PDA

View Full Version : Hard Lock after map load


Master DarkStar
09-20-2003, 07:20 AM
Anyone else having a problem where there computer hard locks sometimes right after a new map loads in Multiplayer? I get this every other map or so.

Athlon 2.8Ghz A7N8X
1.5GB RAM
ATI 9700PRO
Audigy 2
Windows XP

Master DarkStar
09-20-2003, 08:52 PM
If anyone else is having this problem, theres a good change you are an ATI 9xxx owner and you have turned on openGL "TRUFORM" under display panel, advanced, opengl. Turning this off seems to solve the problem.

ch4s3r
09-21-2003, 01:16 AM
I have this same problem and i have a ati 9600 radion pro. I can't find the truform thing under open GL, there's nothing about it there

Master DarkStar
09-21-2003, 09:36 AM
What drivers do you have? It appears TRUFORM did not fix it for me, however after changing anti-aliasing from 4x to 2x I have not crashed yet.. (20 levels or so).

Jah Warrior
09-21-2003, 10:14 AM
I think that truform is not available as an option on the 3.7 catalyst.

Still some of the maps are quite laggy (30fps) with a 9800 pro @ 420/376:(

I fail to see where this massive load on the graphics card is coming form, the graphics in JA are not that complex or indeed that much different to JK2 :confused:

I'd really like to be able to play this game with 4 x AA and 16 x AF, like I usually have in other games.


there must be a hidden console command to miraculously boost fps.

btw i notice that r_fastsky 1 no longer turns off reflections :confused:

jodiuh
09-23-2003, 01:48 AM
The hidden command you're looking for in mp is r_dynamicglow 0. In sp you can just turn it off in the options. You would further increase your fps by changing shadows to simple. I think the command in mp is g_shadow(s)/cg_shadow(s). Give this a value of 1 for simple or 2 for volumetric if you're feeling crazy :P DarkStar, I'm with you on the 4x to 2x. That helped me out too. 3 days wo/ crash. I use vsync so my max fps is 85, but it doesn't get much lower in a fight.

amd 2300mhz
9800 pro
512 ddr

Jod ;-)