning, which is also very time-filling and of course my job (till 13 and a half hour at work)).

I would also like to play JK and MotS once again. I have Unreal 2...and I would like to play once Jagged Alliance through .....
:ball:
But I guess when I'm able to play all my favorite games through....I will be at the age of 70(Hope I'll made it earlier;) ).

legameboy
07-13-2003, 01:49 AM
I remember when I couldn't use my computer for 2 weeks and I went mad... :D

ZBomber
07-13-2003, 01:53 AM
Originally posted by legameboy
I remember when I couldn't use my computer for 2 weeks and I went mad... :D

Did you happen to run into your wall... not that I do that when I'm mad... >_> <_<

Ty, it soudns like you had the same thing as me, but with a different game. :)

Tyrion
07-13-2003, 02:27 AM
*grumbles*

Now we formatted the HD, but now the video card is acting up.

The only game I was able to play all week was Metroid Prime,and well...

<help me>

ZBomber
07-13-2003, 02:30 AM
Originally posted by Tyrion
*grumbles*

Now we formatted the HD, but now the video card is acting up.

The only game I was able to play all week was Metroid Prime,and well...

<help me>

Try using the default video card. Thats what I did when my PC acted up, and its working great now. ;)

Tyrion
07-13-2003, 02:30 AM
Originally posted by ZBomber
Try using the default video card. Thats what I did when my PC acted up, and its working great now. ;)

Default video card? 'splain.

ZBomber
07-13-2003, 02:36 AM
Originally posted by Tyrion
Default video card? 'splain.

Well, I'm pretty sure all computers come with a video card. Use that one instead of the one thats giving you problems. ;)

Tyrion
07-13-2003, 02:52 AM
...did I mention that my computer is custom-made?

Mandalorian54
07-13-2003, 04:44 AM
your computer should have an onboard video card, go to my computer, control pannel, and video/audio. then select the other card listed.

Most computers are different though so just tool around in your control pannel till you figure it out.

Worst case you don't have an onboard like me and you have to buy a new one. Which is what I'm in the process of doing. So right now I can't play any of my games (JO, Morrowind) and I have to settle with roms.

TheHobGoblin
07-15-2003, 01:24 PM
Originally posted by Tyrion
*grumbles*

Now we formatted the HD, but now the video card is acting up.

The only game I was able to play all week was Metroid Prime,and well...

<help me>
Did you get all the image gallaries? I can't get the one you unlock when you get 100% scans. :(

mr. Hutt
07-15-2003, 07:59 PM
Originally posted by TheHobGoblin
what realm are you on?
My account name is Oglim

Now were into THAT stuff, what realm are you guys on? My account name is futuremagis (dont ask)

TheHobGoblin
07-16-2003, 11:20 AM
Originally posted by mr. Hutt
Now were into THAT stuff, what realm are you guys on? My account name is futuremagis (dont ask)
I'll have to say I'm on the west I'l make an account soon for east.

nova_wolf
07-17-2003, 09:34 AM
Neverwinter nights.

My PC recently seized up, but before that even, it no longer recognised my save files! As such, I have a character save stored away, but I cannot get at it!

IT SUCKS! I WANNA PLAY NWN!

BongoBob
07-18-2003, 09:27 AM
Hmmmm...
A long time ago, my parents grounded me, yet didn't take the games physically from me. At the time, I was only playing Zelda:Oracle of Ages for gbc, so I'ld get ass blasting Diahrea(sp?), and I'ld be in the bathroom for hours, "taking a crap".

PS-If you can't tell what I was doin, you need to be slapped.