PDA

View Full Version : I'm thinking of making a system


El Sitherino
07-23-2003, 08:54 PM
I want to build my own system and I just wanted to share my plans with ya'll.

I'm getting all the parts from newegg.com

for motherboard
Asus Motherboard for AMD Athlon XP/Duron Processors, Model# A7N8X Deluxe Retail
it can support all the way up to athlon xp 3200+
and 400mhz front side bus
pc3200 ram
122.99 dolla
AMD ATHLON XP 2500 "Barton" 333 FSB PROCESSOR CPU- OEM
Specifications:
1.83 GHz
Type: XP 2500 Barton Core
Cache: 512K L2, 128K L1, Total 640KB
BUS: 333MHz
Socket A Model#: AXDA2500DKV4D
for processor

WD WESTERN DIGITAL "SPECIAL EDITION" 120GB 7200RPM EIDE HARD DRIVE MODEL # WD1200JB - OEM, DRIVE ONLY
105 dollar 7200 rpm 8mb cache

KINGSTON HyperX Series 184-pin 1GB Kit (2x 512MB) DDR400 (PC3200) DDR RAM modules, Model# KHX3200K2/1G
Specifications:
Type: Kingston HyperX
Capacity: 1GB (2x 512MB)
Speed: DDR400 (PC3200)
Latency: CAS Latency 2 (2-2-2-6-1T) Model#: KHX3200K2/1G


Transcend ATI Radeon 9700 128MB CRT+DVI+TV 8X AGP - RETAIL
Specifications:
Chipset: RADEON 9700
Memory:128MB DDR
Bus:AGP 8X
Supports 3D resolutions (32-bit color) up to 2048x1536
Supports 2x/4x/6x Full Screen Anti-Aliasing
SMARTSHADER 2.0 provides the world's first implementation of the graphics feature set in Microsoft's DirectX 9
Ports: VGA + DVI + S-video
Model#: TS128MVDR97


so what do you think?


i'm not sure what cd drives and dvd drives i'll get yet.

Dath Maximus
07-23-2003, 09:06 PM
very nice. i cant complain about it,

now then, lets see how long it takes for someone to say theirs is better

El Sitherino
07-23-2003, 09:13 PM
found the case i'm gonna get.

Cooler Master Model# ATC-201-SX / ATC-201C-SX2(Silver/Brown) All Aluminum Mid-Tower PC Case - Retail
Specifications:
Color: Silver/Brown 2-tone
Material: All Aluminum Alloy
Drive Bays: External 4 X 5.25" - 2 X 3.5" Internal 4 X 3.5"
System Board: Standard ATX Mainboard
Expansion Slot: 7 Slots
USB/IO: USB ports front
Standard Fan(s): 2 X 80mm (front) - 1 X 80mm (top case) - 1 X 80mm (rear)
Dimensions: 7.717" (W) X 17.795" (H) X 19.567" (D)
Power Supply: **No Power Supply** More... Model#: ATC-201C-SX2

http://images10.newegg.com/productimage/11-119-001-13.JPG http://images10.newegg.com/productimage/11-119-001-11.JPG http://images10.newegg.com/productimage/11-119-001-10.JPG

Acrylic
07-23-2003, 09:30 PM
Mines Better :p:

533 mhz FSB
Pentium 4 3.06 GHZ Pentium 4 with HT
512 MB RDRAM
ATI Radeon 9700 pro (128 mb ddr)
Soundblaster Audigy SoundCard
200 GB Maxtor HDD 7200RPM
DVD-RAM Drive and a CDRW drive
Of Course : A floppy drive :)

Uhm, I dont know what else to list...if you want to know more, ask me. :)

The Cheat
07-23-2003, 09:32 PM
very nice, i have that same mobo and it is great, hope it all runs well when you build it

El Sitherino
07-23-2003, 10:02 PM
Originally posted by Acrylic
Mines Better :p:

533 mhz FSB
Pentium 4 3.06 GHZ Pentium 4 with HT
512 MB RDRAM
ATI Radeon 9700 pro (128 mb ddr)
Soundblaster Audigy SoundCard
200 GB Maxtor HDD 7200RPM
DVD-RAM Drive and a CDRW drive
Of Course : A floppy drive :)

Uhm, I dont know what else to list...if you want to know more, ask me. :) well i'm on a budget and i'm not spoiled.

Kain
07-23-2003, 11:43 PM
I feel that IS. I need to update mine soon...it sucks

The Truthful Liar
07-24-2003, 12:28 AM
*jumps in thread*

I have two 19" monitors. 8)

*dances out of thread*

RoguePhotonic
07-24-2003, 03:29 AM
That case is ugly...

gorganfloss
07-24-2003, 05:17 AM
That might be good......
But I bet you cant beat a system with:
AMD Duron 950mhz processor,
256 megs DDR ram,
Maxtor 20gig hd,
WD 100gig hd,
on-board sound, :thumbsup:
NVidea GeForce 3,
CD Burner,
Non-working floppy drive,
and a 17" monitor.
Oh ya.
I run UT2003 slower than you can imagine.

HertogJan
07-24-2003, 08:10 AM
Dude, I wouldn't buy an AMD Athlon XP 2500+ !!! Make it at least a 2800+, preferably the 3000+... I wouldn't buy the 3200+ yet though, cause the price gap between the 3000 and 3200 is too big. But the 3000+ is a nice option I assure you... BUY IT!!

(Oh I bought my 2700+ half a year ago, when the 3000+ was newer than new... So don't buy a 2500+ NOW!!)

Treacherous Mercenary
07-24-2003, 10:09 PM
Depending on the budget, I would suggest a a full tower case instead with at least availability of five or more case fans like Chieftec, Chenming, Antec, Thermaltake to name a few right off the bat and try to look for one with a Power Supply if you can (preferably 400 Watts at the most maybe alittle more). This will allow for plenty of air flow. Also plan on getting some Round cables either Antec or Vantec. Whatever case you decide, definately get some round cables.

Processor: Hmm... I think your fine right there. You can always overclock it abit too with a Thermalright SLK-900-U] (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.asp?description=35-109-009) paired with a Thermaltake SMART CASE FAN II (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.asp?description=35-999-111) and Arctic Silver (http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduct.asp?submit=manufactory&manufactory=1410&catalog=85&DEPA=0&sortby=14&order=1) and you shall be set to OC later.

Mother board: Can't say anything more about it now can I? :p

Memory: You might want to look at Corsair and Geil aswell and compare the three.

I guess that's my $.02 for now..

El Sitherino
07-24-2003, 10:13 PM
corsair is too expensive. my friend helped me set up the best stuff for my budget. thus you see what i can get.

Treacherous Mercenary
07-24-2003, 10:15 PM
Originally posted by InsaneSith
corsair is too expensive. my friend helped me set up the best stuff for my budget. thus you see what i can get.

Well, you could aswell get one stick of 512MB RAM and get another 512MB RAM later too... 1GB is good to have, but I suggest 512MB for the budget. Perhaps Dual Channle 512MB RAM?

Edit: Actually, try going with Geil instead for 1GB of RAM. ;) They are about the same price and perhaps a bit better too. :)

Agen
07-24-2003, 11:16 PM
Originally posted by Acrylic
Mines Better :p:

533 mhz FSB
Pentium 4 3.06 GHZ Pentium 4 with HT
512 MB RDRAM
ATI Radeon 9700 pro (128 mb ddr)
Soundblaster Audigy SoundCard
200 GB Maxtor HDD 7200RPM
DVD-RAM Drive and a CDRW drive
Of Course : A floppy drive :)

Uhm, I dont know what else to list...if you want to know more, ask me. :)
Boy, am i gonna rob you :D
(or mug someone in your family, whcih ever pays off better :p)

Well, you could aswell get one stick of 512MB RAM and get another 512MB RAM later too... 1GB is good to have, but I suggest 512MB for the budget. Perhaps Dual Channle 512MB RAM?
Why would anyone wants more than 512 mb o' ram? I got meh measly 1.4 ghz with 512 ram and it ran UT like a dream (or 40 fps anyhoo :))

Lil Killa
07-24-2003, 11:26 PM
For your cd drive get either a samsung or plextor cause I have found them to last the longest and heav the best quality:D

Like your system spec and hope everything work properly. I would d/l my own drivers off the web if I were u though cause the ones on the cd that comes with the hardware puts on all sorts of stuff u don't need, slows your comp down and isn't compatable with other hardware/software u have:D

Just a few recomendations and tips. Hope it works out ok and if it does, than enjoy your newcomp and turn them graphics up:D


EDIT:

and for your DVD drive go gt a pionere(sp?) they the best IMHO:D

Treacherous Mercenary
07-25-2003, 12:07 AM
Originally posted by Agen_Terminator
Why would anyone wants more than 512 mb o' ram? I got meh measly 1.4 ghz with 512 ram and it ran UT like a dream (or 40 fps anyhoo :))

512MB RAM is good to have now, but eventually.... 1GB of RAM will become more affordable and having 512MB of RAM will just become ancient. :p It's a viscious cycle really though.

Like your system spec and hope everything work properly. I would d/l my own drivers off the web if I were u though cause the ones on the cd that comes with the hardware puts on all sorts of stuff u don't need, slows your comp down and isn't compatable with other hardware/software u have

That's debatable actually... Like Asus for example. They give a good software package with their video cards such as Smart Doctor which allows you to OC with that tool alone and their drivers aren't bad, but if you go with Leadtek for example... I hear their drivers are bad and you might aswell dl from the site. It's all debatable and how much extras you dl aswell.

ZBomber
07-25-2003, 01:32 AM
Erm.... I have like 4 drives, a floppy one, some other kinda floppy drive, one that play CDs and DVDS, and the last one is where you burn CDs. I'm smart. :xp:

ShockV1.89
07-25-2003, 03:31 AM
I'd go for a different case. but then, my tastes are unique...

http://www.sunbeamtech.com/products/images/acrylic/picture-1.gif My case!

And it actually has more lights in it than that... and more to come!