PDA

View Full Version : PK3 question


Teancum
12-18-2003, 09:22 AM
when I'm playing online and someone's using a custom model, does it look for a pk3 with the same name, or does it just look in each pk3 for the model directory? -- I'm curious, because I'd like to combine a few models to clean up clutter in the /base directory.

Crow_Nest
12-18-2003, 11:32 AM
No, it doesnt. When a person uses a different skin/model, and if you dont have it, that player's skin/model will appear as kyle.

Master William
12-18-2003, 11:36 AM
Hmm... I thought that the original model the skin was based on should be seen instead...

Teancum
12-18-2003, 11:40 AM
Originally posted by |GG|Crow_Nest
No, it doesnt. When a person uses a different skin/model, and if you dont have it, that player's skin/model will appear as kyle.

I know -- I guess I need to explain a little better.... Okay, let's say you have 'skin A' and the pk3 is named skin A.pk3. My question is, would YOUR 'skin A' show up still if my pk3 was named skin_a.pk3? If it does, then it probably looks inside all of the pk3s to find the skin file, if not, then it looks for a pk3 of the same name.

Celladur
12-18-2003, 12:14 PM
hmm, I'm not quite sure I understand what you mean.

Do you mean, if you both have the skin but one of you has it under a different name would it still work?

If that's what you mean then It should still work.

GothiX
12-18-2003, 12:26 PM
PK3 names don't matter, I wanted to play Orbital Extreme with Deso lately, and I renamed my PK3's for that one during development, while he had the official version.

Crow_Nest
12-18-2003, 01:08 PM
Originally posted by Teancum
I know -- I guess I need to explain a little better.... Okay, let's say you have 'skin A' and the pk3 is named skin A.pk3. My question is, would YOUR 'skin A' show up still if my pk3 was named skin_a.pk3? If it does, then it probably looks inside all of the pk3s to find the skin file, if not, then it looks for a pk3 of the same name.

Ohh! Now i understand.

It will look for the skin file inside the pk3. i think

Prime
12-18-2003, 04:23 PM
The name of the .pk3 file only matters to the order that the skins are loaded. This occures in alphabeticall order, with any skins loads later replacing earlier ones.

Skins only get replaced if they have the same directory specified in the .pk3 file...

Teancum
12-18-2003, 07:15 PM
Originally posted by Prime

Skins only get replaced if they have the same directory specified in the .pk3 file...

Which leads me to another question -- When is a file in one pk3 "trumped" by an identical file in another pk3? Will the game take the first one it loads alphabetically, or the second?

Thanks,

-T

razorace
12-19-2003, 10:01 AM
It's whatever is loaded last. That's why the asset files start with an "a". :)