PDA

View Full Version : WIP: Droid Fighter


KHaRMa
11-09-2003, 11:14 AM
Hi all, im working in a droid fighter model, it will be like a ship. I need somebody to tell me how i put the ship in game, cuz i have no idea on how to do it, well here are some shots of the model, it took much work so i hope you like it :D .
http://www.geocities.com/danadn2000/

tFighterPilot
11-09-2003, 11:22 AM
Very nice!

Do you have 3D Studio Max 4 or above? If you do, you can look at Duncan's tutorial at the JA modeling forum, if you don't, or just don't wanna mess with it, I'll be more than happy to do it.

KHaRMa
11-09-2003, 11:24 AM
That would be really nice, wait, i have to make the textures of the metal objects :D

tFighterPilot
11-09-2003, 11:30 AM
It seems all textured :confused:

KHaRMa
11-09-2003, 11:31 AM
i know, but it isnt at all ;)

tFighterPilot
11-09-2003, 11:37 AM
What software are you using?

KHaRMa
11-09-2003, 12:37 PM
3DS Max 5, if u want i send you the model now, want it with textures?

Zappa_0
11-09-2003, 01:03 PM
Are you gonna make the walking fighter aswell?

tFighterPilot
11-09-2003, 04:01 PM
Originally posted by KHaRMa
3DS Max 5, if u want i send you the model now, want it with textures? Of course.

Send it as max with the textures.

LightNinja
11-09-2003, 04:55 PM
Ok, then tell me your mail, cuz it isnt in your profile

tFighterPilot
11-09-2003, 05:02 PM
Now comes the question Who did LightNinja referred to, and why.

KHaRMa
11-09-2003, 05:29 PM
Cuz i sent him a PM saying that maybe i could do the skin of his eopie, but anyway, tell me your mail because it seems that they arent in the profiles and ill send it now.

tFighterPilot
11-09-2003, 05:32 PM
lol, I guess LightNinja didn't thought it all out.

Next time, when PMed, PM back. :cool:

LightNinja
11-09-2003, 05:35 PM
Well, next time ill send a PM, but i had the window of the droid fighter open and (im a bit lazy :o ) i posted it there cuz anyway he will see it lol :rolleyes:

KHaRMa
11-09-2003, 05:39 PM
imyourfather, you forgot the mail lol! :marx1:

tFighterPilot
11-09-2003, 05:45 PM
My email is asaf_sch@walla.co.il

You'll also have to tell me what weapons do you want it to have.

RaSiN_HeCk
11-09-2003, 05:51 PM
Lazers and Clusster Misslies! w00t!


well, what ever you want I suppose, but clusster misslies would be cool

DarkLord60
11-09-2003, 09:46 PM
Looks sweet keep up the good work!

KHaRMa
11-10-2003, 11:09 AM
Mmmh, how many weapon exists?, cluster, laser,... :confused:

tFighterPilot
11-10-2003, 01:35 PM
I'll just do as I see fit.

Just finish skinning it, and send it to me.

KHaRMa
11-10-2003, 03:12 PM
iyfather , your mail was sent :D

tFighterPilot
11-10-2003, 04:21 PM
Thank god for starwars.com

When in starfighter mode, the droid carries four blaster cannons in its wings, and two energy torpedo launchers along its forward edge. When transformed into walking mode, the launchers are angled for antipersonnel use.

Too bad you can't make it transform in JA...

KHaRMa
11-14-2003, 01:31 PM
tfp, maybe i send it tomoro, cuz maybe today i cant group it

DarkLord60
11-14-2003, 08:15 PM
KHaRMa you ever think about joining AOTC:TC. We could use you. Give me shout at J_hamp60@hotmail.com

ObiKast
11-19-2003, 10:47 PM
Any news? :confused: :D

DarkLord60
11-19-2003, 10:53 PM
Yeah this a great model I hope it sees the light of day.

tFighterPilot
11-20-2003, 10:34 AM
I'm know just as much as you does.

This model has WAY too many parts, and tomorrow may never come :confused:

If anyone thinks he can reduce the number of parts, I'll send it to him.

DarkLord60
11-21-2003, 12:51 AM
Thats a shame. :)

Manquesa
11-21-2003, 01:49 AM
exactly what error are you getting. Because if it's the error i'm thinking of then it's not so much that is has too many parts but it has parts with too many faces/polys/vertices/whatever. If that's it, then you just need to divide the complicated parts in 2 and name them differently so they're treated as seperate parts and not one big complicated part. I had to do this with my awing.

Yeah it would be a shame, so if you really don't think you can get it and if Kharma doesn't mind then send it my way. I'll have a go at it.

tFighterPilot
11-21-2003, 09:29 AM
No error, but it's impossible to skin it.

KHaRMa
11-21-2003, 12:51 PM
Ok, im doing a new model with much less polys, i have much work, but i think ill finish next week (i know too much time, but i have exams next week so...)

Manquesa
11-22-2003, 01:19 AM
huh, I though it was already skinned, oh well

tFighterPilot
11-22-2003, 08:58 AM
Did I say skin? I meant model_default.skin

Manquesa
11-22-2003, 02:20 PM
Originally posted by imyourfather
Did I say skin? I meant model_default.skin


Oh ok, well yeah that's a real pain in the ass to write with a lot of parts but i'm not aware of amy limitations on part numbers, maybe you can "attatch parts together in max and rename them to make it simpler" you might have to add an edit mesh modifier to do it so you don't mess up the uvw coordinates. Just a thought.

KHaRMa
11-22-2003, 06:37 PM
Mmmh, imyourfather, u could regroup all the not important objects in one group and aply them a metal skin, there are much lines that are not very important, you could regroup then and i'd dont have to remake the model :)

KHaRMa
11-27-2003, 04:05 PM
Ok, the model has now about 6 parts instead of +20 (:D ), i've sent it to you tfighter to do the magic touch. If you know how to do the animation of the wings do it plz.
:tie: :saberb: :x-wing:

KHaRMa
11-27-2003, 05:47 PM
i forgot to say that my yahoo account dont works since 2 weeks ago, so now send me mails to the email that u will see in the one i sent you.

tFighterPilot
11-28-2003, 02:32 PM
I keep having problems. First of all, a lot of the parts had the same name, I cahnged it. Then there were too many faces, was pretty easy to fix, but now, The images are not in the power of 2, and I really don't know how to change their size without it cousing a problem.

KHaRMa
11-29-2003, 09:59 AM
The samename parts are for been put as a group, and what u mean with "The images are not in the power of 2"?

Manquesa
11-29-2003, 05:06 PM
all texures can only be in the power of 2. meaning....

2 X 2
4 X 4
16 X 16
32 X 32
64 X 64
128 X 128
256 X 256
512 X 512
1024 X 1024

or any combination will work as well

128 X 512
256 X 1024

etc.

ZBomber
11-29-2003, 05:19 PM
Nice model, I really hope it gets in game.... :(

KHaRMa
11-30-2003, 01:20 PM
Ok, if is only that dont worry, ill take some maps in the power of 2 (thx Manquesa)

tFighterPilot
11-30-2003, 02:06 PM
That's great, because the other stuff are already ready.

Send me the images when you finish :D

KHaRMa
11-30-2003, 06:18 PM
lol was no more than 7 minutes, new .jpgs sent

toxicmatrix
12-15-2003, 05:10 PM
hey guys can i try out new vehicles i would like to and how can make an ATAT and a ATSP plz
can u make make a special one with [BDC] on it for me plz its my brothers clan:deathii: :deathstar :mob: ty

tFighterPilot
12-15-2003, 05:13 PM
Grammar Won't kill you, really!

toxicmatrix
12-16-2003, 02:00 PM
lol thks i really do with it anywayz i wouldn't mind being a test bunny for u guys oh yeah dark jedi u know u took the ships off pcgamemods like i said i was interducing it i wasn't able to send u the info about it so sry
i didn't mean to hurt your feelings :D :atat:

seks03
01-14-2004, 05:10 AM
Hey Kharma you still doing this model?

Andy867
01-24-2004, 07:29 AM
if you want, I could make some specular textures for it, since it is made in 3D studio max. Its really easy for me to do now(thanks to Manquesa's big help), and I could have it back to ya in a day or so.

My email is dmccarthy100@charter.net

just put WIp: Droid Fighter model if you are interested in me doing some spec textures for it. and I will make the .shader file as well so it will be all ready for ya to finish up.

KHaRMa
01-24-2004, 02:42 PM
Well, i also have redone the wings that was the problem ingame; tfighter, will u put it ingame again?
now it looks = :
http://www.xbox-connection.com/hostedimages/droids.jpg

tFighterPilot
01-24-2004, 02:44 PM
ofcourse

KHaRMa
01-24-2004, 04:23 PM
Ok, model sent; Andy wait for tfighter to make it a glm, then ill send u everything u need.

tFighterPilot
01-24-2004, 06:51 PM
I'll head to it tomorrow :)

tFighterPilot
01-25-2004, 01:02 PM
Face count WAY too high. Lower it to about 2000 and send it back.

KHaRMa
01-25-2004, 01:32 PM
Better than that just aply multiRES to the body and low the verts about 1000 or 700

tFighterPilot
01-25-2004, 01:36 PM
MultiRES is what I used, it lowered the verts a bit, not enough.

[UF]Picolo
01-25-2004, 03:13 PM
Cool :D It looks nice :)

LightNinja
01-25-2004, 06:55 PM
How u see how many verts has the model?

tFighterPilot
01-25-2004, 07:29 PM
File\Summary Info

Manquesa
01-25-2004, 08:17 PM
well how high is the poly count. it'd be nice if every model could be under 2000. But so long as it's nothing ridiculous like 5000 or more. I say just make it anyway. LOD's would be helpfull as well.

For the record my current A-wing is over 3000 and the Y-wing is over 4000. But I also have LOD's for them. We haven't notice any real performance issues that'll hurt gameplay with these models.

Though, in the future i'm definitely gonna try and stay below 2000 or at least below 2500 depending on the complexity of the model whenever I can.

tFighterPilot
01-26-2004, 11:29 AM
14096 faces...

tFighterPilot
01-26-2004, 12:02 PM
You see, this model is great, fantastic, but not for a game. This model is the kind of stuff they put in movies. There are A LOT of details in it. Lowering the face count will be getting rid of details, that's why I asked him to do it, cuz I only trust him to know what parts he can simplify.

Manquesa
01-26-2004, 03:17 PM
Originally posted by tFighterPilot
14096 faces...


Whoah!! OMG. that's just nutz for a game model.

Yeah, I'd say start over man. When you got that much you need to cut back on, it's usually easier to just start the thing again from scratch.

Andy867
01-26-2004, 05:39 PM
Yea, it might be easier in the long run to start from scratch than trying to cut out almost 12,000 faces.

KHaRMa
01-26-2004, 06:24 PM
ok, ill redo some of the parts again

Zappa_0
01-27-2004, 02:00 AM
Looking good, I hope you can get this out soon!

LightNinja
01-28-2004, 07:21 PM
so a model with, for example, 6000 faces would not be able to be put ingame?

Andy867
02-04-2004, 05:39 AM
No, even 6000 is too much, the ideal count is between 2500 and 4400 polys for a model.

Master Lion
03-06-2004, 12:53 PM
I hope this yhing comes really out, maybe you can make a map of the spacebattle in episode 1?

and Manquesa I see you making a Slave 1? Impresive...

Zappa_0
04-09-2004, 03:47 AM
Any updates?

tFighterPilot
04-09-2004, 10:20 AM
I'm getting the feeling that MadCow had a point.

STOP ASKING IT!

MadCow1989
04-09-2004, 02:17 PM
Finaly he agree's with me

Neon
04-10-2004, 06:48 AM
Yes zappa, maybe it's true that your "any updates" are 1/3 of all your topics. :) Don't worry, maybe the WIPs will be backup again, you can never know :D

PR-0927
04-12-2004, 10:54 PM
Any updates?

J/king!!

KHaRMa, may I use your Droid Starfighter or Geonosian Fighter in a mod that I may be making (if I can figure out how to)?
:fett:

tFighterPilot
04-13-2004, 12:43 AM
KHaRMa disapear he has. Being idiots, you should try to stop :yoda:

Jdome83
04-13-2004, 03:23 PM
Looks really nice so far.

tFighterPilot
04-13-2004, 04:18 PM
Didn't you read the thread?!? It looks TOO nice for the game!

Jdome83
04-13-2004, 06:56 PM
Just went back and read: "14096 faces... " Jeez. Psst make it suck so you can put it in the game.:D

DARTH-BUTTER
05-03-2004, 03:04 PM
:burg1: :burg1: :burg1: :burg1: :burg1:

MadCow1989
05-06-2004, 01:37 PM
did this Project Died?

PR-0927
05-08-2004, 10:03 PM
I hope not.

:fett: