View Full Version : Adding tags?

10-03-2003, 04:55 PM
This is probably the easiest thing in the world but I have never even touched a model or a skin before. I don't even know if this posts belongs in here or skinning or in coding for that matter, anyway..
How do you add a surface tag to a model?

10-04-2003, 10:28 AM
In Gmax, when you also have the import plugin for MD#, there's a nifty button that says: add tag (which then show up at the center of the model)..... Just reposition it and attach it to a part, I guess.

I did it with my saber, and it worked, dunno if it goes the same for models...

10-04-2003, 11:41 PM
Thanks man :D

10-08-2003, 06:02 AM

I'm exporting my vehicle model from Milkshape as an md3 and then converting it to a .GLM file.

Along the way, I have to make a .qc file so the model will compile properly.

I need to add the tags correctly

Here's what I have:

// Quake III Arena MD3 control file, generated by MilkShape 3D
$model "models/players/ja_stap/ja_stap.md3"
// reference frame
//$frames -1 -1
// frame 1-1
$frames 1 1
$flags 0
$numskins 0

// you can have one or no parent tag

// tags

// meshes (surfaces)
$mesh "STAP_Body"
$skin "models/players/ja_stap/ja_stap.tga"
$flags 0

Now can someone please tell me what the correct syntax for adding *rider tag might be?


Light Storm
10-09-2003, 05:53 AM
// you can have one or no parent tag
//$parenttag "tag_rider"

// tags
$tag "tag_rider"

Enjoy :)

10-09-2003, 01:59 PM
Thanks for that. Hope it will help!