PDA

View Full Version : Request for CD 1 even when cd in drive


jp9876
09-20-2003, 08:39 AM
I've just installed JA from my C Drive (copied all files from retail cd to C Drive due to loading errors).

Now when I attempt to click on either single or multi player it asks for CD 1 despite it being in the drive already.

Help

Kurgan
09-20-2003, 08:56 AM
Uninstall and reinstall. When you copied over the files to your hard drive first that was probably what goofed it up.

Sorry...

jp9876
09-20-2003, 11:38 AM
Problem is, when I attempt to instal direct from the CD's I get an error loading assets0.pk3 and the installation aborts.

Also, after loading direct from the hard drive, if I attempted to use safe mode I got a message saying :

------- sound initialization -------
Initializing DirectSound
- using ancient version of DirectX -- this will slow FPS
locked hardware. ok
----- Sound Info -----
sound system is muted
1 stereo
32768 samples
16 samplebits
1 submission_chunk
22050 speed
0xbf08060 dma buffer
No background file.
----------------------
------------------------------------

--- ambient sound initialization ---
Sound memory manager started
Loading dll file ui.
Shutting down OpenGL subsystem
Not a JPEG file: starts with 0x9e 0xb7

Do I have a problem with my sound card as well? The analysis/direct x9 gave my system the all clear.

cayqel
09-20-2003, 12:36 PM
JA remembers the drive letter that it was installed from, (ie D: for a CD drive) and looks at that drive for the CD. Since you isntalled from the hardrive it looks there for the CD *not* at your CD drive. Try updating the firmware on your CD drive. Then installing for the CD drive. Otherwise throw down $20 for a new CD drive, it will help in the long run.