PDA

View Full Version : can't get my Awing model to appear in game right


Manquesa
10-23-2003, 05:07 AM
Ok, i'm getting frustrated here, i've done this before with no problems but it's been a while and was with JK2, not JKA.

Anyway, I made a model of an Awing in 3DS MAX 5, uvw unwrapped it, made texture maps, and exported as .md3 to base/models/map_objects/awing folder in JKA which I created and put my textures in there. The model looks fine when I use md3view, the one that came with the JK2 editing tools, to view it. You can see that here in this pic--

http://f1.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/manquesa/vwp?.dir=/awing&.dnm=SP32-20031023-003245.jpg&.src=ph&.view=t&.hires=t

But when I load up the model in gtkradiant, as well as when I compile and load up the map in game, some of the textures on the model are reversed which cause the model to not look good at all. I also tried exporting as an .ASE file but can't get the textures to show up at all when I did that. Here's a screenshot of how the models look in radiant, the one on the left is the .md3 with the reversed textures and the one on the right is the .ASE that won't show the textures at all.

http://f1.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/manquesa/vwp?.dir=/awing&.dnm=SP32-20031023-002949.jpg&.src=ph&.view=t&.hires=t


In case those links don't work (Yahoo photos sucks), try this link and then click on the Awing folder. http://photos.yahoo.com/manquesa

Is this an exporting problem, or something to do with radiant, or what? Any help given would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

reaper1576
10-23-2003, 12:25 PM
have you added the driver tag (think thats what its called) have a look there was something about it in her a week ago

Manquesa
10-23-2003, 01:01 PM
no, this is just a simple static model.

WadeV1589
10-23-2003, 02:47 PM
For ASE name the textures (not diffuse map, the actual full texture) in 3DS Max the relative path e.g. models/map_objects/awing/body - without .tga or .jpg . Then export it as an ASE and as long as those textures exist in the right place in base they'll show up.

Have u tried inverting the normals in Max before exporting as MD3 just to see if they then get flipped the right way round in GTK?

Manquesa
10-23-2003, 05:27 PM
For ASE name the textures (not diffuse map, the actual full texture) in 3DS Max the relative path e.g. models/map_objects/awing/body - without .tga or .jpg . Then export it as an ASE and as long as those textures exist in the right place in base they'll show up.

Ok, I don't know how to do this. When I assign a texture to the model in 3DS Max 5 I use the material editor which is pretty much just, select your texture, then drag and click. I don't see any options for specifying the actual "path" of the file, much less to do it without the ".jpg" part.

Have u tried inverting the normals in Max before exporting as MD3 just to see if they then get flipped the right way round in GTK

This I have done in the past when I once imported a model into 3ds max and the some of the meshes were inverted. But I don't remember how I did that and can't seem to figure it out now. So no I haven't tried this yet.

Manquesa
10-24-2003, 03:53 AM
woohoo, I finally got it. It took a while but I found a tutorial about doing that export to .ASE thing and finally understood fully how to do what you said. So I got the model working in game now as an .ase file. I did figure out the whole invert normals thing but still have yet to get the .md3 file to work but who cares now, a working .ase file should be all I need. As you'll see from these pics though I really need to scale down the size of the model. I also need to rework some of the textures and then i'll get this thing released soon.

http://f1.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/manquesa/vwp?.dir=/awing&.dnm=shot0000.jpg&.src=ph&.view=t&.hires=t

http://f1.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/manquesa/vwp?.dir=/awing&.dnm=shot0001.jpg&.src=ph&.view=t&.hires=t

http://f1.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/manquesa/vwp?.dir=/awing&.dnm=shot0002.jpg&.src=ph&.view=t&.hires=t

Thanks!!

WadeV1589
10-24-2003, 10:06 AM
I think some shaders are in order with the following things in them
models/mapobjects/temple/tunnel
{
q3map_nonplanar
q3map_forcemeta
q3map_clipmodel
q3map_shadeangle 20
q3map_lightmapsamplesize 64
{
map $lightmap
}
{
map models/mapobjects/temple/tunnel
blendFunc GL_DST_COLOR GL_ZERO
}
}
That will keep the solidity of the model but also will stop the sharp edges on things like the "window" on the cock-pit by smoothing the lightmap out over the faces (that's what shadeangle is for). You may have to mess with the number to get the perfect setting, obviously it's an angle and any 2 faces (or more specifically any 2 faces normals) which are adjacent and create an angle less than that specified will have a smoothed out lightmap.

q3map_lightmapsamplesize 64 will just create a smaller lightmap for the model, unless you want more detailed shadows then try 32 or 16, using 16 is like using _lightmapscale 1 on an entity.