PDA

View Full Version : Can't stay online


CraZy_B
08-31-2003, 02:46 PM
About 20 minutes after I connect to the net my pc gives me a message that some remote sh*t is failing and that the system will shut down in 1:00

What to do? HELP!!!

Reclaimer
08-31-2003, 02:51 PM
I try doing live update you could have gotten the MSWORM!

Darth Groovy
08-31-2003, 02:55 PM
First of all, don't panic.

Second, formulate a plan.

Third, develope a contingency.


Actually,.... I don't know...:confused:

ZBomber
08-31-2003, 02:56 PM
Originally posted by Reclaimer
I try doing live update you could have gotten the MSWORM!

I doubt it. Its probably a Local thing. how long has it been doing this?

Reclaimer
08-31-2003, 03:28 PM
@Z

Maybe. Give the full list of what it's doing.

Dath Maximus
08-31-2003, 04:03 PM
actually it is the worm

this happened to me

do a windows update and it should eliviate the problem

then do a virus scan of everything

Yoda_623
08-31-2003, 07:57 PM
You can do this too.

1.) Go to start menu
2.) Run
3.) Type msconfig
4.) then go to the Start Up tab on the right
5.) There will be a file called msblast (that is the worm)
6.) It will have a check mark in the box. Remove the check mark by clickign on the box the press ok at the bottom
7.) When it ask u to restart click yes restart now


That fix's it. You will notice that the file msblast is no longer in your start up registry when u go back in to msconfig.

Bob Gnarly
08-31-2003, 08:47 PM
Hey Yoda whats up with your sig its broadcasting IPs, change it please.

Huz
08-31-2003, 09:13 PM
Originally posted by ZBomber
I doubt it. Its probably a Local thing. how long has it been doing this?
No, Reclaimer's right for once. The problem described is exactly what happens if you have the MS Blaster worm.

Wot 2 do:
1) Go to Windows Update (in the Tools menu in IE) and download and install all the Critical Updates.
2) Get and use this (http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.blaster.worm.removal.tool.html).

Dun. Hopefully.

The Cheat
08-31-2003, 10:12 PM
yeah make sure that you update your anti-virus software once a week and if you dont have any anti-virus software GET SOME!

ZBomber
08-31-2003, 11:22 PM
Originally posted by Huz
No, Reclaimer's right for once. The problem described is exactly what happens if you have the MS Blaster worm.

Wot 2 do:
1) Go to Windows Update (in the Tools menu in IE) and download and install all the Critical Updates.
2) Get and use this (http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.blaster.worm.removal.tool.html).

Dun. Hopefully.

i thoguht you could only get it for like 2 days. After that, there wa sno possible way of getting it. The way he sounds, it seems like this was recent, like 2 days ago. AN dI thoguht your PC was not supposed to work after August 19th or whatever.

Tyrion
09-01-2003, 12:32 AM
Originally posted by [RAA]-=K1ngPin=-
Hey Yoda whats up with your sig its broadcasting IPs, change it please.

Dont worry, it doesnt do any harm. It only displays the I.P. of your own computer to only yourself, not to anyone else. So there's no privacy problems or something.

As you can see,I also went with that trend. Before him too,I think.:P

Father Torque
09-01-2003, 03:43 AM
Or if it aint the virus. Try conatacting your internet pervider. Maybe there is a problem with your connection. Or since you are getting that shutdown message. I agreee that you should do a windows update:)

CraZy_B
09-01-2003, 06:57 PM
Thank you all for your support. I have deleted the virus long ago but I think it adjusted the RPC. I had to recalibrate that and everything is fine now:D . Thank you all for your helpfulness!