PDA

View Full Version : 2 OSs, 2 Hard Drives?


te27ch
12-07-2003, 10:31 PM
Hopefully this isn't a total n00b question, but...

Could you have 2 separate HDs, one for Windows, one for Linux? So instead of doing all this partition business, i could pick which HD i wanted to use?

If so, would there be something in the BIOS that would see there are 2 HDs, and give me a choice, or what?

Just asking.

DarkLord60
12-07-2003, 10:38 PM
Yes you can but would someone else care to explain cause its really a pain in the arse.

te27ch
12-07-2003, 11:09 PM
Ahh so perhaps just having one drive with the partitions is more worth it?

Acrylic
12-07-2003, 11:33 PM
Originally posted by te27ch
Ahh so perhaps just having one drive with the partitions is more worth it?

Thats what I did. It really wasnt that hard either. ;)

RoguePhotonic
12-08-2003, 07:25 AM
I used to have that..one one each drive...on boot up it will ask which window's to use.

BCanr2d2
12-08-2003, 08:58 AM
See what kind of partition a Linux machine can run on, since you can do it rather easily through the NT/2K/XP boot menu.

A better option is to first install Linux on the 2nd hard drive, then for XP (If that is what you intend to use) to be second. It SHOULD create a boot menu for you, but don't be totally sure of that.

Check on somewhere a little more hard core than here at the swamp for Windows/Linux dual boot. I am sure if you google for that, you will find plenty of answers.

The_One
12-08-2003, 03:28 PM
I was reading not so long ago, Intel are developing a new chip that is capable of running 2 OS's at the same time ie. you can have Windows and Linux running together, and easily switch between them.

Looked interesting ;)

BCanr2d2
12-11-2003, 10:54 AM
Sounds like a bit of a fallacy to me. With the P4, the "hyper threading" gives the appearance in most cases to the PC that there is two processors, not one. Perhaps this is what they were on about.
Technically a dual CPU PC, with two OS's written properly could do what you mention.

Don't expect this available commercially, could even be part of the 64-bit Itanium line of chips, but still doubt it.