PDA

View Full Version : "I love my Q3Map2" Whatcha want, a cookie?


RenikDelan
09-23-2003, 11:16 AM
First off, before I begin: Eldritch, the forum search is disabled, so you cant say I didnt try. :)

Anyway, we all know that Q3Map2 (http://shaderlab.com/q3map2/) has a new version for JA (v2.5.7), but being the newbie that I am, I dont know how to set it up to execute with the "-ja" switch. Its sorta a no-brainer that you swap it with the "-jk2", but its a matter of where and how.

As for extra information, I have GKRadiant, JK2Radiant (for when GK acts up; guilty as charged :( ) and Q3Toolz.

Help?

Mr. Chopper
09-23-2003, 11:32 AM
I think you can create your own compile configurations besides those in the BSP menu. I believe you do it in the same menu that the pointfile settings are in.......:confused:

GothiX
09-23-2003, 11:54 AM
*cough* (http://www.planetquake.com/hro/webs/q3map2toolz.htm)

RenikDelan
09-23-2003, 07:48 PM
*sigh* I'm still not getting it.
If someone wants to humor me with a step-by-step, Id be greatful.

Mr. Chopper
09-23-2003, 10:22 PM
1. Open up "project settings" in Gtk Radiant.
2. Look at "Menu Commands". These are all the compile options you'll see when you open the BSP menu in Radiant. Click on one and hit the "change" button, to get a feel for how they're written. The "menu text" portion of the compile is just the description (i.e. Renik's Smashed Squirrel Special). The "command" portion I feel is self-explanatory.
3. Add the -ja at the end and you'll have your own custom compile If I were you, I would copy the command line from one of the "final" compile commands, create a new compile command (using the "add" button), paste the command, and add that -ja at theend.

**Disclaimer**
I haven't tried this yet so I"m not 100% that it'll work, but at the same time I don't see why it wouldn't.

**Edit**
It seems you can only change existing commands, not create new ones.... crap. :(

RenikDelan
09-23-2003, 11:40 PM
It worked!! Thanks!!

wedge2211
09-24-2003, 02:11 PM
Originally posted by gothicX
*cough* (http://www.planetquake.com/hro/webs/q3map2toolz.htm)

DL that, point it to the base dir and q3map2, then check the boxes you want. A typical compile I do will look like this:

BSP
-meta (always do this, it makes it better)
-patchmeta (if you don't mind losing a bit of detail in your patches in favor of slightly higher FPS)

VIS
-fast (for test compiles only)

LIGHT
-fast (always do this, it doesn't affect the final look of the map but speeds up the compile significantly)
-patchshadows
-filter (so your shadows aren't all blocky)
-super 2 (for final compiles, this is like -extra in SOF2MAP)
-shade and -shadeangle 120 (for slick shadows)
-lomem (you'll have to input this option manually...use it if your computer has <512 RAM or so...it'll go a tad slower, but won't kill your system)

Eldritch
09-24-2003, 03:47 PM
I think Wedge just gave the best explanation possible.

Probably should've mentioned it before at some point, Renik... but q3map2toolz is the best thing to compile with. Gives you complete control over your compile.

Don't even bother using the compile options in JK2/GtK Radiant. Use Q3Map2Toolz and make your own compile options. :)

RenikDelan
09-27-2003, 07:57 PM
holy $#!+ !!! that made it look so nice compared to what I had that its scary!! thank you!!

ydnar
10-03-2003, 01:25 PM
The switch to enable Jedi Academy mode is actually:

-game ja

y

Eldritch
10-03-2003, 09:23 PM
Thanks for clearing that up, y.