PDA

View Full Version : Problem with surfing off.


Scoundrel
10-04-2003, 05:00 PM
Hello, I'm working on weequay jedi called Sora Bulq. He was seen in AOTC, but not mentioned my the name. One of survivals.

So, skin is ready, but I dont want that it has that armor. I tried to surf it off. Armor is gone, but big part of torso too. There is big hole in his stomach:D

So, here is what his skin file looks like:

hips,models/players/sorabulq/l_leg.tga
hips_torso,models/players/sorabulq/torso.tga
r_leg,models/players/sorabulq/l_leg.tga
r_leg_cap_hips_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
l_leg,models/players/sorabulq/l_leg.tga
l_leg_cap_hips_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
hips_cap_l_leg_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
hips_cap_torso_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
hips_cap_r_leg_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
hips_belt,models/players/sorabulq/accessories.tga
hips_l_packlarge,*off
hips_l_packsmall_off,*off
hips_l_packwide,*off
hips_l_strap_off,*off
hips_lowerarmor,*off
hips_r_packlarge_off,*off
hips_r_packsmall,*off
hips_r_packwide_off,*off
hips_r_strap,*off
hips_torso_augment_off,models/players/sorabulq/torso.tga
torso,models/players/sorabulq/torso.tga
head,models/players/sorabulq/head.tga
head_eyes_mouth,models/players/sorabulq/mouth_eyes.tga
head_l_hairback,models/players/sorabulq/hair.tga
head_r_hairback_off,models/players/sorabulq/hair.tga
head_cap_torso_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
head_r_hairshoulder_off,models/players/sorabulq/hair.tga
head_l_hairshoulder_off,models/players/sorabulq/hair.tga
l_arm,models/players/sorabulq/torso.tga
l_hand,models/players/sorabulq/l_hand.tga
l_hand_wrist,models/players/sorabulq/torso.tga
l_hand_cap_l_arm_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
l_arm_cap_l_hand_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
l_arm_cap_torso_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
r_arm,models/players/sorabulq/torso.tga
r_hand,models/players/sorabulq/l_hand.tga
r_hand_wrist,models/players/sorabulq/torso.tga
r_hand_cap_r_arm_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
r_arm_cap_r_hand_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
r_arm_cap_torso_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
torso_augment_off,models/players/sorabulq/torso.tga
torso_cap_head_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
torso_cap_hips_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
torso_cap_l_arm_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
torso_cap_r_arm_off,models/players/stormtrooper/caps.tga
torso_l_shoulder,models/players/sorabulq/torso.tga
torso_r_shoulder,models/players/sorabulq/torso.tga
torso_armor,*off

And here is surf file:

surfOff "hips_l_packlarge hips_l_packsmall_off hips_l_packwide hips_l_strap_off hips_lowerarmor hips_r_packlarge_off hips_r_packsmall hips_r_packwide_off hips_r_strap torso_armor"

I havent surfed things off before, so you pro skinner could help me with this dilemma, right?

Prime
10-05-2003, 02:50 AM
Usually when big surfaces can be turned off, there are other surfaces that need to be turned on to fill in the gaps. I find the best way to figure this out is to load the original model into ModView and turn off the surfaces you want. Then look around and find the surface you can turn on to fill in the holes. Once you know these surfaces, you can add them to the surfOn list.

Scoundrel
10-05-2003, 07:01 AM
I tried to view weequay model in modview, but I reseaved error saying:

R_loadXDSM: Missing animation file models/players/_humanoid/_humanoid for mesh model.glm.

Londo Mollari
10-05-2003, 01:13 PM
You need to extract the _humanoid folder from the assets1 to your models/players path where your custom model is.

=CNR=Preacher
10-07-2003, 05:16 AM
As far as it goes for my JA skinning, I noticed that I did not need any surf files anymore to control the on-off..... just the default skin file. In there you control the surfaces which are off or on (as you can see in your default skin file all the parts you wanted off are both off in the surf file and in the def. skin file).

I think you just miss out the parts that need to be turned on in your default skin file. SO like Prima and Lonodo suggest, use modview for that :) (and Londo is right about the .gla file :))