PDA

View Full Version : Can u start windows with different setups??


toms
12-10-2003, 12:55 PM
It seems like something that should be easy enough to do, but i can't quite figure out how to do it.

Basically I use my computer for 3 main things: Games, The Internet and Watching/Recording TV/DVD. All these things require various bits of software that sit in the task bar, but each use has a pretty distinct group of software it needs.

Games: Start without any software running
Internet: Start with Firewall, Antivirus, Download manager Running
AV: Start with TV/DVD/Remote Control and DigiGuide Apps running

Is there a way to do this with Windows ME?? I know you can do different hardware profile, but can you do different software profiles too? I have looked around and found a couple of apps that will start several programs at once, but they don't seem to work very well and don't allow you to just change to another profile and close the apps you already have running.

Any ideas would be appreciated..... :)

BCanr2d2
12-10-2003, 01:04 PM
ME, now what a piece of collective money grabbing software that is... Now I have that out of the way, I will suggest the best way to do what you have requested.


Since you have ME, setup three different users and use them to limit what loads on startup, since this can be done on a per user basis. (Then again, I am not totally sure it adheres to the NT way of doing it)

Then I'd ajust each "user" or role, and have them load whatever you want in each.

Basically, have it make you type in a user to start, name them something like TV, NET and GAMES, along with a ADMIN or something similar that is a general overseer of the whole situation.

Sivy
12-10-2003, 01:14 PM
yes, setting up users accounts is probably the best way, then you can have different settings for each.
and you might want to think about upgrading from ME, cause its pants. i didn't realise how pants it is until i upgraded from it to XP.

BCanr2d2
12-11-2003, 11:47 AM
It's neither full 9X or NT family, a mixture of both, closer to an XP beta than anything else.

Never used it, have tried to deal with it at work and it sucked majorly.

I also suggest the XP upgrade too, you'll love it.

Jedi Luke
12-11-2003, 01:07 PM
ME is crap!! Simple. I had ME on my laptop and I had numerous problems. The computer would lock up at windows startup, there'd always be some new settings that had happened while the computer was off and it is starting windows with new settings, major loading times, etc. Basically it is crap. I then upgraded to Windows XP on the laptop and I haven't had one problem yet. Go for XP.

STTCT
12-11-2003, 01:10 PM
XP is very cool. At first I didn't like it, but its beginning to grow on me...

ME...I've never had it, but my husband's parents do. Its okay - but not as good as XP.

toms
12-12-2003, 11:18 AM
cheers, how do i create new users?
im sure i can figure it out eventually, but...

---------

I've learnt from experience that when my system is running ok i don't mess with it.
I found that as long as i was strict with it winME ran ok, so i'll wait to upgrade until i have need.

i didn't get it originally because i wasn't happy with all the digital rights stuff they included in it.

Sivy
12-12-2003, 12:05 PM
go into control panel, there should be an icon called 'users and passwords' create the users you want. then just go into each and configure them how you want.