PDA

View Full Version : g_sabermorerealistic in SP


corv2k
11-12-2003, 02:34 PM
After installing the new patch, devmapall can no longer be used so how do we enable the g_sabermorerealistic in SP? The way I was doing it before (found it in a forum thread on a site; can't remember where) was like this:

Created a shortcut to the jasp.exe file which had the following in the target under the link properties:

"E:\games\LucasArts\Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy\GameData\jasp.exe" +set g_sabermorerealistic 2 +devmapall +set g_dismemberment 1

Now of course since devmapall doesn't work like it did before, does anyone know how to redo this command line? I tried replacing the devmapall with helpusobi 1 but that still didn't work.

Would really like to get around this if I could...

Thanks...

Corv2k

Kurgan
11-12-2003, 02:54 PM
If +helpusobi 1 doesn't work, then I don't know.

Maybe +devmap ?

corv2k
11-12-2003, 04:38 PM
+devmap doesn't work either...

ogre_h
11-12-2003, 06:18 PM
I'm glad I'm not the only one with this problem. I feel like I'm beating these guys with a wet newpaper now.
In the offical patch thread someone said to add a dismemberment command to the autoexec.cfg file. What would the syntax of that be? And more importantly will it work?


Why did they write protect g_sabermorerealisticcombat anyway? :mad:

BJP3E
11-12-2003, 06:30 PM
"C:\Program Files\LucasArts\Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy\GameData\jasp.exe" +set g_sabermorerealistic 2 +helpusobi 1 +load quick +set g_sabermorerealistic 2

corv2k
11-12-2003, 08:40 PM
I tried that way as well... actually that was the first thing I changed when I noticed that devmap didn't work anymore. The shortcut works and all but when you go into the game, g_sabermorerealistic is still set to 0.

BJP3E
11-12-2003, 09:24 PM
you can't alter it in game either way, only works with that target line in place I have noticed that while playing the dismemberment does not always happen and even cuts on and off slicing one NPC and not the next I actually like it this way to as it make it more real when stad

play for awhile with the line in there and it should just happen sooner or later

GunShark
11-12-2003, 10:34 PM
with the new patch locking sabermorerealistic and making it write protected you need to change the setting inside jaconfig to get manic dismemberment back, i got mine set at seta g_saberrealsticcombat "3"

corv2k
11-13-2003, 12:26 AM
tried your suggestion as well to put the sabermorerealistic in the jaconfig file however when you start a new game or even load an existing game, it over writes the jaconfig file.

ogre_h
11-13-2003, 02:41 AM
In the 1.01 offical patch thread someone wrote that we should change the name of the jaconfig.cfg to autoexec.cfg
Would this solve allow sabermorerealistic to be activated, and prevent it from being overwritten?

Crow_Nest
11-13-2003, 04:42 AM
Originally posted by ogre_h
In the 1.01 offical patch thread someone wrote that we should change the name of the jaconfig.cfg to autoexec.cfg
Would this solve allow sabermorerealistic to be activated, and prevent it from being overwritten?


I was the one who said that. :D

Try typing the dismember command into the "autoexec.cfg"

quigon5150
11-13-2003, 05:00 AM
It's strange that the helpusobi 1 command doesn't work for you guys 'cause it works fine for me. However the g_sabermorerealistic command is still write protected. "How can this be?.....Anyone?"

WJTW
11-13-2003, 07:09 AM
Yeah, that is one thing I don't like about the patch. Previously, I could use good old 'saberrealisticcombat' for dismemberment.
This time, however, it added the new 'sabermorerealistic" (which did not exist in my unpatched game.) into the game. Now, 'saberrealisticcombat' is useless.

WJTW

simonarnold
11-13-2003, 08:32 AM
Reply to Crow_nest.

When you say :-

Try typing the dismember command into the "autoexec.cfg"

Which dismember command would that be???:confused:

I have been surfing the net looking for answers to the "dismemberment" problem and have seen more "answers" and commands" than you can shake your Lightsaber at, but none seem to work correctly.

So when you say command do you mean g_sabermorerealistic and if so what number do you set it to (I have seen anything from 1 to 3000). I have also seen a "dismember" command as well in a different forum.

Does anyone have a definite answer that works??


I agree with WJTM though, why have they messed around with this, they should have just left it alone.

Astrotoy7
11-13-2003, 09:14 AM
Originally posted by simonarnold

Does anyone have a definite answer that works??

...why have they messed around with this, they should have just left it alone.

This is becoming a gripe for me with the patch..... also, as I dont play MP much at all, I have had *F* allbenefeit from it....

it was just so nice, i had "g_saberRealisticCombat" bound to my "n" key.

hope someone can come up with the right answer.....

MTFBWYA

*goes off to consider reinstall sans the f%$king patch*

Crow_Nest
11-13-2003, 10:01 AM
What i mean is try typing the "g_saberrealisticcombat 5" or try "g_sabermorerealistic 3000" (Not sure if its 3000)



*goes off to consider reinstall sans the f%$king patch*

Yeah, this patch really messed up the game a little. And it took away my favourite bugs. NooooooOOO!!!!

simonarnold
11-13-2003, 10:08 AM
Thanks, Ill give it a go, although I might have tried it already, I have tried so many things!

The problem I have is that the patch did sort out the lighting problems I was having (Got a Radeon 9700), I kept getting these White outs whenever I was near a light so I dont really want to take it off.

Oh well, if anyone else comes up with an answer to dismemberment let us all know, its not the same when you cant cut a body in two.;)

Crow_Nest
11-13-2003, 10:17 AM
Almost forgot. make sure that the option "model dismember" in the setup is on! or you wont see bodies get chopped!

simonarnold
11-13-2003, 11:31 AM
:p Dont worry that is set to on.

Which really does beg the question why we have to go through this nonsense to make it work!!!

Crow_Nest
11-13-2003, 11:42 AM
Originally posted by simonarnold
:p Dont worry that is set to on.

Which really does beg the question why we have to go through this nonsense to make it work!!!

Ask Raven!!!! :p

Same for dynamic glow, why do i have to go through all those trouble to make dynamic glow work? (But in the end, i didn't get it to work. sadly) :(

SirYawnalot
11-13-2003, 11:50 AM
My dismemberment works perfectly well in SP and MP, I'm not sure which exact command does it but try putting all of these in your autoexec.cfg in your base folder. Copy + paste so you don't make any typos...

helpusobi 1
set g_sabermorerealistic 2
set g_dismemberprobabilities 100
set g_dismemberment 3
set rcon_dmflags 8
set broadsword 1

I can't remember what the last 2 do so I'm putting them in anyway.

By the way, in SP i've noticed that bodies keep having the scorchmarks cleaned off them after less than a minute (I've got g_corpseremovaltime set to 0), and I could have sworn it didn't happen before. Anyone know of a way of fixing this?

Crow_Nest
11-13-2003, 11:53 AM
Actullay you'll have to change the "set" to "seta". Sorry, forgot. :(


EDIT: I think you also need to add a " when you type the number.

Eg. seta g_sabermorerealistic "2"

WJTW
11-13-2003, 12:25 PM
The problem is, whenever a new game is loaded (or a saved file), the configs are overwritten.
AND, even if I had renamed the file to 'autoexec.cfg', a new jaconfig.cfg would be created, and JA would use THAT file.

So... what can I do?

A question: For those using 'sabermorerealistic', is it really more realistic, or is it just a fancier name that serves the same purpose as 'saberrealisticcombat'?

Why do they even need a new code?

WJTW

Prime
11-13-2003, 01:49 PM
The autoexec.cfg file is read by the game automatically.

GunShark
11-13-2003, 02:22 PM
My dismemberment is working perfect by altering the options in jaconfig.cfg since the new patch, you may want to check your config file as i found saberrealisticcombat twice and put both to 3 and now i have FULL dismemberment working fine. Also on a side note the option for dismemberment in the set up menu is now empty (no on or off selected) which appears to override the new setting. I can start a new game from scratch or continue a saved game with my saber on realistic mode, i can roll into sith in SP and cleave them in 2 with the stab through the gut or cut of heads with the saber throw.

Hope this gives some help.

GunShark
11-13-2003, 02:26 PM
Heres a copy of my jaconfig i currently use, hope this helps for more of a guide.

/ generated by Star Wars Jedi Academy, do not modify
unbindall
bind SHIFT "saberAttackCycle"
bind CTRL "+moveup"
bind KP_PLUS "forceprev"
bind KP_MINUS "forcenext"
bind SPACE "+use"
bind 1 "+speed"
bind 2 "weapon 1"
bind 3 "force_throw"
bind 4 "force_pull"
bind 5 "force_speed"
bind 6 "force_sight"
bind 7 "force_absorb"
bind = "weapon 0"
bind A "cg_thirdperson !"
bind C "+movedown"
bind E "datapad"
bind F "+useforce"
bind I "gloat"
bind J "taunt"
bind K "bow"
bind L "meditate"
bind M "vstr change7"
bind N "flourish; wait 15; saber dual_5; sabercolor 1 red purple; wait 40; flourish"
bind O "vstr change1"
bind P "vstr change4"
bind Q "uimenu ingamesavemenu"
bind S "engage_duel"
bind U "flourish"
bind W "uimenu ingameloadmenu"
bind X "gloat; wait 20; saber single_41 single_41; sabercolor 1 red purple; sabercolor 2 yellow orange"
bind Z "vstr change2"
bind \ "weapongrabbed"
bind ` "toggleconsole"
bind ~ "toggleconsole"
bind MWHEELUP "weapprev"
bind MWHEELDOWN "weapnext"
bind MOUSE1 "+attack"
bind MOUSE2 "+altattack"
bind UPARROW "+forward"
bind DOWNARROW "+back"
bind LEFTARROW "+moveleft"
bind RIGHTARROW "+moveright"
seta name "Jaden"
seta g_saberDarkSideSaberColor "0"
seta g_speederControlScheme "2"
seta g_saberRestrictForce "0"
seta g_saberLockRandomNess "2"
seta g_saberNewControlScheme "1"
seta g_corpseRemovalTime "10"
seta g_dismemberProbabilities "100"
seta g_stepSlideFix "1"
seta fx_expensivePhysics "1"
seta cg_g2Marks "1"
seta cg_reliableAnimEvents "1"
seta cg_drawBreath "0"
seta cg_simpleItems "0"
seta cg_crosshairY "0"
seta cg_crosshairX "0"
seta cg_crosshairSize "24"
seta cg_crosshairForceHint "0"
seta cg_drawAmmoWarning "1"
seta cg_drawSnapshot "0"
seta cg_drawFPS "1"
seta cg_drawTimer "0"
seta cg_drawStatus "1"
seta cg_draw2D "1"
seta cg_saberEntMarks "1"
seta cg_renderToTextureFX "1"
seta cg_stereoSeparation "0.4"
seta cg_drawGun "1"
seta cm_playerCurveClip "1"
seta g_spskill "2"
seta cg_footsteps "3"
seta ui_r_glCustom "4"
seta ui_PrecacheModels "1"
seta cg_hudFiles "ui/jahud.txt"
seta ui_menuFiles "ui/menus.txt"
seta ui_disableWeaponSway "0"
seta cg_bobroll "0.002"
seta cg_bobpitch "0.002"
seta cg_bobup "0.005"
seta cg_runroll "0.005"
seta cg_runpitch "0.002"
seta d_slowmodeath "3"
seta g_subtitles "0"
seta cg_crosshairIdentifyTarget "1"
seta cg_gunAutoFirst "1"
seta g_dismemberment "100"
seta g_saber2_color "yellow"
seta g_saber_color "red"
seta g_saber2 "single_41"
seta g_saber "single_41"
seta g_saber_type "single"
seta g_char_color_blue "105"
seta g_char_color_green "88"
seta g_char_color_red "0"
seta g_char_skin_legs "lower_a1"
seta g_char_skin_torso "torso_b1"
seta g_char_skin_head "head_b1"
seta g_char_model "jedi_hm"
seta cg_marks "1"
seta cg_drawCrosshair "1"
seta ff_delay "40"
seta ff_channels "0,0;1,0;2,0;3,0;4,0;5,0"
seta use_ff "0"
seta s_soundpoolmegs "25"
seta s_UseOpenAL "1"
seta s_mp3overhead "31756"
seta s_language "english"
seta s_mixPreStep "0.05"
seta s_mixahead "0.2"
seta s_allowDynamicMusic "1"
seta s_khz "22"
seta s_separation "0.5"
seta s_musicvolume "0.476563"
seta s_volumeVoice "1.0"
seta s_volume "1.000000"
seta vid_ypos "22"
seta vid_xpos "3"
seta r_lastValidRenderer "GeForce3/AGP/3DNOW!"
seta r_modelpoolmegs "20"
seta r_shadowRange "1000"
seta cg_shadows "2"
seta r_showtriscolor "0"
seta r_primitives "0"
seta r_facePlaneCull "1"
seta r_gamma "1.300781"
seta r_swapInterval "0"
seta r_textureMode "GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_NEAREST"
seta r_finish "0"
seta r_dlightBacks "0"
seta r_dynamiclight "1"
seta r_drawSun "0"
seta r_fastsky "0"
seta r_ignoreGLErrors "1"
seta r_lodscale "10"
seta r_flares "1"
seta r_lodbias "0"
seta r_lodCurveError "250"
seta r_intensity "1"
seta r_subdivisions "4"
seta r_vertexLight "0"
seta r_simpleMipMaps "1"
seta r_customheight "1024"
seta r_customwidth "1600"
seta r_fullscreen "1"
seta r_mode "7"
seta r_ignorehwgamma "0"
seta r_overBrightBits "0"
seta r_depthbits "24"
seta r_stencilbits "8"
seta r_stereo "0"
seta r_colorbits "32"
seta r_texturebitslm "0"
seta r_texturebits "32"
seta r_detailtextures "1"
seta r_picmip "1"
seta r_ext_nv_point_sprite "1"
seta r_ext_point_parameters "1"
seta r_DynamicGlow "1"
seta r_ext_texture_filter_anisotropic "0.000000"
seta r_ext_texture_env_add "1"
seta r_ext_compiled_vertex_array "1"
seta r_ext_multitexture "1"
seta r_ext_gamma_control "1"
seta r_ext_preferred_tc_method "0"
seta r_ext_compress_lightmaps "0"
seta r_ext_compress_textures "1"
seta r_allowExtensions "1"
seta handicap "50"
seta snd "jaden_male"
seta sex "m"
seta snaps "20"
seta m_filter "0"
seta m_side "0.25"
seta m_forward "0.25"
seta m_yaw "0.022"
seta m_pitch "0.022"
seta cg_autoswitch "0"
seta ui_thumbStickMode "0"
seta cl_VideoQuality "0"
seta cl_ingameVideo "1"
seta cl_freelook "1"
seta cl_mouseAccel "0"
seta sensitivity "30.000000"
seta cl_run "1"
seta cl_packetdup "1"
seta cl_maxpackets "30"
seta cl_anglespeedkey "1.5"
seta cl_pitchspeed "140"
seta cl_yawspeed "140"
seta panoNumShots "10"
seta conAlpha "1.6"
seta joy_ybutton "0"
seta joy_xbutton "1"
seta js_ffmult "3.0"
seta joy_threshold "0.15"
seta in_joyBallScale "0.02"
seta in_joystick "0"
seta in_mouse "-1"
seta in_mididevice "0"
seta in_midichannel "1"
seta in_midiport "1"
seta in_midi "0"
seta se_language "english"
seta com_maxfps "75"
seta g_dismembermentprobabilities "100"
seta g_dismember "100"
seta g_sabermorerealistic "3"
seta r_weatherScale "1"
seta g_saberrealsticcombat "3"
seta g_sabercombat "100"
seta forceall "10"


Some of these commands work and some dont but this is what i have running to get dismemberment working full on with a more realistic saber combat, Just wtch your head cause if you get kicked by a sith your head may come clean off your shoulders.. this has happened to me more than once. :)

simonarnold
11-13-2003, 03:26 PM
Interesting ideas there,

seta g_dismembermentprobabilities "100"
seta g_dismember "100"
seta g_sabermorerealistic "3"

Appears in SirYawnalot's autoexec and GunSharks JAconfig.


seta g_saberrealsticcombat "3"

also appears in the Jaconfig file.

Oh well guess Ill just have to see what happens!:rolleyes:

ogre_h
11-13-2003, 03:52 PM
I got it to work with helpusobi 1 in the shortcut I made. I set it to '5' instead of 2. I didn't create an autoexec or edit jaconfig.cfg. Does a value over 3 really have any substantive effect?
Is it better to use an autoexec file instead of a shortcut?
Are both needed?

What does "broadsword" do?


Another odd-ball thing I noticed, is I have 5amuri stances mod/patch in my base, and sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn't. Usually I have to be wasted and re-load the level for the stances to start up. Now the stances mod/patch doesn't show up in the mod list. It appears to be activated automatically as the game loads, I guess it just process the pak file straight through. Is there anyway to make it behave more consistantly. Is there a thread already that explains this? As someone who grew up with Kung-Fu Saturdays on channel 5 I really like the Samurai Stances. I think though that the author may want to revist it a little as the animations may have been affected by the patch

Thanks guys

Prime
11-13-2003, 04:03 PM
Originally posted by ogre_h
I got it to work with helpusobi 1 in the shortcut I made. I set it to '5' instead of 2. I didn't create an autoexec or edit jaconfig.cfg. Does a value over 3 really have any substantive effect? Presumably it is like JO, which has the following settings for dismemberment:

0 = no dismemberment
1 = hands and arms dismembered
2 = hands, arms and legs dismembered
3 = above plus waist and head

Anything above 3 should have the same affect as level 3.

Originally posted by ogre_h
Is it better to use an autoexec file instead of a shortcut?
Are both needed? I find an autoexec.cfg easier to use, main because you can put all your settings in there. Just a preference.

GunShark
11-13-2003, 09:23 PM
I've not used a autoexec for SP too much, i've got a basic one which i'll post below and some of the settings combined with the saber hilts mod 1.5 allow me to chnage from duels to staff ingame, but for the dismemberment i put them straight through my console untill i had to put saberrealisticcombat in again directly into my jaconfig file.
I use the first 2 lines for changing saber in SP the rest is for MP quick chnage to the 2 characters i use and the blade colours and custom quick taunts ect for duelling

My autoexec used for both mp and sp is
Helpusobi 1
bind x "gloat; wait 20; saber single_41 single_41; sabercolor 1 red purple; sabercolor 2 yellow orange"
bind n "flourish; wait 15; saber dual_5; sabercolor 1 red purple; wait 40; flourish"
bind J "taunt"
bind K "bow"
bind L "meditate"
bind S "engage_duel"

set change1 say"^5Good ^0Fight;bind z vstr change2"
set change2 say"^2Well Fought;bind z vstr change3"
set change3 say"^1Your Hate Has Made You Powerfull;bind z vstr change1"
bind z "vstr change1"

set change4 say"^2Give ^5Yourself ^3To The ^0DARK ^1Side;bind p vstr change5"
set change5 say"^4Fear Is My Ally;bind p vstr change6"
set change6 say"^6Your Feeble Skills Are No Match For The Power Of The ^0Dark ^1side!;bind p vstr change4"
bind p "vstr change4"

set change7 set"color1 2;color2 1;bind m vstr change8"
set change8 set"model reborn_new/blue;color1 4;color2 3;bind m vstr change9"
set change9 set"color1 1;color2 2;bind m vstr change10"
set change10 set"model jawa;color1 0;color2 5;bind m vstr change7"
bind m "vstr change7"