PDA

View Full Version : Need help with the Scenario Editor? Ask Here!


Aftermath HG
08-22-2003, 09:47 PM
Hello all :)
I mainly frequent the SWGB Heaven forums, but i'm going to start posting here often, too. So i decided to create a thread for anybody who wants to ask any questions regarding triggers, terrain and the scenario editor in general. Please do not ask me to make campaigns for you, but please ask all questions in here and i'll do my best to answer them all! :)

Tesla
08-23-2003, 09:16 PM
Aftermath i didn't know you joined here, well welcome anyway :)

Oh and Aftermath is a very helpful in Triggers and any other problems you may have :)

Aftermath HG
08-23-2003, 09:42 PM
Hi Tesla :).
I registered here a while back as Sf_Sisco, but i lost the password and i'm using a different e-mail now. This username is better anyway.

maxinmo_3000
09-21-2003, 08:38 AM
Hi i have made loads of cool scenarios but i am stuck on one. i am making a command of the base scenario. do u know how 2 make a little timer appear at the top of the screen and how 2 time it 2 350 days? if u know how please reply. Thanks

Aftermath HG
09-21-2003, 11:02 AM
maxinmo - It is possible but will require lots and lots of endless, repetitive trigger work.

Firstly you need to open the 'triggers' tab and click the new button, then add a condition, select timer from the drop down menu and add an effect 'display instructions', then fill in the boxes appropriatly. Because i don't know how long you want each day to be, i'll presume they're going to be 2 seconds long for the following example.

Trigger 0
Condtion 0: Timer (2)
Effect 0: Display Instructions: (Day 1/350)

Trigger 1
Condtion 0: Timer (4)
Effect 0: Display Instructions: (Day 2/350)

Trigger 2
Condtion 0: Timer (6)
Effect 0: Display Instructions: (Day 3/350)

Trigger 3
Condtion 0: Timer (8)
Effect 0: Display Instructions: (Day 4/350)

Trigger 4
Condtion 0: Timer (10)
Effect 0: Display Instructions: (Day 5/350)

You must keep creating triggers exactly like that until you get to Day 350/350, this requires 350 triggers.
If you wanted the timer to activate later in the scenario, you can set the box labelled 'starting state' to off, then create another trigger with the conditions set to waht suits you, with an effect activating the timer, here is an example -

Trigger
Condtion 0: Bring Object to Area: (Set object to be a unit in an army, when it comes to the area you set, the effect of this trigger will fire.)
Effect 0: Activate Trigger (The first in the timer set, note though that if you wanted this, you'd have to set all the timer triggers starting state to off and activate each one in the previous timer trigger, creating lots of extra work. The timers would also all need to be set at 2 (or however long you want these 'days' to be)

Hope i helped :).

Corran Horn DFD
09-22-2003, 03:36 AM
Hey, I'm here too. ;)

Lyrnx
01-05-2004, 03:04 PM
I am making a Senate game and I need help with the following triggers:

1.How do I up a unit's hp

2. How do I mkae a certain unit (worker) go to a building and create objects

3. How do I change a unit's name

Please help

DarthMaulUK
01-30-2004, 10:04 AM
Thanks to Wok

1. Create a trigger with the effect 'Change Object HP'. The amount you enter will be the amount it raises by. To lower HP, enter a negative value (You will have to copy and paste it -- it doesn't accept negative values otherwise).

2. To make a worker move to a building, use the effect 'Task Object'. You will be asked to set the unit and the location. Set the unit as the worker, and the location as the building.

To create units, use the effect 'Create Object'. Again, you will be asked to specify a unit and a location.

3. Changing names is simple. Use the trigger effect 'Change Object Name', set the object to the unit that will get the new name, and type the desired name into the text box.


DMUK

Iain007
06-03-2004, 05:40 AM
How do you make Unit Changers that you find in Senate games? Thanks in Advance.

onetime user
11-12-2005, 03:43 PM
Hi all, I am very new to this world of star wars. And a pal of mine gave me the disks for the game, i want to make a scenerio (maybe a boba fett early years kinda thing. IE he has just assasinated his target and now he needs to find slave one to end the game. Any help?
Thanks

DarthMaulUK
11-12-2005, 04:03 PM
Hi

Welcome to our forums. Battlegrounds is really old hat now so information is pretty sparse. These links might help you

http://swgb.heavengames.com/downloads/lister.php?category=utilities
and you will find some guides here
http://swgb.heavengames.com/scenarioeditor.php

Hope this helps, if not post back

DMUK

BellGoRiiing
01-28-2006, 08:37 PM
I am kind of confused about the whole thing, I mean, I can create a simple map and play it. But I don't understand how to do all of that Hocus Pocus stuff, lol. Can someone walk me through or have a guide on this?