View Full Version : Srf?

11-21-2003, 03:12 PM
Just started out mapping, so I'm kinda newb...

WHen I go to complie my map (any BSP command) an error occurs saying that I do not have an SRF file.

Can someone please explain what this is and how do I create one? thanks.

11-21-2003, 03:18 PM
It is automatically created in the BSP phase, if you do a vis or light compile first you won't get the srf file generated, hell you won't even get a .bsp! Be sure you select one that has the word "-meta" as all those will create a BSP.

11-21-2003, 03:29 PM
OK, that sounds like an easy fix.

On general knowledge principles, what is an srf file? and its purpose?

Thanks Wade...

11-21-2003, 03:38 PM
The .srf file has to do with lighting calculations...but it's not necessary to play a map, it's an intermediate step. You need only include the .bsp in your pk3 when you finish (the .map, .srf and .prt files don't have naything to do with the actual gameplay).

11-21-2003, 03:41 PM
makes sense...

Then I assume correctly that all the srf/prt/map information will be included in the bsp file when I pk3 it?

11-21-2003, 05:43 PM
Yup. The .bsp file is the final product of a compile, and that file contains all the information the game needs to know.

(Besides custom textures, models, etc, of course.)

11-21-2003, 06:16 PM
Just to be picky, the bsp file does include custom models provided you placed them as misc_models, they're built into the BSP tree :p