PDA

View Full Version : Kalima Base (SP)


Gonkish
08-07-2003, 06:39 PM
This is still very early stuff... but I've been toying with SP again. The other map I was working on (underwater base) is dead, unfortunately. Couldn't do what I wanted with it, really.

Here's some earlier in-game shots:

http://www.massassi.net/ec/images/11778.jpg

http://www.massassi.net/ec/images/11792.jpg

http://www.massassi.net/ec/images/11231.jpg

http://www.massassi.net/ec/images/11230.jpg

http://www.massassi.net/ec/images/11290.jpg

http://www.massassi.net/ec/images/10298.jpg

Some of them are a bit old.. you'll notice some don't have the newer things I've added...

For more updated stuff, you're going to have to deal with Radiant shots, as this area is largely unfinished and will take a bit of time. Also, a warning for the 56k crowd, these shots are in the 200k a piece range... Again, some are older than others. The progression on this one is easy.. older shots first, newer shots after that.

http://www.jedilegacy.net/gonk/screens/jk2/gonkworks.jpg

http://www.jedilegacy.net/gonk/screens/jk2/gonkworks2.jpg

http://www.jedilegacy.net/gonk/screens/jk2/gonkworks3.jpg

http://www.jedilegacy.net/gonk/screens/jk2/gonkmeg.jpg

Questions? Comments? Flames?

[edit: added one more shot]

name_unknown
08-07-2003, 07:08 PM
Looks great!:thumbsup:

Emon
08-08-2003, 06:11 AM
Much better than a lot of the other overrated things on these forums.

lassev
08-08-2003, 07:47 AM
Great shots. Are you going to port this to JA? I guess you can't finish this, before Jedi Academy is published.

Eldritch
08-08-2003, 04:34 PM
There's really not much to do in the way of porting, lassev. Should be pretty easy to release for either JA or JK2.

Looks fantastic, Gonkish. Can't wait to see the finished product. :)

Gonkish
08-09-2003, 02:24 AM
Originally posted by lassev
Great shots. Are you going to port this to JA? I guess you can't finish this, before Jedi Academy is published.

Definitely going to be for JA. I'm not even considering JK2 for release. And yes, fortunately it will be quite easy to port (damn near painless according to Raven). And JA adds so much it's not even funny. Portal skyboxes most importantly. They need to release that game RIGHT. NOW. :) I just hope I can..sort of..define some things for the player. Notably the gender (gonna have to be male).. beyond that I'd let people choose what species they'd want to be (I think that limits the player to something like humans, rodians, and kel dor and maybe zabrak? Regardless of a Rodian speaking English and how weird that'd be. :P)

Lil Killa
08-09-2003, 02:53 AM
I think it looks great. I personanly like that hangar looking thing with the spaceship and the big open part out to the sky box. I like the architecture and most of the texturing.

Also I have had friends that got the demo for jka and they have played jk2 mapd with no problems. The lighting is noticably better in jka than jk2 on one of my friends maps he made. it smothed out all of the dark lines from all the brushes he had lined up together, looked nice. The only thing is.. You have to put all the jk2 textures u ussed in the pk3 or it has the grey stuff cause the texture doesn't come with jka...duh....

Oh well looks nice. keep up the good work Gonkish:D

Eldritch
08-09-2003, 02:59 AM
There's a legitimate demo? All I've heard of is the [illegal] leaked beta that's been making the rounds.

Lil Killa
08-09-2003, 03:02 AM
Originally posted by Eldritch
There's a legitimate demo? All I've heard of is the [illegal] leaked beta that's been making the rounds.

It wasn't legal.. of coarse(sp?):D

He got it from a secret location that saddly I could not go to....

But it looks cool from the screens he gave me. the lighting in mp looks just as good (if not better) than the jk2 sp.

Gonkish
08-09-2003, 05:39 AM
http://www.jedilegacy.net/gonk/screens/jk2/gonkworks4.jpg

http://www.jedilegacy.net/gonk/screens/jk2/gonkworks5.jpg

Two more. This area is a bit large. Provided I find the time and get the energy, I'll work on completing it and getting a rough idea of how the skybox lights it so that I can do entity lighting appropriately.

lassev
08-09-2003, 08:32 AM
Have you compiled these parts lately? Do you get good FPS? It's also good to remember that NPCs will slow the game down a bit, and big areas can contain lots of NPCs.

Yeah. I just read about the absence of any necessary porting. The original JK2 textures might be some kind of a problem, that's certainly true. Of course one could always copy the textures from JK2 to JA textures folder. But you can't really expect every map downloader to do that. Raven might give people a permission to include the necessary ones in the .pk3.

Gonkish
08-09-2003, 03:45 PM
Originally posted by lassev
Have you compiled these parts lately? Do you get good FPS? It's also good to remember that NPCs will slow the game down a bit, and big areas can contain lots of NPCs.

I'm going to do a quick test compile right now. I want to check on what's being drawn and where so I can hint accordingly, etc. So far my max polys has been in the 9k range, without hinting or NPCs, so I've been doing pretty well. :)

Khaza
08-09-2003, 10:55 PM
Very original mix of bespin textures and industrial theme..

/me loves it :)

Gonkish
08-10-2003, 02:48 AM
Actually I think I only have about 7 or 8 JO textures in there.. the rest are evil_lair's, specifically from set 5 but a little from set 6 as well.

Lil Killa
08-10-2003, 02:51 AM
Originally posted by Gonkish
Actually I think I only have about 7 or 8 JO textures in there.. the rest are evil_lair's, specifically from set 5 but a little from set 6 as well.

Where do those textures come from? I have a whole bunch in my texture list but have never found out where they came from.

Shotokan
08-10-2003, 03:31 AM
Man Gonk I love your architecture.

Captian
08-10-2003, 04:22 AM
thats awesome... an idea, maybe, would be to add water at the bottom of the map, you know like its in an aquifer... i think that would make it look REALLY nice, since the architecture you have right now seems to fit well with that...

Patrick_H
08-10-2003, 04:34 AM
Evil_lair's textures? They come from his Q3 site: http://www.planetquake.com/hfx/

JA's lighting is cool:
http://mysite.verizon.net/vze1sx51/haslow/misc/JA_flares.jpg

Gonkish
08-10-2003, 01:40 PM
Originally posted by Captian
thats awesome... an idea, maybe, would be to add water at the bottom of the map, you know like its in an aquifer... i think that would make it look REALLY nice, since the architecture you have right now seems to fit well with that...

Well, once I get off my rear I'll either add a small amount of heightmapped terrain, or just figure out a way to get a terrain model in there. That way I can make it appear as if the base is on the edge of a cliff, yadda yadda yadda... and then when JA comes out with its portal skyboxes I can give it even more depth. Should be fun.

Gonkish
08-10-2003, 05:30 PM
Some new in-game shots from a test compile.

http://www.massassi.net/ec/images/12203.jpg

http://www.massassi.net/ec/images/12204.jpg

http://www.massassi.net/ec/images/12205.jpg

http://www.massassi.net/ec/images/12206.jpg

http://www.massassi.net/ec/images/12207.jpg

Taken on a 9800 Pro 128mb, 4xAA, 16xAF, if anyone was wondering. I need to fix the flares at the end of those pole things (as well as probably adding in an alphashadow to the latticework's shader), and work on lighting some more... as well as get to finishing the rest of the area.

EDIT: Here's the latest shot:

http://www.massassi.net/ec/images/12215.jpg

Eldritch
08-10-2003, 10:36 PM
Oooh, purty. :)

Good framerate, too.

lassev
08-11-2003, 11:07 AM
Very good FPS indeed. No need to worry at least if you don't load a lot of NPCs. I have a not-so-big hangar, which gives me around 100 FPS when empty, but with 20+ NPCs (stormtroopers mostly) the FPS will drop to 25-30 (at least when you actually see them - the architecture is somewhat forgiving). But then again, maybe you won't have such a bunch of NPCs at once.

Oh, and it's certainly purty.

Captian
08-12-2003, 09:19 PM
that is purty... i dont expect to have so much FPS on my pc, its only a geforce2 :( the sky shader looks kinda bright to me tho

Shotokan
08-12-2003, 11:06 PM
What about darkening the skybox? You know make it like... Sunset or something. I think it would look better. Especially for like the 4th shot.

wedge2211
08-13-2003, 02:44 AM
That really looks like something out of EF2. Very industrial and highly detailed.

I'm sorry, but I will now be forced to kill you.

Zappa_0
08-13-2003, 03:35 AM
Wow those last screenshots were great, I cant wait to see this map in game!

Gonkish
08-13-2003, 07:34 PM
Well I was considering darkening the skybox (which was made for me by Emon, btw), but the entire map is REALLY earthy hues.. mostly various shades of brown, with some metallic greys thrown in, so I figured the clear blue sky of the skybox (and I will be adding a bit of terrain and then a portal skybox, courtesy of JA, later) would break that up a bit. I need to fix the sourcing of the light.. gotta find that program that gives you the coordinates of the sun in the terragen skybox so that you can have the light source at the same position.

Emon
08-13-2003, 10:01 PM
You need to make the shader for the sky emit light from the right position so it matches the textures.

Eldritch
08-14-2003, 12:52 AM
Originally posted by Emon
You need to make the shader for the sky emit light from the right position so it matches the textures.
Originally posted by Gonkish
I need to fix the sourcing of the light.. gotta find that program that gives you the coordinates of the sun in the terragen skybox so that you can have the light source at the same position.
Taken from the post right above yours.

Gonkish
08-14-2003, 01:30 AM
Here's two more Radiant shots:

http://www.jedilegacy.net/gonk/screens/jk2/gonkworks6.jpg

http://www.jedilegacy.net/gonk/screens/jk2/gonkworks7.jpg

This is the courtyard area.. I've gotta add a bit more before I'm done and ready to compile..

Leslie Judge
08-14-2003, 04:32 AM
Originally posted by Gonkish
gotta find that program that gives you the coordinates of the sun in the terragen skybox so that you can have the light source at the same position. Isn't Terragen (http://www.planetside.co.uk/terragen) itself good for that? :D

And easy to convert. Just keep in mind how the line is in terragen's sun control window, then open up the entity dialog box in radiant and get the coords for that line. The elevation is the same.

Emon
08-14-2003, 05:18 AM
Um, I knew that.

Gonk:

q3map_sun <yourRed> <yourGreen> <yourBlue> <yourIntensity> 150 25

Amazing that what I was just learning in school months ago became useful.

Gonkish
08-14-2003, 02:36 PM
Yay. Done and Done. I'll see how it looks when I compile the new areas.

<EJK>DevMapAll
08-15-2003, 03:12 PM
wow man looks beautiful

*drools*

Captian
08-15-2003, 08:08 PM
cant wait for the new shots

Shotokan
08-21-2003, 06:23 AM
Yo Gonk... How ya doing so far? Coming along nicely?

Gonkish
08-21-2003, 03:31 PM
Been taking a bit of a break.. I'll have more to show soon. Real Life is getting in the way a bit, what with classes starting next week and all, been pretty busy (and my car was in the shop for over 3 weeks, that didn't help).

Shotokan
08-22-2003, 06:47 AM
Too bad.. Well take it easy Gonk.