PDA

View Full Version : Playermodel cmd wont work


Cryptoguy
10-16-2003, 07:12 AM
I type it in the console during game play and I get a message saying "unknown cmd playermodel"

Am I doing it at the wrong time (ie in gameplay) or is there something in the config I need to switch on .?

HELP:confused:

Aryyn
10-16-2003, 07:44 AM
You have to put a name after playermodel (playermodel kyle).

Kurgan
10-16-2003, 07:58 AM
You also can't use it in multiplayer. try \Model <name> instead.

idontlikegeorge
10-16-2003, 08:07 AM
Did you do that before loading a game/map?

Because, until the player is actually loaded, the playermodel command doesn't work.

Prime
10-16-2003, 02:53 PM
Not to mention you actualy have to have the playermodel you specify...

Cryptoguy
10-16-2003, 03:16 PM
Ok thx guys my fault I thought it worked in MP doh!!!

I think it should be available in MP tho :rolleyes:

Pedro The Hutt
10-16-2003, 06:27 PM
It is , sort of, simply model, although ofcourse, you are somewhat more limited in what you change yourself into, no model rancor in MP XD

Vsync
10-16-2003, 07:47 PM
Does anyone know how to keep a playermodel permenantly without having to type in the command after each load. Also is there a way to fix the textures of the playermodel after you load a game. Thanks in advance.

idontlikegeorge
10-16-2003, 10:50 PM
The only way I've found, in single-player atleast, is to either do the playermodel skin skin skin command.

Like, I wanted my Jaden to look like the Agent of Evil skin from Edward Peretti's Mara Jade model, so I found I had to type in:

playermodel agent_of_evil default default default

Also, using the g_char_model, g_char_skin_head, g_char_skin_torso, and g_char_skin_lower cvars, will hold your customization longer than the playermodel npcname method.

I actually, for my little mod I called "Jaden Korr" tweaked the menu files, so instead of starting a game and going to the character creation menu, I had the character's looks pre-set (skips the character menu), and goes to the saber itself.

Right now, the only problem is Jaden won't wear the cold-weather outfit on Hoth, but that should be a simple (but not easy) fix.