PDA

View Full Version : Sound problems in the new version of S&M HtR


Ajguy
10-22-2003, 03:59 AM
I just preordered Armand and Dangerous and got a scrumptious, Windows XP compatible version of Sam and Max for my troubles. The game starts off working perfectly while in Windows XP! Too good to be true I thought. I was right. When I first enter the Carnival tent, I loose all voice from then on out. This has happened on more than one computer too. Anyone else have this happen or knwo how to fix it? Lucas Arts can't promise me a Windows XP version of Sam and Max with no voices!

scabb
10-22-2003, 10:46 AM
You could always run it in ScummVM - Download ScummVM Quick & Easy (http://quick.mixnmojo.com), click auto-update to grab the latest build of ScummVM (http://www.scummvm.org) and you should be set to go.

Ray Jones
10-22-2003, 11:46 AM
it runs perfectly with VDMSound for me.

hmmm.. but if you prefer windowed mode.. listen to scabb.

Ajguy
10-22-2003, 07:44 PM
Wow! Neither works! I can't get Q&E to launch it, VDMSound doesn't load the sound drivers, and ScummVM plays exactly the same problem as before. I wonder if it's something wrong with one of the files on the disc?

Ray Jones
10-22-2003, 08:51 PM
[program]
workdir=[your path here]\
executable=[your path here]\SAMNMAX.EXE
params=m s220/7/8
[vdms.debug]
useCustomCfg=yes
customCfg=[SBController.config] %000d%000aforceSampleRate = 22050
[winnt.dos]
autoexec=chcp 850
useAutoexec=no
useUMB=no
useHIMEM.SYS=yes
useConfig=no
[winnt.dosbox]
exitclose=yes
exitWarn=no
[winnt.storage]
useCDROM=no
[vdms.gameport]
enabled=no
[winnt.memory]
useEMS=no
useXMS=no
memEMS=16384
[winnt.pmode]
useDPMI=no
useCLIPOPF=no
[vdms.midi]
sysExLed=Scroll
devOutID=0
[vdms.dmac]
minDMAPeriod=2
maxDMAPeriod=10
[winnt.video]
useVESA=no
[vdms.sb.fm]
sampleRate=44100
devOutType=2
devOutID=-1
[vdms.sb.dsp]
devOutType=2
devOutID=-1


open the vdmsound link of your samnmax.exe with an editor (notepad.exe should do it)

then replace its content with the configuration i posted above.
edit the entries "workdir" and "executable" (insert your paths)
save it.. clickerydoo.
(you can edit the path later the usual way too)

should work for xp/2k.


:)

Ajguy
10-24-2003, 02:03 AM
Wait a sec, you lost me. Where exactly is the VDMsound link? How do I create that. Is that part of Q&E or just part of VDMSound. I appreciate everyone's help. I'm so desperate to play through this game again!

Ray Jones
10-24-2003, 08:53 AM
q&e has a vdmsound mode too..

i'm using ONLY vdmsound without q&e (ok.. i'm a player.. i set up all three.. vdmsound, scummvm and q&e.. but i only USE vdmsound :))

err..

wait.

i use vdmsound with the vdmsound launchpad. it enables an option like "launch with vdmsound" in the contextmenu (in our case if you r'clicking the samnmax.exe) and this creates the vdms-link (i think it has the extension .vdl) and then starts the samnmax.exe. you'll find the link in the directory where the exefile is.

you can get the launchpad where you get the vdmsound software. i dont remember the url.. just google for "vdmsound" ..

come back and hit me if it still doesnt works. :)