PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone convert JEDICOUNCILGC?


Master William
09-22-2003, 10:55 AM
I loved this map (jedicouncilgc) and I am planning on using it for my clans server, but I cannot convert it, and I won't bother downloading some program and doing all that stuff.

So, can anyone do it for me? I want the latest version, 3.1.

JarJarBinks
09-22-2003, 11:07 AM
It's easy to convert any map accually as long as you have the Jedi Outcast textures converted...Just open your Jedi Outcast assets0.pk3 with winzip (make sure its set to winzip classic, not wizard), right click on the window, check by Path, now select anything in textures/ and extract to C:\textures. Now go to C:\, right click on the textures folder and go to Winzip > Add to textures.zip, it should make a new .zip right there, now rename textures.zip to JOtextures.pk3 and put it in your Jedi Academy folder/GameData/base and you should be able to use pretty much any custom map just by putting the custom map.pk3 in your Jedi Academy folder/GameData/base folder like in Jedi Outcast.

Master William
09-22-2003, 11:21 AM
but, i dont have jk2 installed... and i dont wanna bother doing all that.

can anyone do it for me? jedicouncilgc 3.1 can be found at jk2files.com

JarJarBinks
09-22-2003, 11:34 AM
Ok then, you're gonna need to get somebody to convert the textures then upload it to a website so you can download it, because the textures are 120 mb. Unless the map you want converted it made up entirely of custom textures, you're going to NEED to get the JO textures. If it IS made up entirly of custom textures, you should just be able to put the .pk3 in your Jedi Academy folder/GameData/base folder.

Master William
09-23-2003, 04:04 PM
I just put the PK3 over to my base folder, and when I try to load map, it shows an error that goes something like ''Error: 7 sound sets missing!''

What's this?!

DarthApollo
09-23-2003, 04:23 PM
I dont wanna bother doing all that
I just put the PK3 over to my base folder, and when I try to load map, it shows an error that goes something like ''Error: 7 file sets missing!''

What's this?!

JarJarBinks already explained why this would happen when trying to use a map WITHOUT all custom textures. The map you are dealing with uses some of the stock JO textures which are NOT included in JA. Unless you extract those textures and put them in your JA base folder, the map will not work properly.

Why don't you try tracking down the map's author? Ask him to release a version for JA.

Master William
09-23-2003, 05:31 PM
I did... He is not responding.

His name is Griffinclaw.

Pnut_Man
09-23-2003, 06:52 PM
Personally I'd like to see a JKA-style upgrade for this map. Add some crates or other objects that we can move around with the force, pump up the textures, put this enhanced engine to the test, then we'd be set...