PDA

View Full Version : Twisted 2.0?


Lil Killa
08-01-2003, 03:38 AM
Hello everyone got my lates map here and I need some opinions:D


Shot 1 (http://www.hostedsites.ravenfiles.com/~lkmappin/images/t2/t21.jpg)
shot 2 (http://www.hostedsites.ravenfiles.com/~lkmappin/images/t2/t22.jpg)
shot 3 (http://www.hostedsites.ravenfiles.com/~lkmappin/images/t2/t23.jpg)
shot 4 (http://www.hostedsites.ravenfiles.com/~lkmappin/images/t2/t24.jpg)
shot 5 (http://www.hostedsites.ravenfiles.com/~lkmappin/images/t2/t25.jpg)


Feel free to add your comment/suggestions on my map:D

Also I am unshure as to what I should call it. It is a the sequal to my only duel map entiteled "Twisted" so I was thinking Twisted 2.0 might be a nice name, but I have a few more like FFA Twisted or T2. Anyone got any suggestions?

Zappa_0
08-01-2003, 06:00 AM
Hey, it looks good! I say so that your having a hard time naming it. Twisted 2.0 sounds pretty and I think pretty much explains the map.

The Truthful Liar
08-01-2003, 07:47 AM
Nicely designed map. Perhaps you should try a different color theme or mix a couple. Try to even make this more 'twisted' in style than your original map, expand your creativity - see where it takes you. ; )

wedge2211
08-01-2003, 01:53 PM
Is this a FFA map? It still looks very duel-sized. Can you build some more platforms, perhaps vertically? You know, make some of those twisted columns vertically symmetrical (ie, not come to points at the top) so they can support another level of twisty platforms, which would allow a lot more jumping/leaping/climbing/falling and give you a lot more play space.

Lil Killa
08-02-2003, 01:35 AM
Thx for the comments everyone:D

@TL I had some ppl say my textures looked a bland in my first map I made and I'll see about mybe incorperating some more textures.

@ Wedge the map is really acually bigger than it looks. I will try to add more but I'm trying to watch my fps. This map is 90% patches and I'm having a bitof truble keeping the fps at 70

BTW I have heard of R-speeds and was wondering how to see them and what the ideal number should be


Thx and keep the comments comming.



EDIT:


Where should I add the extra platforms? Above or below? I was thnking below...

Also the greay bridges with the glass strip in them... Should I flar out tyhe bottom of the glass to match the grey part? I have had someone tell me it looked funny but I thought it looked funny like it is right now..

The Cheat
08-02-2003, 01:42 AM
sweet map, looks really nice, very detailed, cant wait to see this one released LK

rgoer
08-02-2003, 02:39 AM
Devmap your map, then (in console) do: toggle r_speeds. You'll see a ton of numbers, like this:

48/104 shaders/surfs 46 leafs 2126 verts 1659/2211 tris 0.00 mtex 0.00 dc

The bold, underlined one is the one you're interested in (it isn't bold and underlined in quake--I just boldened it and underlined it for emphasis here). There is no real "magic number" for r_speeds, but if that number (the one you're interested in) starts climbing over 10,000-12,000, you might think about re-structuring your map for better VIS, because players with less-than-bleeding-edge openGL boards may find your map approaching unplayability. At least, that was the old adage for "Quake III: Arena" mapping... since JK2 is basically "Quake III: Team Arena" in a Stormtrooper's clothing, it probably still holds at least a little truth.

wedge2211
08-02-2003, 03:16 AM
Originally posted by Lil Killa
@ Wedge the map is really acually bigger than it looks. I will try to add more but I'm trying to watch my fps. This map is 90% patches and I'm having a bitof truble keeping the fps at 70
It looks just like that one platform with 4 extensions to me...Unless the images show different areas. Your map :)

And dude, if you're FPS is 70...don't worry. Worry when it dips below 40. The highest FPS that the human eye can detect is 24, so anything greater than that will look smooth to gamers. Still, you want to give players some leeway for bots, lag, etc.

Where should I add the extra platforms? Above or below? I was thnking below...
Well, it doesn't really matter. Either way you have two layers, one on top of the other, right? "Top" and "bottom" become entirely relative.

Patrick_H
08-02-2003, 03:26 AM
Hey there, this is really a pretty original design! Almost looks like a good Quake III alternate theme.

Are you using patch meshes for the twisted curves or are they regular brushes? I have only used patches to support my brushes, but this map looks based around them. It seems difficult to line up a lot of patch meshes like this.

rgoer
08-02-2003, 03:38 AM
Originally posted by wedge2211
...The highest FPS that the human eye can detect is 24...This is just an old wives' tale, bro. Think about it: load up a small, simple map and set your graphics preferences to the minimum, least-detail-possible settings. Now open the console and do com_maxfps 24. Walk around a bit. Now do com_maxfps 50 and walk around some more. Now do com_maxfps 200 and (assuming you set your options really, really to the minimum and can get 200 fps) tell me that your human eye didn't detect the difference between 50 and 200 frames per second.

Lil Killa
08-02-2003, 04:12 AM
Originally posted by Patrick_H
Hey there, this is really a pretty original design! Almost looks like a good Quake III alternate theme.

Are you using patch meshes for the twisted curves or are they regular brushes? I have only used patches to support my brushes, but this map looks based around them. It seems difficult to line up a lot of patch meshes like this.


Yes 90% of the brushes are patches.



@rgoer Thx for the r speed info:D

Emon
08-02-2003, 07:18 PM
That's some interesting patch work. I wonder if low gravity would work well there.

Lil Killa
08-02-2003, 07:45 PM
Originally posted by Emon
That's some interesting patch work. I wonder if low gravity would work well there.


Ben playing around with that and wasn't 100% sure on how it's done. I have seen the gravity thing in the worldspawn entity but have heard of other ways to do low gravity. Have any suggestions?

Emon
08-03-2003, 12:06 AM
Not in multiplayer, go worldspawn.

Lil Killa
08-03-2003, 03:28 AM
Thanks Emon:D

Got some new pics:

Shot 1 (http://www.hostedsites.ravenfiles.com/~lkmappin/shot0032.jpg)
Shot 2 (http://www.hostedsites.ravenfiles.com/~lkmappin/shot0033.jpg)
Shot 3 (http://www.hostedsites.ravenfiles.com/~lkmappin/shot0034.jpg)

rgoer
08-03-2003, 04:48 AM
This is quite impressive indeed, Lil K. Those patches--you've got some patience, no? Those must have been a real pain to create "just so"--but the end result is astounding. Job well done.

Lil Killa
08-03-2003, 04:51 AM
Originally posted by rgoer
This is quite impressive indeed, Lil K. Those patches--you've got some patience, no? Those must have been a real pain to create "just so"--but the end result is astounding. Job well done.


Well it would be alot easier if I didn't keep making every small group of patches I find into one patch. If i just left everything like it was it wouldn't take me too long. It's not that hard to me, I just think of what i want, make a patch and them move vertacies around till I get it:D


like those walkways that go down to the lower platform.. I rebult those 4 or 5 times. First I make it out of one path then I spli it up into to then I did some other stuff. then just now i make the top, bottom, and side of each of the 2 grey parts on the walks into one patch so i could get rid of that effect in-game where when the textures don't line up where two patches meet, and u get than funny lighting. Got rid of that:D



Also what would be a good gravity level?

The Truthful Liar
08-03-2003, 09:48 AM
. . .

wedge2211
08-03-2003, 12:39 PM
Now this is looking cool, LK. Even the layout is "twisted." This looks like a cool place for some saber duels, gun battles might be tough since there's not too much cover. And you can see the whole map from anywhere...hmmm. Out of curiosity, what happens if you try to wall-walk on one of those twisty-columns?

I welcome you to the Cult of the Patch.

Default gravity is 800...I wouldn't go less than 1/2g, so maybe try 600-700? Be careful, since even with 3/4g a level 3 force jump goes a LONG way, much more so that people might expect. Try experimenting. Even a gravity of 750 would probably throw some people off...you know, it's just different enough for there to be some unexpected results.

Lil Killa
08-03-2003, 04:56 PM
Originally posted by wedge2211
Out of curiosity, what happens if you try to wall-walk on one of those twisty-columns?



Nothing, u can't jump up to the top of one and if u did u would be near th blue energy stuff. That is if u were talking about those black columns that twist into the air..

Cult of the patch eh?:P

EDIT:

I am done with the main area of the map. I might add a secret area:D but the main room is done cause of the fps still haven't checked rseepds though : /

rgoer
08-03-2003, 05:16 PM
I am curious: what kind of openGL board do you have, what graphics settings do you play JK2 with, and what kind of FPS do you get in this map?

Lil Killa
08-03-2003, 08:13 PM
The comp i am playing this map on for testing (the slowest one:D) has:

GeForce 2
1.2 AMD
512 Ram

I run the game with 800x600 res.

and my fps is 30's and 40's:(

I need to take some stuff out:p

Captian
08-04-2003, 04:51 AM
thats pretty good, make use of detail brushes. but 40 fps on a 1.2 amd geforce 2 is really good for a map with so many patches

Lil Killa
08-16-2003, 02:51 PM
Thanks for the feedback so far. I made a new sky box and want to know if anyone likes it. Personaly I like it but then again I made it:D




http://www.hostedsites.ravenfiles.com/~lkmappin/1.jpg
http://www.hostedsites.ravenfiles.com/~lkmappin/2.jpg
http://www.hostedsites.ravenfiles.com/~lkmappin/3.jpg
http://www.hostedsites.ravenfiles.com/~lkmappin/4.jpg
http://www.hostedsites.ravenfiles.com/~lkmappin/5.jpg

Eldritch
08-16-2003, 06:56 PM
Looks like something out of LoTR (the skybox, I mean). :D

Much better than the ordinary dull space skybox.

Captian
08-16-2003, 06:59 PM
it looks like you grayscaled the sky box, no color.

Lil Killa
08-16-2003, 07:28 PM
Originally posted by Captian
it looks like you grayscaled the sky box, no color.

Well I didn't greyscale it. The reason I put in so much greay is I though a wasteland tyoe setting on some far planet would fit well with map:D

Leslie Judge
08-16-2003, 09:32 PM
You definetely have to make it in a higher resolution. :) Otherwise it looks very good.

Lil Killa
08-16-2003, 11:28 PM
Originally posted by Leslie Judge
You definetely have to make it in a higher resolution. :) Otherwise it looks very good.

probably gonna do that once i get my comp fixed. ATM it takes me 30 to 50 minutes for a 512x512 render:(

wedge2211
08-18-2003, 12:40 AM
I dunno...I thought the space one went really well with this map...although maybe one of the nebula ones would have been better. Or check out cardigan's Q3A skies (forgot link, someone will know it).

That is a good 'box, I just think thet stars fit this thing better. :)

Lil Killa
08-21-2003, 01:05 AM
I'll look into the sky box (higher res and/or diff one)

I need something else though:p

Anyone have any music ideas for this map? One of the things I forgot in the duel verssion is music but I couldn't find any that I felt that "suited" the level.

Any suggestion?

Captian
08-21-2003, 01:42 AM
now thats a hard question. music in maps is what makes the difference between setting the mood and making players turn there speakers off. im utterly stumped on this one though, what have you been thinking?

Lil Killa
08-21-2003, 02:20 AM
Originally posted by Captian
now thats a hard question. music in maps is what makes the difference between setting the mood and making players turn there speakers off. im utterly stumped on this one though, what have you been thinking?


Thats why I asked you guys :p

wedge2211
08-21-2003, 03:07 AM
NOT techno. Whatever you do.

:)

The Cheat
08-21-2003, 03:41 AM
i like something soothing, not really techno or hard rock, like underwater music or something, may sound kind of gay, but thats what i like to hear in maps

Lil Killa
08-25-2003, 10:57 PM
Anyone have an idea for an actual musical compasistion i should use?

Business_Eskimo
09-01-2003, 03:04 AM
You've probably already got this idea, but this is a good rule-of-thumb for all mappers:

Any song that has words to it will get old fast.

Very fast.

Fast enough that after 6 minutes every player will be chewing through the speaker cables to make it stop.

I mean, it can be your favorite song, but you still are going to get sick of hearing it constantly.

rgoer
09-01-2003, 07:17 AM
Use one of the music files from the JK2 SP game... nobody ever hears them in MP, and since they're already in assets0.pk3 you'll save 3 megs of mp3 space in total .pk3 filesize.

Lil Killa
09-14-2003, 08:17 PM
Thanks for all of your suggestions guys. the map has now been released to Pcgamemods and JK2files:

http://www.pcgamemods.com/2245/

Patrick_H
09-16-2003, 07:27 AM
I just played it. I really think its architecturally unique and gorgeous. It is a great spot for saber battles.

Lil Killa
09-16-2003, 09:51 PM
Originally posted by Patrick_H
I just played it. I really think its architecturally unique and gorgeous. It is a great spot for saber battles.

Thanks i'm glad u like it:D

The Cheat
09-17-2003, 10:17 AM
this looks like a really sweet map, im downloading it now

btw, we will be able to play it in jedi academy right?

Lil Killa
09-17-2003, 10:09 PM
Right now u can stick the map in your base folder fo JA and you can play it BUT.... it will not be textured. I might release like a 2.5 or something once I get JA that might have new effects or something.