PDA

View Full Version : non-solid to solid?


aaw*s.n.a.f.u.*
10-23-2003, 03:31 PM
Just wondering how i can make it so u cant just walk through a model eg. Statue Gaurd:confused::rolleyes:

WadeV1589
10-23-2003, 03:44 PM
The most original way (i.e. the pure mappers way) is to surround it with simple shapes of system/clip and system/shotonlyclip

On that topic, why isn't there a system/shotclip shader? The texture is there, just no shader. So what is one supposed to use to block players and weapons? As I said above does it have to be 2 sets of brushes with 2 shaders?

GothiX
10-23-2003, 04:35 PM
...

There IS a shader for that, Wade. It's called system/physics_clip.

WadeV1589
10-23-2003, 05:24 PM
textures/system/physics_clip
{
qer_editorimage textures/system/physics_clip
qer_trans 0.3
surfaceparm nodraw
surfaceparm trans
q3map_nolightmap
}Yeah I see what you mean it would clip, I don't get why they removed shotclip though, could've left it and added this for those of us who remember the olden days. I just saw physics_clip and presumed it would be in conjunction with .efx files physics seen as they use the word "physics" there. Ambiguity is never a friend :p

wedge2211
10-23-2003, 06:39 PM
On an md3 model, you can add "spawnflags 2" to it's entity properties and compile with q3map2 and--viola--it will be made solid automatically. Autoclipped. It's wonderful. :)

WadeV1589
10-23-2003, 06:57 PM
I had totally forgot about Q3Map2 autoclipping even though I'm using it in my current map...:rolleyes:

Aren't you supposed to avoid auto-clip for small models tho? I swear I remember reading that. It was designed for large models and terrain models.