PDA

View Full Version : EAX Question


HarrisPCa
09-12-2003, 08:17 AM
First, sorry if this is in the wrong forum, but I couldnt find one to fit it in.

I seem to have problems with the EAX selection. I can turn it on ok, and it does seem to work, but the sounds then have a really heavy echo. Sorry if this is what is meant by EAX but I dont think this should be the case. I have a EAX panel on my computer for use with my Creative Soundcard Audigy, do I have to do something there?? I had this problem with Jedi Outcast aswell.

Any ideas??

Carl

Thazac
09-12-2003, 10:03 AM
Well, EAX is supposed to add various environmental effetcs... If it's on Chandrila only I'd not be surprised, hoever if it's on both demo maps I don't really know... Gotta turn it on myself and have a look...

Andy867
09-12-2003, 11:46 AM
Well, exercise caution when using EAX in-game becuase Outcast had a really bad bug when using EAX with the Audigy sound cards.

StormHammer
09-12-2003, 12:26 PM
Yes, EAX does seem to cause a lot of issues. I'm beginning to wonder why they bother putting support for it in games at all, because most of the games I've played that 'support' it have issues with it enabled.

Anyway...have you checked to see if you have any 'effects' turned on under Windows? When listening to music, I sometimes set the environmental effects to 'auditorium' or something for a different sound...and that sound (reverb) can carry over when I'm playing a game.

Other than that, turn off EAX and save yourself a lot of hassle. ;)