PDA

View Full Version : Help Me plz... (making JA videos?)


JA_General
10-20-2003, 12:37 PM
Hey..

I was hoping if someone on this forum could help me.

When you Record a Movie in Jedi academy. how can i see it back. without starting Jedi academy. but just in Windows.
P.S Quicktime doesnt work.

And if someone could put it here it would not be only usefull for me but for other people to.

Prime
10-20-2003, 01:04 PM
I think there is a way to convert it to an .avi, but I'm not sure how. You can't view it unless you do convert it though...

JA_General
10-20-2003, 01:10 PM
does anyone els know how ?

Crow_Nest
10-20-2003, 01:34 PM
Theres no way to do that. ( maybe)
Have to run JA and play it:(

The demo file is in your "demos" folder inside your base folder.

If you recorded a SP video, run SP and go to "demos" and play it.
If its MP, run MP and go to "demos" and play the selceted demo.

JA_General
10-20-2003, 02:15 PM
yes i know how to open them in Jedi academy.

but for example if i wanna show a friend (posting it to him) and he cant open it how can he do that ?

JA_General
10-20-2003, 05:13 PM
Can anyone PLz help me

millinghordesma
10-20-2003, 05:32 PM
Originally posted by Jake in some other thread i searched for:

4) cl_avidemo framerate

Where it says "framerate" there, you'd substitute that with the frames-per-second you'd like this to be exported to video as. Most commonly, for Internet video etc, you'll want 30 fps, and therefore type "cl_avidemo 30."

Now that you've activated cl_avidemo, you need to actually select which demo you want to save to disk. To do this, you simply need to play the one(s) you want to save out.

5) demo filename

Of course, with "filename" being the name of the demo you want to save. The playback of the demo will be somewhat choppy here, but when it's saved out to disk it will look perfect. Note that you can repeat step 5 with as many demos as you'd like.

Some tricks: You can overcrank and get some nice slow motion effects by typing, for instance "cl_avidemo 120" -- that's 4 times the framerate capturing the same action, so when you play that back at 30 frames per second it will appear to be happening at 1/4 the speed. Nice John Woo type thing going on. Also if you have something that you want to speed up, you can try like "cl_avidemo 15" which would make the action occur twice as fast when played back at 30 fps.

Anyway. Now again I'm going only from memory since my computer is not one destined to play JKII unless Aspyr grows a brain (Yes, I'm on a Mac. Shut up, I'm trying to help you out here).

This is the tricky stupid part. The Q3 engine doesn't have the code in it to save out demos directly to video. Instead, if you look in your "screenshots" directory (probably wherever you have JKII installed) you will see that it is more than full. In fact it is practically overflowing with screenshots. Yes, that's right. Instead of writing out to an actual movie, the game has written your demo out to 30 screenshots per second (or whatever you set the framerate as).

Now you get to find a program to assemble these together. Programs like Adobe Premiere or even the QuickTime Player Pro Edition will be able to do this. I don't know of any freeware programs to do this, but you should be able to find one. Anyway, find a program that will combine all of the screens into a movie and you're all set.

Yes, I realize this is a maniacal amount of steps and work to go through, but if you actually bother to do this (and also re-sync the sound, since that gets lost), you will end up with the most impressive looking in-game captured footage on the planet. Even nicer looking (when downloaded online -- if you're putting it on TV it doesnt really matter how you get it) than the trailers LucasArts put out.

(Recommended mostly for things like MOD video trailers and maniacally produced clan videos)

Kurgan
10-20-2003, 10:33 PM
Ask somebody like Andy, he'd know.

But I think the program is called "Fraps" it lets you record a video file WITH SOUND, unlike the other method with avidemo and doesn't require the use of the game itself (like the traditional demo method).

I haven't tried it myself, so again, do a search or ask them to post.

Andy867
10-20-2003, 10:58 PM
You are correct Kurgan, it is called Fraps 2 and is very useful.. It can record in real-time a video up to 1024x768 and with sound. You will notice when it is running that your FPS will drop, this is because it is recording to video while in-game. so its best to have a fast HD (7200RPM minimum, preferably SCSI), Fast Processor, Lotta RAM, and a LOT of HD drive space, especially if you record 30 FPS in full mode.

JA_General
10-21-2003, 06:06 AM
Thanks kurgan and Andy but how do i start Fraps 2 .
or do i just have to do in the game (start making one demo)
Cheat : Demo <Filename>
Cheat : Stop demo

or is there a special cheat for letting Fraps 2 recording.


I downloaded Fraps 2 from here (it's a demo)
Fraps 2 Demo (http://www.fraps.com/downloads.htm)

Andy867
10-21-2003, 06:23 AM
Fraps 2 is a 3rd party download that you can get here, but the demo can only record in half Mode so 320x200 if running at 640x480, and can only record 30 seconds, however, if you pay the $30, you get it the full version, which is WELL worth it, and you get lifetime updates.

Fraps 2 (http://www.fraps.com)

JA_General
10-21-2003, 06:53 AM
But how do i activate it ?

but Fraps 1.9D is a full version works that to or not ?

and if i start Fraps 2 it's says i need SSE instuctions. dunno what it is. Andy can you help me. please :confused: lol

Astrotoy7
10-21-2003, 12:00 PM
what format are demos saved as - if they are .avi then they are simple to convert to almost anything....

can someone -
1. let me know how to capture a demo
2. what the format is

Then I might be able to help. I know a bit about A/V conversion.

Another, more bizarre way of doing it -
You need :
A video out on your PC/laptop
A digital video camera

So :
JA is loaded, PC video out gows to your AV IN, in your DV camera. You can record for hours(depending on how much tape you have!), with sound, no framerate blues or nothing.

I have done this when compiling cutscenes/FMVs from all the greatest SW games over history onto a DVD, as well as some CG movies from my favourite PS/2 games, namely the Final Fantasy series......


MTFBWYA

JA_General
10-21-2003, 12:44 PM
If you want to make a Demo (recording)
Start Jedi academy. start game.get the console (Shift + ~) then type -> /Record <filename> <- it's better to bind this
Type -> stop record <- to stop recording. bind this to to a key

type -> /bind <key> Record <filename> <-
tpye -> /bind <key> stop record <-

But no one has to help me anymore i understand now.
You can explain for others.