PDA

View Full Version : Would more RAM help my system???


masterofmayhem
09-23-2003, 11:16 PM
Hey all.
I need an big upgrade but as i just lost my job it won't be happening for a while.

Duron 850Mhz
256 Mb SDRAM
ATI Radeon 64Mb DDR ViVo
Using the Catylist 3.7 Drivers

I know.. i know.. SDRAM!!!
I'm getting between 40 to 12 FPS. Mainly around 20 FPS when i'm fighting etc (this is using the JA demo btw). I think i've optimized the settings best i can too.

Do you guys think getting another 256Mb RAM (SD RAM that is... ewwwww!) would help my FPS at all?

Not much of a computer whizz so thought i'd ask.
Thanks doods!

StormHammer
09-23-2003, 11:34 PM
I've got 256Mb SDRAM as well, with an 850Mhz processor, and I get around the same frame-rates - even with a Radeon 9700 Pro.

I think it's more likely the processor speed holding our systems back. ;)

majortom1969
09-23-2003, 11:49 PM
well only thing i know , windows takes up to 100MB and the sound of Jedi Academy 25Mb of ur memory

masterofmayhem
09-23-2003, 11:51 PM
Oh phooey!

Well thanks anyway.
I'll probably get the ram anyhow for grpahics applications etc, but at least now i won't be dissappointed if i see no FPS improvement.

Thanks.