PDA

View Full Version : VERY frustrated with glitches...


Ninjarider21
07-24-2003, 12:36 PM
Hey everyone, I just wanted to run this past anyone with the game, to see if they're experiencing any of the frustration that I have been. The game has been awesome so far, except I'm about ready to toss the friggin' game out the window because it fails to load so often!

On my very first created character, it failed to load the very opening after character creation. So, I had to scrap my first created character. No big deal, just a glitch. So I started over, made it a bit further, then noticed as I was entering new areas, it would often fail to load correctly, usually sending the Xbox back to it system main menu. Well, I put up with this by saving the game before EVERY single time I zoned to keep from redoing things if it froze up. I made it to the end of Dantooine, before calling up Lucas arts to ask about my problem. They suggested the same things they have on their tech support page. Basically, make sure the time/date is correct. Which, I corrected prior. Then, they told me to erase the game data from the Xbox. I begrudingly did this, since I didn't want to lose all of that progress, and their solutions seemed a bit iffy. But, I thought I'd give it a shot. Well, I started a new character last night, only to have the same problems. What's going on?? I can't believe it would be my XBox, I can play Halo for hours with my friends if need be. I've NEVER had problems like this with any game for any platform. And I've had virtually every system released since Nintendo!

I'm just wondering if maybe I'm missing something, which I very well could be. If anyone else has been experiencing trouble, please let me know. I plan on trying Lucas arts again to see what they say about my problems. I thought I'd see how many other people, if any, are ready to drop an elbow off the top rope on their copy of KOTOR :)

Thanks, and sorry about the rant...

Hannibal
07-24-2003, 05:31 PM
I feel for you but I haven't had the same experience that you have had. I actually feel luck that I haven't because it seems to be random. It's strange to me that some can be having so many problems while others have had few. I haven't had one crash yet.
I've seen smaller things that were so minor I just kept playing and forgot about them(like video jumping every now and again).

I've heard so many people say you have to clean your XBox's laser, keep the outside clean, etc. But if you saw my XBox you would cry. It has so much dust and cob webs on it. The only time I clean it is when I take it out of my room when my nephew comes over and then when I walk it up the steps some times I accidently drop it.

There's no doubt that this game is causing a lot of grief for some people. It's just odd that others are able to get through with virtually none. As a matter of fact I played the game and only checked the forums once or twice until I finished and was suprised that people were having problems.

Only thing I can say is that Bioware knows about the problems and are working on it. There's no telling what the result of them working on it will be. Whether fixes will be in the downloadable content or they'll have a guide to fixes on their site. But they are working on different problems that they have received.

edit-
Thanks, and sorry about the rant...
Hey, no problem. I'd be ranting too. At least yours is polite and not in all caps.

Ninjarider21
07-24-2003, 05:43 PM
Well, I called Lucas arts again today, and they asked me to try it on a buddy's system. I'll give it a shot and see what happens.

Just figures it has to be on the coolest game I've played on XBox since Halo ;)

It's just odd because I've NEVER had any real problems with any other home platform title. Such is life I guess...

Com Raven
07-24-2003, 07:29 PM
Damn, these problems sure suck.
But I hipe that you otherwise enjoy the game enough to be able to stand them :)

MOT13
07-25-2003, 03:05 PM
Hey all I was having the same problems and all i did was
set the date and time on my xbox wipe the kotor memory from the xbox and started over and it works fine now!!!!!
make sure every time you play the game you set the date and time correct and it should work fine.:)

Rogue15
07-25-2003, 09:01 PM
hhhhhmmmmmm......looks like this could solve my problem....i've hit the 25 hour mark, decided to rearrange my room, when i loaded up my xbox, it didn't say anything about the date and time, and USUALLY when i take the cord out of the wall, even for a second, it makes me set it up. this better solve my problem!

:D

JunkyJu
07-26-2003, 12:44 AM
After 28 hrs, my saved games messed up, went to 141465845674Hrs 2 mins...

Every save game after that was also the same. Sometimes would not load, I had to save often after the third Starforge map.
Today I got home to play the last level after the maps, and the game locked up and would not let me load the game, much less a saved game. I deleted 5 or 6 saved games and it let me at least play again. I had problems with this game on day 1, much as I had with Morrowind. No other games caused problems, just the RPG's with HUGE save game files.
Some fool was saying earlier that %95 of the bug reports were from Xbox haters. Common sense dictates otherwise.

JunkyJu
07-26-2003, 12:53 AM
I was never able to get off Taris as a Scout, the game consistently locked up. I had to use Scoundrel to get where I am.

The game DEFINITELY has issues. Anyone who says otherwise is blind, AKA hasn't seen for themselves, and been disgusted at spending money on flaws.

Boba Rhett
07-26-2003, 01:14 AM
My game has not yet locked up or errd once even after 50+ hours of playing Kotor. I had terrible problems with Morrowind doing so though.