PDA

View Full Version : Mouse Problem with new GTK Radiant?


ZBomber
10-12-2003, 03:40 PM
When I use the Right click thing in Camera mode, it spins continously. Does this happen to anyone else, or just me? :confused:

EDIT - It also does keeps going right when I right click in the building area, and even if I dragi t left or right, it goes right. :(

Emon
10-12-2003, 03:47 PM
In the 2D view ports, no matter which direction I scroll with (using mouse 2), it always scrolls down. Moving downwards makes it go down, moving up makes it go down, moving left and right works, but it also makes it go down.

Trying to use the 3D preview results in the camera constantly moving upwards.

It's a shame this release is plagued with several horrible bugs that make it totally and utterly useless. At least for us two. :(

ZBomber
10-12-2003, 03:55 PM
Originally posted by Emon
It's a shame this release is plagued with several horrible bugs that make it totally and utterly useless.

Agreed. Using the downlaoded scripts works better than this. :(

Emon
10-12-2003, 03:58 PM
You said dragging the grid in 2D makes it go right no matter which direction? I have the same thing, only it goes down. Dragging left and right make it drag left and right properly, but also make it go down. Dragging upwards makes it go down, and dragging down makes it go down. This also happens in the Z bar on the left.

For 3D preview, we may have the same issue. Clicking for mouse look makes the camera look upwards, like it's trying to look into the sky, and I have to literally fight it to bring it back down. I have to move the mouse downward really fast and then right click to turn off mouse look, then it stops moving.

Emon
10-12-2003, 04:13 PM
On the up side, I can load the entire Hoth Siege map in a few moments, where previous versions would take many minutes, if not lock up completely. Texture subsets is fixed, too.

WadeV1589
10-12-2003, 05:44 PM
What mice are you guys using?

Emon
10-12-2003, 05:49 PM
"Microsoft Wheel Mouse Optical USB and PS/2 Compatible"

Is what's printed on the bottom of the mouse.

This one:
http://hardware.pchome.net/2002/07/30/Wheel%20Mouse%20Optical%203.jpg

To others with this issue: What video cards and drivers are you using?

ZBomber
10-12-2003, 08:13 PM
Same mouse I'm using. I have a ATI 9600 Pro.

reaper1576
10-12-2003, 09:26 PM
has anyone tried updating the intellipoit drivers v5.0 has been out for a few weeks now there over at MS

Emon
10-13-2003, 01:26 AM
I did, it didn't fix the problem, and only made the rest of my system worse.

Lil Killa
10-13-2003, 01:33 AM
I have the exact same mouse so that's not your problem. GTK works fine for me.... Hope you guys find out what's wrong.

RenikDelan
10-13-2003, 02:44 AM
you guys got it good. I get this when trying to load GTK:

<GtkRadiant-1.3.12.exe:2568>: GtkGLExt-WARNING **: cannot create GdkGLContext

<GtkRadiant-1.3.12.exe:2568>: GtkGLExt-CRITICAL **: file gdkglwindow-win32.c: line 297 (gdk_gl_window_impl_win32_make_context_current): assertion 'GDK_IS_GL_CONTEXT_IMPL_WIN32 (glcontext)' failed

I have a 128MB Radion 9000 with the latest drivers. I see "GL" in there a lot, so i figured OpenGL, but when i ran dxdiag, I didnt see anything out of the ordinary.

reaper1576
10-13-2003, 09:19 AM
Originally posted by Emon
I did, it didn't fix the problem, and only made the rest of my system worse.

Emon by any chance you both are running windows 2000 with SP4 as theres some major USB problems there that MS classed as wont fix. If you got XP theres a hotfix todo with USB1/1.1/2.0 have a look here for it www.warp2search.net they have a list of all XP hotfixes with simple discriptions

ZBomber
10-13-2003, 11:56 AM
Originally posted by reaper1576
Emon by any chance you both are running windows 2000 with SP4 as theres some major USB problems there that MS classed as wont fix. If you got XP theres a hotfix todo with USB1/1.1/2.0 have a look here for it www.warp2search.net they have a list of all XP hotfixes with simple discriptions

I'm running Windows XP Pro, SP1, I'm pretty sure.

Thanks for the link, I'll try. The weird thing is, this is the only Radiant that does the mouse thing. I had like 1.3.8 beta and 1.3.9-2, and neither of them made my mouse mess up.

reaper1576
10-13-2003, 01:13 PM
Originally posted by ZBomber
I'm running Windows XP Pro, SP1, I'm pretty sure.

Thanks for the link, I'll try. The weird thing is, this is the only Radiant that does the mouse thing. I had like 1.3.8 beta and 1.3.9-2, and neither of them made my mouse mess up.

ok i had some problems going from RC3 to RTW what i did was unisntalled the old version deleted all stuff to do with gtk it leaves the configs in place when un installing then reinstalled gtk and there all gone

the mouse i dont know i t could be a usb problem or you need new drivers as i havethe same mouse and using the intellipoint 5.0 on XP PRO SP1 this are my pc spec

AMD 1700XP
VIA KT333 chipset gigabyte GA7-VRX (rev1.1)
SBlive Digital
Gefroce FX 5200 AGP

im using my mouse throught the usb 1.0/1.1 ports not the usb 2.0 if your using a VIA chip set there is some USB drivers floating about for USB2.0 and a 1.1 filter driver just make sure you have all the latest drivers installed incase

Emon
10-13-2003, 05:07 PM
I'm using my mouse as PS/2, but I can try USB.

reaper1576
10-13-2003, 05:12 PM
thats how im using mine

ZBomber
10-13-2003, 10:03 PM
Emon, go here. :)

http://www.pcgamemods.com/2529/

No mouse problem for me when i use it. :)

Emon
10-13-2003, 10:26 PM
That's because you're using the old beta version. That file is BS, it's not the real thing.

ZBomber
10-13-2003, 10:51 PM
Originally posted by Emon
That's because you're using the old beta version. That file is BS, it's not the real thing.

Well, it certaintly works better than the real thing... :(

Emon
10-14-2003, 04:41 PM
I have found a fix!

Unzip this file into your GtkRadiant directory in Program Files.

http://emon.geekvision.net/files/libgdk-win32-2.0-0.zip

It's an older DLL of libgdk, it's version 2.2.2 instead of 2.2.4. The Gtk+ libraries for Windows are still buggy, so we'll likely have to keep using this fix for future versions of GtkRadiant until libgdk gets fixed.

I am not aware of any side affects it has, but the differences in the code are likely negligable, and should cause no problems.

ZBomber
10-14-2003, 09:34 PM
Originally posted by Emon
I have found a fix!

Unzip this file into your GtkRadiant directory in Program Files.

http://emon.geekvision.net/files/libgdk-win32-2.0-0.zip

It's an older DLL of libgdk, it's version 2.2.2 instead of 2.2.4. The Gtk+ libraries for Windows are still buggy, so we'll likely have to keep using this fix for future versions of GtkRadiant until libgdk gets fixed.

I am not aware of any side affects it has, but the differences in the code are likely negligable, and should cause no problems.


Ah, thanks Emon. :)