PDA

View Full Version : what the crap am i doing wrong here


areonic
11-14-2003, 10:23 PM
Ok,I am tring to set my server up for dual mode,to where people come in,take turns,they die,they wait.first person to hit 12 kills,wins the level,but when people die,they keep fighting,also,the person that lives,his health stays the same,also sometimes when it loads the maps,you here the respawn sound a hole bunch time really fast and it kills eachother and the mapm changes,and sometimes i connect,it kills me and disconnects and says command overload o some crap,here is my config,also i used taht gamerunner crap to make my config,so i dont know

// This file is automatically executed by jamp.exe


///GAME TYPE\\\
//Sets the type of game you want ran
// gametypes
// 0 = FFA
// 3 = DUEL one on one tournament
// 4 = POWER DUEL
// 6 = TEAM DEATHMATCH
// 7 = SIEGE
// 8 = CTF
set g_gametype 3



set gamename "basejk"
sets ".Configured By" "Areonic"
sets ".Online Since" "11/14/2003 4:16:16 PM"

seta g_motd "^4IF SABOR IS NOT LIT,DO ^1NOT ^4 TRY AND KILL....^5WWW.GE-COMPLEX.COM"
sets "Config File" "Jedi"
seta sv_hostname "{-GE-} Galactic Empire"
sets "Admin" "Areonic"
sets "Admin E-Mail" "areonic@ge-complex.com"
sets "URL" "www.ge-complex.com"
sets "Hours" "24/7"
sets "Clan" "{-GE-}"
//seta net_port "29070"
seta sv_privatePassword "****"
seta rconPassword "****"
seta g_password ""
//seta net_ip " 216.168.131.134"
seta sv_maxclients "24"
seta sv_privateClients "2"
seta sv_maxPing "250"
seta g_inactivity "180"
seta com_HunkMegs "0"
seta sv_minclients "0"
seta sv_maxRate "10000"
seta sv_minPing "0"
seta g_forcerespawn "3"
seta sv_fps "200"
seta com_zoneMegs "0"
seta com_SoundMegs "0"
seta sv_reconnectlimit "3"
seta g_warmup "0"
seta sv_zombietime "3"
seta g_maxGameClients "0"
seta g_minGameClients "0"

//Advanced Options Begin//
seta d_saberBoxTraceSize "2"
seta g_saberdmgvelocityscale "0"
seta g_saberdmgdelay_idle "350"
seta g_saberdmgdelay_wound "0"
seta g_saberDamageScale "0"
seta g_saberLockFactor "10"
seta g_saberWallDamageScale "0.4"
seta g_powerDuelStartHealth "150"
seta g_powerDuelEndHealth "90"
seta g_siegeRespawn "20"
seta d_saberGhoul2Collision "0"
seta g_sabertracesaberfirst "0"
seta d_saberAlwaysBoxTrace "0"
seta g_saberBladeFaces "0"
//Advanced Options End//

seta g_gravity "800"
seta g_speed "250"
seta g_timeouttospec "70"
seta g_dismember "100"
seta g_maxForceRank "7"
seta g_ForceRegenTime "200"
seta sv_timeout "300"
seta g_weaponTeamRespawn "3"
seta g_weaponrespawn "5"
//seta g_redteam "Empire"
//seta g_blueteam "Rebellion"
seta g_allowvote "0"
seta sv_allowDownload "0"
seta sv_allowAnonymous "1"
seta g_doWarmup "0"
seta sv_floodProtect "1"
seta g_friendlyfire "0"
seta g_teamForceBalance "0"
seta g_forceBasedTeams "1"
seta sv_pure "0"
seta g_synchronousclients "1"
seta g_teamAutoJoin "0"
seta g_privateDuel "1"
seta g_adaptrespawn "0"
seta g_smoothClients "0"
seta sv_padPackets "0"
seta g_saberLocking "1"
seta g_friendlySaber "0"
seta g_forcePowerDisable "1"
seta g_jediVmerc "0"
seta g_forcebasedteams "1"
seta g_slowmodduelmode "0"
seta g_allowduelsuicide "1"
seta g_locationbasedDamage "1"
seta g_noSpecMove "0"
seta g_debugMelee "1"
seta g_duelWeaponDisable "1"
seta g_allowHighPingDuelist "1"
seta g_showDuelHealths "0"
seta g_stepSlideFix "0"
seta bg_fighterAltControl "0"
seta g_siegeTeamSwitch "0"
seta g_weaponDisable "0" // Weapons Disabled
seta g_duelWeaponDisable "65530" // Weapons Disabled Duel Only
seta g_forcePowerDisable "262143" // Force Power Disabled
seta logfile "0"
seta g_log "jagames.log"
seta g_statLog "5"
seta g_log "jagames.log"
seta g_austrian "0"

seta fraglimit "12"
seta timelimit "20"
seta capturelimit "3"
seta duel_fraglimit "1"

// IP = 216.168.131.134
// Port = 29070

//----------------
//#### THE FOLLOWING KICKS THE SERVER INTO GEAR ####
//----------------

g_autoMapCycle "0"
exec "jediMaps.cfg"
//
writeconfig jampconfig.cfg
wait
//EOF

BUT PLEASE TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK

Amidala from Chop Shop
11-14-2003, 11:53 PM
You have fraglimit and duel_fraglimit reversed. Fraglimit is the number of duels needed to win a round, duel_fraglimit is the number of rounds to win a match (map). So if fraglimit is 2, you have to beat your opponent 2 out of 3 duels to win the round. Fraglimit 3 means you have to win 3 out of 5. By having fraglimit 12, you have to win 12 out of 23 duels to win a round. I think you want fraglimit 1, duel_fraglimit 12.

BTW, you have sv_maxclients 24 and sv_maxrate 10000. That means you need 24 x 10000 x 8 = 1,920,000 bps upload bandwidth = 1.92Mbs = 1,920kbs upload bandwidth. I hope you have a T1 line or equivalent. Remember that most home DSL and cable modems have 256 or 512kbs upload bandwidth. A duel server doesn't need 24 slots, no one is going to wait that long in line to duel. Try sv_maxclients 6.

StormHammer
11-15-2003, 01:49 AM
Originally posted by Amidala from Chop Shop
BTW, you have sv_maxclients 24 and sv_maxrate 10000. That means you need 24 x 10000 x 8 = 1,920,000 bps upload bandwidth = 1.92Mbs = 1,920kbs upload bandwidth. I hope you have a T1 line or equivalent. Remember that most home DSL and cable modems have 256 or 512kbs upload bandwidth. A duel server doesn't need 24 slots, no one is going to wait that long in line to duel. Try sv_maxclients 6.

Yeah, I'd agree with that. I actively avoid servers that allow more than 8 players. It just takes too long to get your turn again, especially if the duelists are very good, because some duels can go on for 10-15 minutes. While it's nice watching other players some of the time...it would be ridiculous if I had to potentially wait 240 minutes [3 hours] (24x10) to play a duel. :eek:

6 to 8 players is more than enough for a duel server, IMHO.

And I still wish that Raven had addressed this issue by allowing for multiple duels to take place simultaneously, in different 'arenas'. This is one of the great things about Rune (that I will always continue to point out :p ), because at least one of the maps for that game has a central chamber (out of bounds for fighting where you pick up weapons) and 3 arenas attached. One is for 1v1 duels, another is for FFA, and another is for 'boxing' hehe. If Duel mode had been set up in a similar way, where players actually spawn and can stand and watch a fight as real spectators - and then simply walk into an off-shoot chamber (one of 3 or 4) to duel, it would be considerably better. On an 8-player server, you could effectively allow 'everyone' to duel at the same time. I mean, it's not like the engine can't handle that, considering you can get 20+ players in S/O FFA.

Amidala from Chop Shop
11-15-2003, 02:17 AM
As I pointed out in another thread, one of the nice features of the much-despised adminmods is that many of them allow multiple simultaneous duels during "FFA"
(if you think that multiple simultaneous duels should be occuring on a "FFA" server in the first place).

The best implementation I know of was Duelers Mod for JKII:JO. The mod would auto-assign duels in a constantly updated ladder. It allowed multiple simultaneous duels. While waiting to be assigned a dueling opponent, you could "FFA" with others who were not dueling, although the points didn't count. While you were "FFAing", duelers had the usual blue glow and were immune from intereference. When your duel was assigned and began, all the other players on the map except you and your opponent became invisible and could not interfere with your duel. Once your duel was over, everyone else would magically reappear. And, if you went to spectator for a break, you weren't assigned a duel and you didn't lose any points by going to spectator. I wish the default dueling mode of JA was like that.

Samuel Dravis
11-15-2003, 02:24 AM
I asked the guy that made duelers to let the OJP port the source code for Duelers over to JA, but he didn't want to. He's going to be porting it over himself, once the source code comes out. Too bad... :(

areonic
11-15-2003, 10:16 PM
is there any thing out to help admins,thats for jedi academy,cuz i run a server and im used t spearhead,so im tring to learn this,but i run into a new problem every day

Amidala from Chop Shop
11-16-2003, 01:19 AM
First go to the Dedicated Server Forum here:
http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=334
and look through the threads. Someone else has probably had the same problem(s) as you have had.

You also appear to be using Jedi Academy Runner. I knew absolutely nothing about servers 8 months ago, and I used it's predecessor Jedi Runner for JKII:JO. I learned a lot by using it and reading the excellent Help section.

Jedi Academy is based on the Quake III engine and many of the cvars and commands are the same. Use Google to search for Quake III or Q3 server setup or rcon, as well as JK2 or Jedi Outcast server setup or rcon, and you will find some helpful information.