PDA

View Full Version : 3ds Max Help


zl1corvette
07-17-2003, 10:12 PM
Hi, I'm just trying to do some simple editing on the models that come with the JK2 tools. I am trying to import the root.xsi into 3ds max and then export it and compile it with assimilate/carcass. Whenever i try to build it though it tells me i have no weights. When I build the root.xsi without importing and exporting it works fine so I am losing the weights some where. I am using the plugin that comes with the tools. Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong. I have tried it on both 3dsmax 4.2 and 5.

Psyk0Sith
07-17-2003, 10:43 PM
You need to "rig" the character...skinning or weighting the vertices if you prefer.

There's a whole process involved in making JK2 player models, check out my webpage for more info.

http://www3.sympatico.ca/psykopat/

Hope this helps.

CortoCG
07-17-2003, 10:44 PM
Somehow, when you import the dotXSI models included in the editing tools and then modify them, the weight info is lost.
But, if you import a model, modify and weight it, and then export it with the plugin that came with the editing tools, the next time you import that very same dotXSI file you'll have all the weight values.
Eitherway you have to weight the model at least one time. =(