PDA

View Full Version : Flags (extended ascii characters in names)


Kainite
07-15-2003, 08:41 AM
No, not the kind you grab in CTF, I'm talking bout the ones some people have in their names, and when you view on score tab its just got coloured ...

I hang around with some of the best insta players, and the ones that know it refuse to tell, kinda like a trade secret. So I was wondering if any of you fine people who claim to know the game so well could enlighten me on this subject. Thanx in advance.

Mr.Joshua
07-15-2003, 08:54 AM
you have to do it through the jk2mp cfg or you can open notepad and make a little cfg that says this.

bind KEY name "blahblahblah"

now the thing is for the flags there's a special ascii character that you need to put in front of blah blah blah. I used to have the cfg but I don't right now, the symbol however is the "male" symbol. Like what austin powers has on his neclace, that circle with and arrow pointing out. I can't even remember what font it's in anymore. Matt from DSbr told me how to do it, but I could never get the cfg to save correctly on my computer, something with my font text formatting or something. Anyways if you find that symbol on the character map use it.

Edit: I found it in UNICODE on the character map, not sure if it's the right version though. Here it is -

Edit2: ack it doesn't show up on the forum.

Kainite
07-15-2003, 10:02 AM
cheers for your help m8, I'll try it out.

shock ~ unnamed
07-15-2003, 10:14 AM
Ctrl+backspace makes those little colored boxes as well, and it can be done in-game.

Or is this something different?

/edit err never mind I know what you mean, yeah it is different.

-BLaCKouT-
07-15-2003, 03:52 PM
Do you mean the 'special' characters that you have to press ALT+Keypad for?
Eg:
0164 -
0165 -
0167 -
0181 -
0182 -
and so on?

You hold down your ALT key, type in the number on the keypad (including the 0) and then let go of the ALT key.

Chances are you'll have to put these into the .cfg file as I don't know if they'll enter in-game.

If these are the ones, let me know cos I've go the list from 0001 to 0255 and I'll post it.

Hope this helps,
B.

BawBag
07-15-2003, 04:34 PM
Yup, the ASCII codes. I use them at work occasionally, mostly ALT+171 which gives you . (A half if It doesn't work in the forums). I think you can get more by going into the character map program on your computer. Hope this is some help.
;)

TK_Nutritious
07-15-2003, 04:50 PM
josh had it right, most of the ascii characters don't work in jk2 cfgs but one that does is the symbol for male. You'd have to get a cfg or text file from someone if you want it shown to you cause these forums don't have that character. Hitting control then backspace will give you an unfilled box, but if you get the right symbol and put it in your cfg file it'll let you have full box.

Kainite
07-15-2003, 06:11 PM
heh got alot of peopel interested in this :) Thanx for the help peeps. tay afe (alt + 21 :P)

Rumor
07-15-2003, 06:27 PM
is also alt + 0423 :P

Kainite
07-22-2003, 08:07 AM
Sorry to bring this up again :D but I've been fiddling about with em and found like 3 different versions of the male symbol. I think I've tried em all but they don't work, all I get in game is question marks.

I make my cfg:

bind x say "blah blah ^5(male symbol here)blah blah blah"

when I save the file it says it contains unicode characters and must be saved in unicode format. So, change the format to unicode, save, voila. In game, still question marks.

Anymore help andyone could give me on this would be much appreciated.

Edit: Also does anyone know if any of the other symbols do any other cool stuff ?

Kainite
07-23-2003, 10:13 AM
c'mon guys someone help me :( I found a text file on a german forum somewhere which has the hollow blocks, but when I implement it it just leaves gaps, so coloured blocks :(

Mallakai
07-25-2003, 12:55 AM
I Got it! :P This has been driving me crazy for a long damn time,and finally figured out how to do it. I can only do it w/ a cfg file, not w/in the game but at least it's something. Also, i couldnt do it using unicode chars in windows, like the alpha male symbol. I had to use a 3rd party program to make this.
Here's my way: First, download The Game Name Builder for quake 3 at http://www.planetquake.com/gnb/.
-In the program, choose the option for "Generic Games & Ansi"
-the alpha male symbol is in the list right there..put as many as ya want, then choose to save it as "Save Raw", and save it in your base direc. as whatever.cfg
-go in and edit the cfg file, you'll notice that it shows blocks instead of the male symbol now. Put your colors and your're done :P Exec it from ingame

Glad to finally figure out how to do this.

Kainite
07-25-2003, 12:25 PM
I just figured it out as well, I didn't use the male symbol, I used one of the many [] sqaures from the character map. Theres actually a program called the block o'matic which someone sent me, made by [JoR]Gem who are big movers and shakers in insta (apparently :D) but all I need was the right symbol to configure my CFG.

If you're cruising round on the jolt or blueyonder insta servers and see either [][]Kainite[][] or []Big Bad Wolf[] say hi :D

Flags
07-26-2003, 04:11 AM
can someone just email me there exec flag file to my email adress (see sig) thad be great, leave the flags thanks

Kainite
07-26-2003, 11:35 AM
it may seem weird and kind of elitest, but you sort of have to earn them :confused: I associate these blocks of colour with good CTF players or insta players, and unless you get well known on the circuit, no one will send them to you. You can either beg people, have a crack at it yourself, search for a q3 tutorial (yes there is one out there somewhere) become friends with people who use em, or just get well good and claim it as your right :D

Mallakai
07-26-2003, 02:53 PM
Good to hear kainite :) I rarely play CTF usually just SO FFA. Ive been to jolt before, but my ping sucks since im in the u.s.
What's instagib btw? Ive heard this thrown out a few times...never was sure what it was. I'll look for ya if I make it over to ctf ;)

vasarab
08-06-2003, 06:00 PM
so everyone knows the flag char now, GJ jake.
there goes the game, whatever was left of it.

Mallakai
08-07-2003, 10:17 PM
Originally posted by vasarab
so everyone knows the flag char now, GJ jake.
there goes the game, whatever was left of it.

Glad to help out. Idiotic to try to keep something like that a secret, so a few morons can act superior to others. Love to tell anyone that wants to know how to do it.

Kainite
08-08-2003, 08:40 AM
Firstly I didn't tell anyone anything (theres like 200 of those square characters) and secondly, how do you know my name ??

NofrikinfuN
08-14-2003, 05:39 PM
lmao!

Jake Kainite? Like, from the Jedi Academy?

Small world, eh? :P

You're always trying to find new tricks in CTF, huh Jake? :D

EDIT: Upon closer inspection it says you're in the academy in your sig... *Gotta pay more attention*

Rainer511
08-14-2003, 05:58 PM
*starts playing its a small world*

NofrikinfuN
08-14-2003, 06:12 PM
Another one! Ack!

I didn't realize anyone from the Academy went anywhere other than the Academy. :D

It's like home. I'm only just now exploring the outside out of sheer boredom!