PDA

View Full Version : Water Shader problem....


Kyle_KatarnJedi
09-21-2003, 03:52 PM
In my map I have 2 custom shaders, the sky works fine, but my water doesnt seem to. Here is the code.... I get the texture in Raident but no whitebox around it...


textures/jc2/sky_light
{
qer_editorimage textures/skies/sky.tga
q3map_skylight 350
surfaceparm sky
surfaceparm noimpact
surfaceparm nomarks
notc
q3map_nolightmap
skyParms textures/jc2/sky 512 -
}

textures/jc2/water
{
qer_editorimage textures/jc2/water
surfaceparm metalsteps
surfaceparm nonsolid
surfaceparm nonopaque
surfaceparm water
surfaceparm fog
surfaceparm trans
q3map_material Water
q3map_nolightmap
q3map_onlyvertexlighting
fogparms ( 0.113725 0.137255 0.380392 ) 1024.0
{
map textures/jc2/water
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA
rgbGen exactVertex
alphaGen const 0.2
tcMod scroll 0.005 0.01
tcMod turb 1 0.03 0 0.3
}
{
map textures/jc2/water
blendFunc GL_ONE GL_SRC_ALPHA
rgbGen exactVertex
alphaGen const 0.2
tcMod scroll -0.005 -0.01
tcMod turb 0 -0.03 0.5 -0.3
}
}


Perhaps you guys can help me :) It seems to be soild and not water....

[SASH]Nathan
09-24-2003, 02:11 PM
can u see the water moving in game yet its solid? sumtimes if u make complex water brushs the game will make sum work yet sum will be solid, its all about careful placing of the brushs making sure none are touching the void and not to many other brushs in them/ touching them, also using chaulk to texture the sides of the brushs ( chaulk_nonsolid ) and then texturing top and bottom of the brushs with yur water texture.

Eldritch
09-24-2003, 03:43 PM
Did you add the new .SHADER file you created to the end of the shaderlist.txt file so that Radiant knows where to find the shader info?

That's the # 1 thing most people forget to do when creating new shaders.

Lil Killa
09-25-2003, 02:11 AM
Also don't forget that sometimes Radiant compiles the water as solid.. It's done it to me and a few other ppl I know.

wedge2211
09-26-2003, 03:38 PM
Also, try naming your shader something other than the actual water image (just change the textures/jc2/water line to textures/jc2/jc2water or something).