PDA

View Full Version : JA SP forced player skin changes


lassev
09-19-2003, 04:01 PM
I'm just wondering if anybody knows, if you could build a multi-level single player campaign in such a manner that you could change the player skin between levels?

I guess it's possible to force the player have a certain skin and gender (?). Still, it would be nice, if it was possible to exploit the flexible game engine so that you could "develop" the player by changing his clothes from time to time. This would offer some very interesting possibilities.

Any ideas?

Leslie Judge
09-20-2003, 09:42 AM
Hehh, not yet. But this was one of my questions too. In a few days we possibly can get an answer from SunBurN at Map-Review.com forums (http://map-review.ravencommunity.net/forums/index.php).

idontlikegeorge
09-20-2003, 06:22 PM
Only way I can see is if you can toggle ICARUS scripts within the level to do console commands. I don't think they can - but you can also perhaps run a .cfg file for each map maybe?

But from my experience with JO .cfgs for each .bsp were unreliable at best.

"Flexible game engine..." - well, it's not so flexible if everything is hardcoded and they can't/won't release any source - which is often the case with SP. But, atlease JA seems more extentionalized than it's predecessor (although still can't make the lame blaster bolts go a real speed. Still hardcoded :mad: ).

lassev
09-21-2003, 11:39 AM
Yeah, well. I was living in optimistic hopefulness, and thinking that the possibility to "create" you own appearance would have urged the Raven chaps to extend the code a little bit to grant the possibility to do this kind of things. I don't know how hard it would have been to code such a possibility, but I imagine not that hard, considering how skillful people they are.

I don't have the game yet, but I assume such things did not happen in the original JA SP?

idontlikegeorge
09-21-2003, 07:53 PM
No. You always play as the Jaden you set-up from the beginning (only change is a saved game on another Jaden).

shukrallah
09-21-2003, 08:23 PM
Its possible, notice in levels like hoth you wear a jacket (i think)

Plus, the other day i was talking to a guy in the #Jediknight IRC chat room, and he said you could change the model... he didnt say how, but.. he said you could. :|

And if you can use console commands in a script, the command to change the model would be playermodel then the models name

EX:

playermodel stormtrooper

it could be player model, or playermodel, im not sure....

Darth Kaan
09-21-2003, 11:55 PM
Because I am interested in this and I hate waiting for the JA dev tools, I pathed JK2Radiant to JA and have been working on a map just messing around.

Anyway, I made a custom Kyle NPC, with a custom skin, orange bladed staff saber and select forcepowers and forced it as the player model by targeting a target_scriptrunner from the info_player_start that uses a script.

The only problem...if you die during the level and re-start from a checkpoint or quick save, the skin does not reload properly. Everything else works fine.

I'm currently trying to figure out how to solve the skin not reloading problem but have not had any luck so far, especially since I declared that variable at the levelstart.

The SP objectives are set up different and the newgame.menu file is different from JKO in that it does not have the line "uiScript startgame"so the old method of changing it to to exec "exec gamestart.cfg" wont work for starting a mod.

I really wish the JA dev tools would be released!

idontlikegeorge
09-22-2003, 12:03 AM
Yeah, I noticed this to, I tweeked the pak file for Edward P.'s Mara Jade model and used that as my playermodel via console command playermodel. But, upon death, the quickload would continue the model but not the skin.

But, yeah, I completely overlooked the whole Hoth mission... but looking at the jedi_hoth folder, there is only images (although I have not unpaked all the assets files), and I haven't found any skin files that link to those images; I dunno what the hoth outfit model (or surfaces) is/are even called!

But I'm not really a modeller, so I haven't messed with the new JA modeling tools, so I'm not exactly sure.

t3rr0r
09-22-2003, 12:31 PM
Originally posted by idontlikegeorge
But, yeah, I completely overlooked the whole Hoth mission... but looking at the jedi_hoth folder, there is only images (although I have not unpaked all the assets files), and I haven't found any skin files that link to those images; I dunno what the hoth outfit model (or surfaces) is/are even called!
they're part of the custom player models. you can even run through the whole game wearing hoth clothing.

idontlikegeorge
09-23-2003, 07:59 AM
Hmm.

Well, I think, with the whole Hoth outfit thing, that the player model can be changed between levels, at least - in game, without bugs (not as unreliable as the console command playermodel).

This is reassuring - we can see it is possible in-game. How it is implemented is still a mystery. Whenever the text-viewable scripts are released (if they are), they might hold the answers.

lassev
09-23-2003, 08:15 AM
Now that I reached the Hoth level, I can see what you mean. It indeed seems promising. Let's wait till the Editing tools are released and perhaps we will be positively surprised. Hopefully implementing the same system with custom skins won't be anything too difficult (for me, that is, I know you guys up there will do anything in no time), but something that can be accomplished without modeling skills or special tools not dealt out with the Editing tools.

idontlikegeorge
09-23-2003, 08:29 AM
Yeah, I'm hoping that it can be done using "whole" models as well, not just the customizable multi-surface custom player models for Jaden.

Because it would be nice, and a good thing for third-party SP mapping, to have the ability to give player characters "disguises" (like a stormtrooper outfit while inflitrating a garrison post :) ).

Leslie Judge
09-23-2003, 09:44 AM
Exactly. And it would be good if the player could change clothes from day to day. It would make ME feel a little more hygienic. :)

Hey, idontlikegeorge, your signature made me recall this: http://www.lightsaberinformationcenter.com/baduses/baduse416.mov

Darth Kaan
09-23-2003, 02:44 PM
Changing them is easy by using a script that defines that variable at the level start.

The problem is, if you die during the level and reload from a checkpoint or a quick save, the model reloads but the skin does not.

Maybe the devtools will have the .txt versions of the ibi's and the secret will be in there.

lassev
09-23-2003, 05:28 PM
Originally posted by Darth Kaan
Maybe the devtools will have the .txt versions of the ibi's and the secret will be in there.
I would say we can almost certainly count on that. Studying the old scripts is so big a help that it would be strange if they are not shipped along the other stuff. And besides, they are just tiny text files.

shukrallah
12-17-2003, 10:55 PM
Is there any progress at all? Anyone know how to fix the skin bug? Plus, whats the ICARUS command. I will be using this sometime later on in jedi academy. thanks. BTW, sorry for bringing up this old thread.