PDA

View Full Version : No CD patch For Academy (no more like this please!)


Plowon
12-15-2003, 08:26 PM
My Friend was telling me about something called a NO CD patch for Computer games. He said you can download them off the net and this way you won't have to have the CD anymore to run the game. I am wanting to go buy the game and do this so I can let my Friend borrow my game. This way we can play each other. IS there a NO CD patch out there yet for Jedi Academy. Also
I ahve never done this, but is it this easy to do.
Thanks for any help

Prime
12-15-2003, 08:28 PM
You will not be able to play online with a no CD patch.

Plowon
12-15-2003, 08:34 PM
Really, I know we did on Outcast, I had the CD and he had the No CD patch. we could both play people on the net. I don't know maybe its different on Academy. Does anyone have a link, I guess SP is better than nothing, right. Thanks

Plowon
12-15-2003, 09:54 PM
I just looked on the net and found a SP/MP NO CD patch for Academy. SO I guess it is possible.

I swear me and my friend played on the net.

Pnut_Man
12-15-2003, 10:09 PM
Did your friend buy the game ;)?

WadeV1589
12-15-2003, 10:26 PM
Yeah tread carefully, NOCD patches are legal (ignore the ranters on here who say otherwise) as long as you bought the game and use it yourself to prevent wear and tear on the CD. However what you're saying would consitute an illegal activity so I wouldn't post about it again, you can always lie and say it's for personal use :p But you've said otherwise now.

The alternative people seem to totally not mind though is copying the CD bit for bit....even though you could then give a working copy to a friend - I AM allowed to say that because the original purpose is for back-up...strange how people think that's legal even though you can literally give a free JA cd away.

Anyhow, JA+NOCD patch = "illegal response from server" or some other packet bug, basically the NOCD screws up packet transmission so you can rarely play online for long with it.

Agen
12-15-2003, 10:42 PM
I used a no-cd fix on my old hdd and it worked well until the end, sp and mp. Be careful though, sometimes they can stop working for no explainable reason :)

Crow_Nest
12-15-2003, 11:23 PM
Andy said that using the no-cd patch could give u the Cl-packenites error and the insert disk 1 error.

razorace
12-15-2003, 11:54 PM
Only if the patch is bad.

I've yet to see a working JKA or JK2 nocd patch.

Kurgan
12-16-2003, 12:30 AM
Needless to say, asking for CD Cracks is against the rules, and Raven, LA or us can provide no tech support if/when your crack stops working or gives you problems.

If you still want to look for cracks and use them, that's your business, but such posts have no place on our forums.


Thread Closed.