PDA

View Full Version : Jedi Dreads!


TheBlueFlamingo
11-09-2003, 04:37 AM
Anyone ever look in the manual? Page 20. THe picture in the bottom has a jedi with dreadlocks. Yet another thing left out of the game. I wonder why.

Crow_Nest
11-09-2003, 07:29 AM
Yeah, they removed some of the things.

Like the "hilt-bash" and the felmale player model you see in page 28.

Toxie
11-09-2003, 08:53 AM
Wat u say der boy? You mean I coulda been a rasta Jedi mon? Those f*****g bumbaclots how could de' do dis to me mon?


Seriously though, they need to put that back in the game in the next patch, some new faces and outfits would be nice anyway, I really want dreads for my Jedi.

babywax
11-09-2003, 09:07 AM
Anyone notice how very few of the clothes look... jedi like?

SirYawnalot
11-09-2003, 10:58 AM
The cynical side of me says that they pulled the skins/models so they could include them in an expansion pack without having to make new skins from scratch. However, stuff like this is often cut from the game, but usually leaves an artefact somewhere in the game. If it was genuinely cut, it's fairly likely these skins/models are hiding somewhere in the game .pk3s. If they're not, we'll probably be seeing them in a commercial expansion pack.

BloodRiot
11-10-2003, 10:35 AM
Well I wont flame Raven cuz i dont believe it's their fault or even choice in the matter.

But besides cut out stuff.. they also left some garbage in the main pk3. Look at the jedi_hm folder... you'll notice a file starting with "copy of" besides the normal file without the "copy of".

It was obviously rushed. But a deadline is a deadline, and a roll is a roll... if they dont meet their deadline then they get no rolls.
(obvious ripoff from the lil' joh from "robin hood men in tights")

Astrotoy7
11-10-2003, 10:45 AM
Originally posted by babywax
Anyone notice how very few of the clothes look... jedi like?

One thing that can be said about the Jedi coming through lukes academy is that there are alot of things that arent done as they were during the days of the jedi council. I cant remember many mentions of the new group of jedi wearing the old skool robes in the EU. I loved teh Hoth outfir, I wish you could also tack the xwing pilot outfit onto your skin.....

MTFBWYA

babywax
11-10-2003, 12:01 PM
Doesn't really feel like a jedi game without jedi clothes :(

Hermie
11-10-2003, 02:01 PM
I want a jedi with dreads!!!! :( it sucks that hes not in the game. they could dropped the rodian male figure instead, nobody ever uses him anyway.

babywax
11-10-2003, 02:10 PM
Rodians look like flies :p

Emon
11-10-2003, 02:21 PM
This kind of thing is nothing new. Many of Westwood's RTS games like Red Alert, Red Alert 2, and C&C Generals (well, not really Westwood :() have all sorts of hidden assets.

Hey, the original Jedi Knight was supposed to let you kick with secondary fire on the fists, and there were supposed to be two other moves for the lightsaber, a stab and an overhead slash. What's always pissed me off about the saber, is that the code and animations were already there! :mad:

Prime
11-10-2003, 05:46 PM
Originally posted by babywax
Anyone notice how very few of the clothes look... jedi like? Well it is a completely different era than what we see in the movies...

Toxie
11-10-2003, 08:11 PM
So do you guys think that dreads skin might be hidden somewhere in one of the pk3 files? Perhaps some noble modder could dig it out for us? Maybe someone could email the devs and ask about, dreads in space sound so cool. :)

Rad Blackrose
11-10-2003, 08:14 PM
Originally posted by Toxie
So do you guys think that dreads skin might be hidden somewhere in one of the pk3 files? Perhaps some noble modder could dig it out for us? Maybe someone could email the devs and ask about, dreads in space sound so cool. :)

It is possible that they could be hidden in one of the assets files.

assets1.pk3 has the model information.

Kurgan
11-10-2003, 09:34 PM
Hey, the original Jedi Knight was supposed to let you kick with secondary fire on the fists, and there were supposed to be two other moves for the lightsaber, a stab and an overhead slash. What's always pissed me off about the saber, is that the code and animations were already there!

Not to mention tertiary and quatrinary fire (fire3, fire4), ridable Kell Dragons (by players and enemies), ridable speeder bikes (by players and enemies), throwable lightsabers (Boc with the two sabers was supposed to throw one at you while he continued to fight with one at times), forward/back/side rolls....


The cool thing is though, most of that stuff is now part of the game, being added for sebsequent installments until with JA we have almost everything!


Hopefully those missing assets can be dug up and used in mods, or at least included in the patch...

babywax
11-10-2003, 09:43 PM
It is a difference "era," but it's still star wars :(
Not like jedi this way.

[ASJN] Balboa
11-14-2003, 12:41 AM
also when you have to insert cd2 when installing it, the human male looks like the brown haired one, but his hair is much more fine. like a buzz cut!

Kurgan
11-14-2003, 12:54 AM
Did anybody check to see if those missing skins were hidden in the 1.01 patch?

Toxie
11-14-2003, 07:28 AM
Yeah I was wondering if anyone was going to check.

keshire
11-14-2003, 10:13 AM
The hilt bash anim is still in there. It just needs to be coded in. You could easily replace the kick with it, but then you'd lose the kick. I haven't seen any dreadlocked skins in the folders, but there is another head that the guys at SOTG pulled out and is available on their site. http://www.sotgclan.us/

keshire
11-14-2003, 11:03 AM
I replaced the Dual Kata, Front kick, and staff stance.

The dual kata is now a two saber throw. Basically a shortened version of what Tavion does.

The front Kick is now the hilt bash.

The staff stance now holds the saber behind like in Martial arts.

enjoy.

http://www.pcgamemods.com/3010/

Crow_Nest
11-14-2003, 12:17 PM
Can you tell me what software you used to make those animations?

keshire
11-15-2003, 04:18 AM
Notepad. ;)

The anims are already there. I just rearranged a couple in the animation.cfg.

If you want to make all new ones 3ds max is what you'd need.

Akshara
11-15-2003, 04:24 AM
Keshire...

Will these animations work in SP and MP?

keshire
11-15-2003, 04:28 AM
Yes. The humanoid animation.cfg changes both sp and mp. But for some reason the hilt bash only knocks enemy back in sp instead of knocking them down.

I think its because the game expects the foot tag on the model to connect with the person and it doesn't. This can be solved when the sdk is released.

[ASJN] Balboa
11-15-2003, 08:22 PM
i went to the official lucas arts site to see if they had anything on cheat but it said cheats would be released after game comes out :rolleyes: but in character customization it shows the three jaden heads, but the head i was looking for was there! originally instead of the black dude they had a white one with that buzz cut hair. but the dreadlocks one was still not available.....