PDA

View Full Version : opening .bps files


pantherz
10-09-2003, 07:21 PM
i know this is gonna sound noobish but how do i load the SP .bsp maps in radiant?

KevinCoyle
10-10-2003, 01:59 AM
you can't load maps that are already compiled into bsp. You have to have the original .map file

Eldritch
10-13-2003, 03:54 PM
Like Kevin said - you can't do it without the original .map file. You can't open a .bsp in Radiant.

Darth Kaan
10-15-2003, 11:55 PM
How redundant.

mslaf
10-22-2003, 08:33 AM
Convert your bsp file into the map format and then load it in Radiant.

shukrallah
10-22-2003, 11:36 AM
How do you do that, ive just always wondered...

GothiX
10-22-2003, 12:49 PM
The -debsp in the latest Q3Map2 does that. BUT, it does lose all entity info.

mslaf
10-23-2003, 08:18 AM
The conversion is not perfect. Some things will be missing like func_groups (terrain), ASE models, and texture coordinates but it’s still very useful for learning purposes.

To convert bsp to map you must have q3map2 >=2.5.6 and do:

q3map 2 -convert -format map -game jk2 mapname.bsp

Replace "mapname.bsp" with your bsp file.

In example:

C:\Prog....\base\maps>q3map 2 -convert -format map -game jk2 kejim_base.bsp

will provide you “kejim_base_converted.map”

Replace "-game jk2" with "-game ja" for Jedi Academy (q3map2 >= 2.5.7), "-game ef" for "Elite Force", "-game sof2" for "Soldier of Fortune" etc.

shukrallah
10-23-2003, 11:48 AM
hey uhhh... where can i get the latest Q3MAPtools thingy... i went to shaderlab.com but i couldnt figure out which one to DL :( i know, i know... im dumb

I have an older version...

GothiX
10-23-2003, 12:49 PM
2.5.10 is latest.

Cclo@ck
10-28-2003, 12:19 PM
Can we also use it on JA ? it's the same way ?

(i think so...but i'm not sure..so I ask :))

Cclo@ck
11-26-2003, 11:09 PM
thx mslaf..i do not read all..i think ;)

and you answer may question ;)

Thx all.

Ockniel
11-27-2003, 07:54 AM
the slang...it burns my ears!

MasterSidious
12-18-2003, 07:03 PM
How do I personally convert this .bsp to .map?

Here's the deal, the .bsp is in "C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars JK II Jedi Outcast\GameData\base\maps\q3map 2"

And the q3map.exe file is in "C:\Program Files\GtkRadiant-1.3\q3map_2.5.11_win32_x86"

Now as if i was going to use a run comand like this: ""C:\Program Files\GtkRadiant-1.3\q3map_2.5.11_win32_x86\q3map2.exe" -convert -format map -game jk2 kejim_base.bsp" and lets just say the map I wanted was "kejim_base.bsp" how do I do it?

Thanks