PDA

View Full Version : SR Server endorses cheating.


babywax
11-17-2003, 11:21 PM
I went into their server today, and one of their clan members uses a staff, but one side is INVISIBLE. So I argued with them, they were saying it was fair that it was invisible (by invisible I mean it's there, it does damage, but you can't see it) because you could download the hilt and make it visible by doing so. This was on a pure server... I continued to argue, and I won the argument and they banned me. Pitiful, things like this ruin the game. He's attacking, and hitting people with nothing, please fix this bug in your next patch Raven.

DarkLord60
11-17-2003, 11:29 PM
Thats because some ppl are are pathetic when it comes to hosting games. They like to abuse their power.

FK | unnamed
11-17-2003, 11:51 PM
ummm

if it's a pk3 that you download, you won't see (pardon the expression) it unless you have it.

That's not JA or Raven, that's how the Quake 3 engine works.

Now for you not to "see" his invisible hilt on a pure server, the only way was you auto downloading it off the server.

cl_allowDownload 0 fixes that, go delete the pk3 and go back.

Now if this hilt is an actual in game exploit like a cvar, thatís one thing, but if itís a pk3, you wonít have to deal with it unless itís in your base folder.

babywax
11-18-2003, 02:40 AM
No, the hilt was just the default hilt, the problem was the actual saber (the light blade, the part that hurts) was invisible. So you couldn't see where it was.

Kurgan
11-18-2003, 08:31 AM
Like unnamed said, if the server is running a mod that answers your question right there.

It's not really cheating, just using mods.

babywax
11-18-2003, 10:22 PM
I have autodownloads set to off... He was the only person using the hilt too... Was it just a mod?

shukrallah
11-18-2003, 10:29 PM
i didnt think you could join a server if you didnt have their mod? Anyways, in order for you to get the mod (if it was a mod) youll need to have downloads turned on, and they need to allow it, so if the server doesnt have it on, then you wont be getting it.

babywax
11-19-2003, 01:46 AM
They said it was just a hilt... Not a mod even, they said they could use it on any server...

Emon
11-19-2003, 02:43 AM
Sounds like he modified the saber text files, maybe he cut back on the number of blades, but the other blade was still being used for hit detection? Modified models or textures are definitely not possible in your situation.

babywax
11-19-2003, 11:00 PM
but the other blade was still being used for hit detection

Basically...
I don't know how he did it, he said that if I downloaded the hilt though that I would see the other blade...

shukrallah
11-19-2003, 11:49 PM
just dont go on servers like that anymore.