PDA

View Full Version : port a jo mp map, like the bespin dude


Szico VII
11-02-2003, 09:55 PM
you know how the guy ported bespin into jo?
how do you do it?

Lil Killa
11-02-2003, 09:57 PM
take all the shaders and textures used in the map and put them into a pk3... Don't forget the arean file either.

Szico VII
11-02-2003, 10:03 PM
what about botroutes e.t.c

Lil Killa
11-02-2003, 10:08 PM
put them in your pk3 too :p

Evrything you would ever need for the map... music, textures, levelshot, botrouts, arena file, and anything thing else will have to be packed up into a new pk3.

71M
11-03-2003, 08:15 AM
This may be a little off-topic, but I'm a bit curious.

I was told it was illegal to rip files from other games and put them into others, like textures from JK2 to JKA.

After seeing this, I guess it isn't, but has there been any debate over it?

-TiM

idontlikegeorge
11-03-2003, 09:15 AM
It usually is illegal. But I have heard that Raven allows resources from their games to be used in other Raven games.

71M
11-03-2003, 12:47 PM
Ah, okay.

That's alright then. :D

So anyway, to respond to Szico's question, yeah, just 'borrow' the files that are needed from JK2, and put them into a separate PK3 file. JKA and JK2 are so similar that almost, if not no modifying is necessary. :)

-TiM

Szico VII
11-03-2003, 05:28 PM
so can anyone give me a complete list of all the files and folder i would need to pk3?

Lil Killa
11-03-2003, 08:09 PM
Originally posted by Szico VII
so can anyone give me a complete list of all the files and folder i would need to pk3?


Look at this file

http://www.pcgamemods.com/2320/

It kind of defeates the whole purpose of doing what you want to do though... :D