PDA

View Full Version : (Legend Of Zelda) Link 3.0, Available for Download!!


Antizac
08-12-2003, 04:43 AM
http://www.massassi.net/ec/images/12241.jpg

Well, The final update to the Link model has been released, and will be up shortly at Massassi.net, and JK2Files.com

In the mean time you can get it at the link, below.

Thanks to CaladienJedi, for posting this so quickly:

http://phoenix.mildsoft.net/link_3.zip

Also available at JK2Files.com (http://www.jk2files.com/file.info?ID=17801)

(Master Sword Included!)

Notice:

If you've downloaded this on, or before: August, 13 2003, or The Master Sword hilt is textureless in-game, then you need to download the Master Sword patch, here. (http://us.share.geocities.com/psychodelic_dak/public/master_sword_fix.zip)

(you need to copy and paste the link to your browser.)

And place the pk3 in the same folder that the "master_sword.pk3" is in.

Mex
08-12-2003, 09:50 AM
I'm downloading it right now with one minute to go! This is great that 3.0 is coming out so fast!

Its done! *Runs off to jedi outcast*

CaladienJedi
08-12-2003, 10:56 AM
ive found a bug! in the deity version, his legs show up as not textured, but there is a leg.jpg for them.

NymKaros
08-12-2003, 11:48 AM
I noticed a little something too. His butt goes through his clothes.. :| Luckily its black! :D

CaladienJedi
08-12-2003, 11:56 AM
here's a pic of the leg thing ingame, that i just took...


http://phoenix.mildsoft.net/deity.jpg

Flamehart
08-12-2003, 02:10 PM
Looks textured to me...


If you refer it to this screenshot

http://www.geocities.com/psychodelic_dak/public/d_l_fight.txt

his legs are supposed to be black I think.

CaladienJedi
08-12-2003, 02:14 PM
i took that pic today, after getting the model last night.

now, ive modeled a hilt b4, had some problems, and it was actually grey just like those legs there. I dont understand it, ive looked at the surf (have no idea wtf it all is lol) but i still dont get it... if you look at the GD_legs.jpg ull see, it looks different from the grey in my pic above.

Antizac
08-12-2003, 03:58 PM
It's supposed to look like that. The Deity has black arms and legs. Either way it's fine, I tested it several times before I released it, and from that screenshot you posted, it seems to be doing just fine.

http://www.z64planet.com/zelda6/images/fiercedeity.jpg


[EDIT:]

Ok, I see what you're talking about now. The upper part of the legs are supposed to be textured the same color as his shorts. I don't know how that happened - It all looks fine on my machine.

Is anyone else having this problem?

Hellfire Jedi
08-12-2003, 04:22 PM
The nsshealth version isn't working... :o

CaladienJedi
08-12-2003, 04:26 PM
yes, exactly, its like its textureless, ive tried everything. My friend knows a bit about modeling

he said there is something wrong with the UVW mapping.. but i dunno, hes still looking at it


*EDIT*

yea, my friend said he is really bad at skinmapping and cant do it, but he said he see's the none textured legs too.

my friend pain is looking at it, he thinks its a skinmapping problem too.

-Cal

The Cheat
08-12-2003, 06:38 PM
sweet, im downloading it now

Antizac
08-12-2003, 07:25 PM
Originally posted by CaladienJedi
yes, exactly, its like its textureless, ive tried everything. My friend knows a bit about modeling

he said there is something wrong with the UVW mapping.. but i dunno, hes still looking at it


*EDIT*

yea, my friend said he is really bad at skinmapping and cant do it, but he said he see's the none textured legs too.

my friend pain is looking at it, he thinks its a skinmapping problem too.

-Cal

How can this be? It shows up perfectly, every time on my machine. I'm gonna try a few more things, and If I still get nothing then I'm just gonna ignore it - because it seems there's nothing I can really do.

Hellfire Jedi
08-12-2003, 07:33 PM
Add a .skin file to the pk3 for the nnshealth version. :O

CaladienJedi
08-12-2003, 07:58 PM
alrighty, ive asked around, so far my friend blaze has the problem, i do, and my bro does too.

I think it has something to do with the UV or something. but hey, if you cant fix it, thats ok.

if ya want, to email me something like a version uve edited, i can try it out, since it is working on your comp, maybe it would be good to get someone who doesnt have it working. but it doesnt mattter

my aim is KnifeStriker, msn caladienjedi@hotmail.com

reach me there if ya wanna talk :)

Antizac
08-12-2003, 08:41 PM
Originally posted by Hellfire Jedi
Add a .skin file to the pk3 for the nnshealth version. :O

You're right that was missing from the pk3! =)

Caladien, if you could - I fixed the nssheath, and possibly the Deity skin - download it again from the EXACT SAME link I sent you over e-mail the other day. I think I've fixed all the problems, now.

And it's not a UV problem, otherwise, it would be the same on the other skins.

Thanks for the Help, everyone. =)

CaladienJedi
08-12-2003, 08:58 PM
:'( its still the exact same (maybe not quite, but i still see the silver)


hmm. i dunno what it is, i mean its really wierd, regular link works fine, but diety doesnt :(

Flamehart
08-12-2003, 09:28 PM
Everything seems to work fine on my end except the master sword, it comes up as dflt textures.

CaladienJedi
08-12-2003, 09:57 PM
well, hellfire tried it, we both have totaly different comps, hes got a pentium, ive got an athlon, hes got a Nvidia, ive got a radeon.

He gets the grey legs as well, i dont get it, i even messed with the video settings. Oh well, its ok, i mean it seems to work on others comps..

Shotokan
08-12-2003, 11:07 PM
FINALLY his hair is done right. I may even get this.

Shotokan
08-12-2003, 11:10 PM
Does the Master Sword and the Diety one (forget the name) come with the model?

Hellfire Jedi
08-12-2003, 11:26 PM
Download and check the zip. :D

CaladienJedi
08-13-2003, 12:18 AM
antizac this may seem really really wierd, but ive been trying to see if i could fix it. I DID!

simple, this may seem really really really wierd, but when i edit the surf, take all the armor_off..etc things out of it(so the armor doesnt show ingame) the leg JPG works, i dont get it. but it worked.

It has something to do with surfing on the armor, it sounds REAL wierd, but its true

The Cheat
08-13-2003, 12:25 AM
so just make a surf file getting rid of the armor? ill have to try that

Antizac
08-13-2003, 03:58 AM
Originally posted by CaladienJedi
antizac this may seem really really wierd, but ive been trying to see if i could fix it. I DID!

simple, this may seem really really really wierd, but when i edit the surf, take all the armor_off..etc things out of it(so the armor doesnt show ingame) the leg JPG works, i dont get it. but it worked.

It has something to do with surfing on the armor, it sounds REAL wierd, but its true

That's fine. It's really not a big deal - as long as the original Link skins are intact.

I had a similar problem with another model, I was making - but that was because I had dozens of extra removable meshes. This sounds like a similar case - but, then why aren't the boots defaulting, as well? And why aren't the other skins doing the same - like they did on my other model?


By the way, Caladien, could you replace the Link_3.zip I just uploaded, at the link I sent you the other day. And Replace the one on your site with it. People are still downloading the one without the "nssheath".

CaladienJedi
08-13-2003, 08:37 AM
sure, np

Antizac
08-13-2003, 06:23 PM
Originally posted by CaladienJedi
sure, np

Ok, Caladien...

...um...

...I'm sorry, but I kinda need you to do the same thing again.

I just re-loaded the link_3.zip, with a fix for the Master Sword, like (I forgot who) mentioned. He said it was textureless, and I confirmed it and have made the necessary adjustments.

And until then, everyone can download a fix-patch for the Master Sword here. (http://us.share.geocities.com/psychodelic_dak/public/master_sword_fix.zip)
(you need to copy and paste the link to your browser.)

Just put the pk3 in the same folder you put the master_sword.pk3

CaladienJedi
08-13-2003, 07:27 PM
ok, but it says it unavalible, ill check back in about an hour, or so.

I was wondering if you could maybe make a seperate pk3 of the deity version, you said it was probably because of all the extra stuff, maybe you could take off stuff like the sheild and sheth off the model?. Anyway, i like the deity, just wierd seeing grey legs going through the shorts lol.

Ill get the download once ur sites back up, no biggy, its a pleasure to host your model. :)

Antizac
08-13-2003, 07:40 PM
You might have to copy and paste the link to your browser. That almost, always works.

CaladienJedi
08-13-2003, 08:18 PM
ok, done....

Download: http://phoenix.mildsoft.net/master_sword_fix.zip

Antizac
08-13-2003, 08:36 PM
My bad. I looked at the last message and realised, I should have been more clear.

...I kinda meant the link I sent you over e-mail though.
The full "link_3.zip".
I wanted you to update that one on your site, with the the one from my site. =)

I hope I'm not asking too much, but I just want keep everything consistant.

unless, you have a slow connection, then you could just extract the file from "master_sword_fix.pk3" and combine it with the contents of "master_sword.pk3", then re-zip it and upload it to your site.

Whichever is less of a hastle. =)

Thanks, again.

CaladienJedi
08-13-2003, 08:47 PM
http://phoenix.mildsoft.net/link.zip


about the thing above, if its too much of a hassle, u dont have to :)

Antizac
08-17-2003, 12:36 AM
Well, it's up at JK2Files.com (http://www.jk2files.com/file.info?ID=17801), now. So go and get it from there or Caladien's site, if you haven't already. =)

I'm also glad to hear, people actually are impressed with this version.

Hellfire Jedi
08-17-2003, 12:48 AM
Besides that lame skin error on the legs of Deity, sure.

CaladienJedi
08-17-2003, 01:45 AM
mmmm indeed.

Antizac
08-17-2003, 02:48 AM
It's fine on my machine, and my brother's machine, and I've had some other people say that it worked on their's...
...but I can't understand why it doesn't work on some other people's machines.

[EDIT]:

Try this:

unzip everything from the link.pk3 into a folder called "link". Make sure it unzipped everything into seperate folders within the "link" folder.

openup the "link" folder, then got to: models/players/link/

and open up "default_deity.surf" in notepad, and replace everything with this:

surfOff "torso_shield torso_shield_back torso_sheath torso_strap torso_collar hips_belt hips_lower_tunic"
surfOn "torso_armor_off torso_pendant_off hips_buckle_off hips_armor_off hips_shorts_off"

Save it.

Now, take the entire "link" folder and zip it.

then rename it to link.pk3, and replace the one in your base folder.

Now, someone tell me if it works. =)

CaladienJedi
08-17-2003, 03:19 AM
:(, it didnt work... i dont get it >_<, im so tired i cant think, lol.


*EDIT* 8/18/2003**

i tried something new... i totally deleted my lucasarts folder, and reinstalled to see if it was a bug or something, after that i redownloaded link, did what u posted on the .surf, and it still didnt show.

|GG|Carl
08-20-2003, 01:33 PM
That model looks really cool! I'm downloading right now:D

Psynex
09-02-2003, 12:52 PM
Antizac, did you omit the saber blade tag on the Master Sword to keep it from having a normal saber blade? I've messed with trying to make my blade dissapear for some time, but I keep overlooking something. It's the last thing I need to get straight before I can release the Sword of Omens model I've got modelled.

DARE~X
09-15-2003, 11:41 PM
sweet model i'm gonna have to get it!

Antizac
10-04-2003, 06:57 AM
Niiice...

"Link 3.0" got "Staff Pick" at PCGamemods.com (http://www.pcgamemods.com/2295)

http://www.pcgamemods.com/images/staffpick.jpg

Thanks, PCGM staff. =)

CaladienJedi
10-04-2003, 11:05 AM
Very cool. Even tho I had that problem, it just came to me that i should see if its a problem in JKA(DUH!!!! I totally forgot) Anyway, i Hope it works perfect!


EDIT: Everything works texture wise, but the armor on diety doesnt lol.

Other thank that, it works for JKA :)

Antizac
10-05-2003, 03:16 AM
Yeah, I tried this in JA, when I got it today. I know exactly what the problem is....

For some reason, MP doesn't turn on "*_off" meshes.

All it requires, is some re-naming, a re-compile, and some script changes.

So, I'll be releasing a fully-compatable JA compatable model (and/or patch) very soon... Maybe even using the swords - I still need to see how that ticks, though.

The sounds, were also not working, but I fixed that right away.

CaladienJedi
10-05-2003, 04:30 PM
Yes, all you need to do is DELETE the sounds.cfg. Its not needed in JKA.

Also if you want me to, ill be happy to host the JKA version!

Antizac
10-20-2003, 07:32 AM
I'd like that.... =)

So any-hoo...

I did all the changes, I mentioned...
...even added the saber hilts (they work as add-ons to hilt selector in JA)

http://www.pcgamemods.com/acore/237/2631/b5.jpg
http://www.pcgamemods.com/acore/237/2631/b3.jpg

Even the Bots use their respective hilts!

Get it here:

PCGameMods.com (http://www.pcgamemods.com/2631/)

Comments?

Bilbo Skywalker
10-22-2003, 03:50 PM
excellent work! :D:D:D