PDA

View Full Version : Projected Shadows?


Crow_Nest
11-27-2003, 12:53 PM
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
I deleted all my .cfg files from base and was suprised to find this shadow option called "Projected". I didnt noticed it before. When i turned it on, i got these shadows:

http://crownest.poonpipi.com/images/shadow.jpg

http://crownest.poonpipi.com/images/shadow1.jpg

This is Simular to Volurmic (sp?). But better FPS with "Projected".

The thing is how did i get this shadow? I havent seen it before nor seen screenshots with it.

Is it because my card supports this feature?

Astrotoy7
11-27-2003, 01:05 PM
c'mon crow, you should know having shadows on isnt good for fps - plus the game is mostly travelling so fast, you really dont have time to notice them.....

shadows off for me

MTFBWYA

Crow_Nest
11-27-2003, 01:26 PM
Originally posted by Astrotoy7
c'mon crow, you should know having shadows on isnt good for fps - plus the game is mostly travelling so fast, you really dont have time to notice them.....

shadows off for me

MTFBWYA

yes i know that. :p If you lag alot with shadows, maybe its your RAM. (You're using GeForce FX Go5700 right?)

You shouldn't have much frame drops with DG or shadows with a good card like that. I'm using a GeForce FX 5700 Ultra, i have DG on with projected shadows and i can still get 57 fps.

Astrotoy7
11-28-2003, 02:02 PM
What ! you get 57fps with DG on, no fair ! I have a Geforce FxGo 5600, but Im sure I need to fiddle with my bios setting(as per the wonderful guide by 'saberstaff') to find a way to help...... as you have seen, I get 30%+ drop in fps..... maybe that or new drivers, which arent terribly forthcoming on laptop video cards...... :(

MTFBWYA

Crow_Nest
11-28-2003, 02:11 PM
i put vsync off and i can hit to 80-90 fps with projected shadows and dynamic glow!


try it!