PDA

View Full Version : JA Demo out!


Sam Fisher
09-06-2003, 02:01 AM
Get it at LucasFiles.com now!

ZBomber
09-06-2003, 03:13 AM
Its oringally from AOL actually. They deserve the credit.

Eldritch
09-06-2003, 04:22 AM
It's also mirrored over at pcgamemods.com.

Here's the link. (http://www.pcgamemods.com/2228/)

TK-8252
09-06-2003, 04:31 AM
Does anyone know how I can install it to a different drive? My C drive is full, and it just automatically goes to C without any question. SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME!!!!!

Eldritch
09-06-2003, 04:54 AM
Do you have another drive you can put it on?

TK-8252
09-06-2003, 04:55 AM
Yes.

BongoBob
09-06-2003, 05:19 AM
COOL! I gonna d/l it l8r on 2night. It will take allll night at 56k speed:(

Lost Welshman
09-06-2003, 10:34 AM
AAAAH! IT WONT DOWNLOAD!

Oh, Mirrors. Thanks!


Should take about an hour with my brand new connection :D

HA HA HA

- Edit

4% Already Mwa ha ha

Bob Gnarly
09-06-2003, 12:21 PM
Done, played it, not much different from JO.

jokemaster
09-06-2003, 12:26 PM
not much diffrent from JO, though it's fun. and
WARNING, SPOILERS

you fight with chewbacca


It's spoiler, not spoilers btw!

Sam Fisher
09-06-2003, 12:46 PM
Its almost done!


I ahte my connection.

Matt-Liell
09-06-2003, 01:53 PM
For those of you that can't get those downloads to work it is also available at www.fileplanet.com :)

Eldritch
09-06-2003, 02:21 PM
Originally posted by TK8252MJL
Yes.
And it doesn't let you specify a location to install to?

ZBomber
09-06-2003, 02:53 PM
Originally posted by Eldritch
And it doesn't let you specify a location to install to?

You can't choose Typical Installation. You need to choose Advanced or Custom. ;)

|GG|Carl
09-06-2003, 03:17 PM
9%

I can't wait!

now 10%

Bob Gnarly
09-06-2003, 04:48 PM
Ouch!

http://invis.free.anonymizer.com/http://www.geocities.com/taj_mesa_black/CrochShot.JPG

Lost Welshman
09-06-2003, 09:34 PM
I love the demo. I can't help but wonder what they haven't included though. Seems they included too much.

What *ISN'T* in the demo that will be in the full version

Wanderer
09-06-2003, 10:15 PM
Originally posted by Eldritch
It's also mirrored over at pcgamemods.com.

Here's the link. (http://www.pcgamemods.com/2228/)
Yo! Cool! THX Eldritch:D At last I can take a view at it:D :D :D

boinga1
09-06-2003, 10:31 PM
Originally posted by [RAA]-=K1ngPin=-
Done, played it, not much different from JO.

NOT MUCH DIFFERENT FROM JO?!!? I could go on and on about the differences. TONS of aerobatics, TONS of new moves (including more sinlge saber moves), Character customizing, and more subtle touches, like much more fluid cutscenes.

TK-8252
09-06-2003, 10:32 PM
Never mind, I moved some stuff off C and it works now.
:)

KBell
09-06-2003, 11:40 PM
Meh, the demo was okay, but the gameplay was almost exactly like JK2. But im sure ill like the full game seeing as i would love to see what the story is like.

Chastan
09-07-2003, 02:02 AM
70% :)

BongoBob
09-07-2003, 02:48 AM
Gad I hate 56k. I d/led it last night, halfway done, and it stopped. It said it was complete at 91 megs. I am so Pissed right now. I am gonna have to wait till tomarrow and go to my cousins house and use her Broadband and burner and , well, you get the idea.

:mad::mad::mad:AOL SUCKS:mad::mad::mad:

XIII the Ninja
09-07-2003, 04:06 AM
Here is the link to it on jk2files.com

http://jk2files.com/file.info?ID=18502

Sam Fisher
09-07-2003, 12:00 PM
I'v player the first level and it rocks! Has anyone tried to wallwalk? Try doing the backflip off the wall, you'll like it.

Arán
09-07-2003, 02:54 PM
This demo rocks!
:D

edlib
09-07-2003, 06:57 PM
It's great, but for some reason the refresh rate on this game is locked at 60Hz, and nothing I do can seem to override it. This is the only game I have installed with this problem.
Therefore, I can't play it for more than a minute or 2 before my eyes feel like they're about to explode.
I have tried the "Refresh Override" settings set in the nVidia properties, as well as on RivaTuner, but to no avail.

Anybody else have this problem? Know a fix?

Thanx.

Lost Welshman
09-07-2003, 07:29 PM
I don't have that problem sorry.

I figured out how to make the demo last longer :D

If you type

cvarlist g_saber

into the console it will come up with a list of thing

then type the one that is something like:

'g_saberPickuppableDroppedSabers' (without the ' ')

and then add 1

this means that if you get bored of the saber you have you can kill an enemy and pick up theirs :D

It's great for making JA DEMO comics. I'm working on one at the moment so look out for it.

You can also change the player model if you're interested. It's fun to play as kyle, especially as you have all his attributes includeing 200 Max force.

|GG|Carl
09-07-2003, 07:40 PM
Have you guys noticed how many people that are logged in on the JA forums? At least 40 people! Unbelieveable!

Sam Fisher
09-07-2003, 07:40 PM
That was a great demo:)

I liked all the Sith.

TK-8252
09-07-2003, 07:54 PM
I wonder if there is a way to add the NPC Rodian head to the head choices for the Rodian. I don't like the exotic-looking Rodian heads that come with it, but the NPC Rodian's head looks good. And I HOPE that the final game doesn't use the regular human male voice for the Rodian and Kel Dor.

BongoBob
09-07-2003, 09:26 PM
YAY! I'm at my cousins house, and I'm abusing her broadband and downloading it right now. I can't wait, I'm gonna play it at her house till my mom is ready to leave, then I'll burn it to a cd, and take it to my moms house. 50%! YAY!

edlib
09-07-2003, 10:09 PM
I sorted out the issue and now I can play it without getting a screaming headache! Yay!

I had to edit the configuration file with Wordpad, but it was pretty easy and straightforward.

Sam Fisher
09-07-2003, 10:51 PM
I just wanted to know, what is your fav special for the saber staff? Mine is the super-spin that spins in front of you and then overhead.

Lil Killa
09-08-2003, 12:16 AM
Originally posted by edlib
It's great, but for some reason the refresh rate on this game is locked at 60Hz, and nothing I do can seem to override it. This is the only game I have installed with this problem.
Therefore, I can't play it for more than a minute or 2 before my eyes feel like they're about to explode.
I have tried the "Refresh Override" settings set in the nVidia properties, as well as on RivaTuner, but to no avail.

Anybody else have this problem? Know a fix?

Thanx.


If u look in the console at the main screen when JA opens u will notice everything is locked.

Sam Fisher
09-08-2003, 01:23 AM
Hi LK! long time no see:)

Whats up? Like the demo?

ZBomber
09-08-2003, 01:27 AM
Originally posted by SamFisher
That was a great demo:)

I liked all the Sith.

Ahem, dark jedi. ;)

Indeed, the demo was fun. Lost, how do you become Kyle?

Lost Welshman
09-08-2003, 06:33 PM
Go into console. With cheats on I think,

the same cheat activation as jk2

And type

playermodel Kyle

He sounds really evil when you do a taunt

type taunt into the console.

you can even be a new reborn and the other reborns treat you as an ally. So you can spawn kyle and fight him :D

Somehow, messing around with the player models, I managed to get my player to have a double bladed saber AND a second single saber in the other hand. I can switch between Dual saber mode, and just double-bladed mode. It's awsome!


- Edit, Hey!? My Post hasn't been registered! It's just... left floating for nobody to notice. That's weird. I can't explain it either. It says the last person to bost was ZBomber, but it was me I tell you!

Lil Killa
09-08-2003, 09:04 PM
Originally posted by SamFisher
Hi LK! long time no see:)

Whats up? Like the demo?


Sup Sam.

Yeah the demo was cool. I only like the staff though the dual sabers weren't very fun and the single... wel I haven't tryed it yet. Game looks good and was funall except for a few parts.

RoguePhotonic
09-08-2003, 11:52 PM
What I hated was they didn't improve things like ice skating type movement or little things like that...but it really doesn't matter...JO was and is great so even if JA is like an expansion it will still be fun to play.

Kurgan
09-09-2003, 11:52 AM
I suggest you guys visit the Jedi Academy forum you'll get 100x the discussion about the demo there and more cool tricks.
; )

PS: There is a list of mirrors for the demo posted on the JediKnight.net main page (recent news).

Cya there!

Writer
09-09-2003, 05:17 PM
Awesome demo. I used dual sabers first, then tried the saber staff. Like the staff better. You can kick people and stab them. They die no matter where you stab them. I stabbed one in the leg and he died. I stabbed another one in a very painful place (not on purpose you pervs!) He died too, but that's to be expected I guess.


Go saber staff. WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!

RoxStar
09-09-2003, 10:02 PM
the animation was all jerky for me.

•-BLaCKouT-•
09-09-2003, 10:22 PM
Originally posted by -=TheTycooner=-
the animation was all jerky for me.
Did you try dropping the graphics settings? Usually works for me. Although on the bigger levels of JO, I had graphics like JK :p

B.

|GG|Carl
09-11-2003, 01:43 PM
I have found 2 secret areas, one on each map, doea anyone know if that's all of the secret areas?

Sam Fisher
09-11-2003, 01:47 PM
Where is the secret area on the Tatooine map? I found 2 secrets on the Chandrila map.

|GG|Carl
09-11-2003, 03:13 PM
Originally posted by SamFisher
Where is the secret area on the Tatooine map? I found 2 secrets on the Chandrila map.
:doh: *starts JA demo to search for secret area no.2 on the Chandrila map*

And:
The secret area on the Tatooine map is situated in the place where the ravens claw is. It's behind some boxes to your right when you first enter the "room".
hope you understood that... It's hard to explain



EDIT: I found the last secret area on chandrila! Now, is this all secret areas? or are there more of them?

Sam Fisher
09-11-2003, 11:16 PM
Thanks for that bit o' info;)

My brother said that there are four secrets on the Chandrila map, I haven't found them yet though. Do you want a screenshot of the secret areas that I've found? It might be better than to try to explain it all.

Lil Killa
09-11-2003, 11:20 PM
sure Sam I have only found one but I have seen one secret area in the chaladri(sp?) map but ciouldn't get to it..

Sam Fisher
09-11-2003, 11:28 PM
Ok, I'll be back in a sec.

Sam Fisher
09-12-2003, 12:02 AM
This is the first one:

http://home.ddc.net/btoups/shot0000.jpg


This is the second one:

http://home.ddc.net/btoups/shot0002.jpg

Hope it helps. BTW, on the 1st one, on the secret platform there is a Merc w/ a Concussion Rifle, so you have to take him out w/ the sniper rifle.

Lil Killa
09-12-2003, 01:30 AM
I found the other two

they are both near the part where you jump down after opening the big doors and killing both the dual saber jedi and the one that jumps up to u. use force sight to see the orangy things or the ppl and u can find them. I might take screens later but I'm to lazy to do it atm.

Sam Fisher
09-12-2003, 03:16 AM
Thanks, LK!


*Goes and looks*

|GG|Carl
09-13-2003, 10:16 AM
I found them all on chandrilla! All 4!

Now it's just tatooine remaining... I've only found 1 there... And it doesn't say how many secret areas there are on the tatoonie map after completing it...

The Cheat
09-13-2003, 02:48 PM
is it just me or does this game look totally awesome?

topshot
09-13-2003, 03:08 PM
The game. Trust me.

*looks around.*

"Oh, did I miss something?" :p

legameboy
09-13-2003, 03:36 PM
The demo was great, I can't wait for the full game release... especially the speeder bikes!!! :cool:

RoxStar
09-13-2003, 04:14 PM
Somone should load a Singleplayer model from Jo and see if it works with the JA Demo.

Crow_Nest
09-17-2003, 11:06 AM
Its already out at jk2files. for a long time!