PDA

View Full Version : pentium 4 HT


kingdomwinds
12-23-2003, 12:03 AM
Do gamers really need HT? Or is a regular pentium 4 adequate to play future games like HL 2 and doom 3?

MennoniteHobbit
12-23-2003, 12:05 AM
I would recommend HT, if the HT you're talking about is hyperthreading. It helps speed up the processor and/or its efficiency. Other processers like AMDs don't need HT. AMDs are very efficient, just not capable for high clock speed.

Acrylic
12-23-2003, 12:26 AM
I have Hyper Threading, and I must say...it works wonders. Great investment indeed.

BCanr2d2
12-23-2003, 10:35 AM
ALL P4's are hyper threaded. And I doubt too many games would be multi-threaded to be able to use the two seperate processor spaces. You would need NT/2K/XP to be able to take proper advantage of this multi-threading capability anyway.
Programs such as Photoshop are multithreaded. No game that I am aware of is multithreaded, and not until a P4 is the slowest chip on the market.

If you are talking more about the P4 Extreme's - great waste of money. Get a laptop with a Centrino Chip and watch it outperform P4's that are double to triple it's speed. On die cache is where more speed is going to be found, and the sooner they get 1 MB of on die cache like the Centrino, the better CPU's for desktops will be.

DarkLord60
12-23-2003, 05:18 PM
Take it from me get HT I didnt get it cause my Dell didn't come with it and it makes me sad. But if I were you Id go with AMD.

Acrylic
12-23-2003, 09:14 PM
Originally posted by BCanr2d2
ALL P4's are hyper threaded.

No they arent. They're only Hyper threaded if it says so.

DarkLord60
12-23-2003, 10:34 PM
It has to say P4 HT mine says P4 only

BCanr2d2
12-26-2003, 12:16 PM
Whether they are all hyper threaded or not - don't understand getting a P4 without it - very little will actually use it, besides part of the OS, and some very expensive pieces of software that aren't games.....

Crow_Nest
01-15-2004, 11:43 AM
You know what they say, "smart people use Althon". ;) Even Intel's fastest CPU right now still cannot beat althon's latest CPU.

DarkLord60
01-15-2004, 05:47 PM
You know my next system will have an althon.

RoxStar
01-15-2004, 10:43 PM
So what does Hyper Threading do, and what are its advatanges?

Elijah
01-16-2004, 09:15 PM
Originally posted by MennoniteHobbit
AMDs are very efficient, just not capable for high clock speed. Eh? I have a DFI Landparty NFII Ultra B with an XP2800+ (2.09 HGZ) and with a good cooling system (I.E. Liquid) I've seen them clocked to almost 1 Ghz higher then the stock speed (I.E 2500+ Clocked to 2.6 GHZ) Once I have some better ram (PC4000) I'm planning to clock this chip to 2.7-8 GHZ, easy.

I had an XP2000+(1.67HZ) on a cheap Soyo board, and it beat my parents P4 2.6ghz In performance very easy.

Itel in general = Over rather, and costs WAAAAY to much
AMD = Well, they won the race to 64 bit cpu, and they cost nearly half a much... need I say more.

The_One
01-16-2004, 11:05 PM
Actually, hyperthreading will get better performance out of games. I ran some benchies myself ;)

The basic premise behind hyperthreading is that you get 2 processor's worth of power out of one. However, the "2 processors" that you have, work in parallel - not together to form one almighty CPU. It's kind of a difficult thing to explain, and I could point you to some very long articles on Hard OCP, but you'd be bored stiff. An easy example to give would be: you are using two programs at the same time, eg. Photoshop and Windows Media Player. Rather than your CPU using all it's power to run both programs, the hyperthreading will allow each of your 2 individual "processors" to run one program each - thus making things a lot faster.

Sorry if that is confusing, or not particularly specific - but HT is a very complicated process, and that's as "layman" as I could make it.

Bleh :p

RoxStar
01-16-2004, 11:37 PM
...so how would that affect say.... JA if its only one program?:confused:

The_One
01-16-2004, 11:54 PM
Originally posted by RoxStar
...so how would that affect say.... JA if its only one program?:confused:

Well, that's why example isn't so great.

Essentially, the CPU can perform twice the amount of tasks. As you can imagine, a CPU has to perform many tasks for one prorgram, however, programs have to have support built in for multi processor functionality - luckily the Quake 3 engine does, and thus JA has too. Though, with Q3 and its engine games the step up isn't huge - you can get between 10-20 frames extra with HT enabled.

If you want to read that Hard OCP article, head here:

http://www.hardocp.com/article.html?art=Mzg4

RoxStar
01-17-2004, 04:41 AM
...those graphs don't make much sense. Oh well, I'll ask some guy at Best Buy some day.

MennoniteHobbit
01-18-2004, 04:51 PM
Originally posted by BCanr2d2
ALL P4's are hyper threaded. And I doubt too many games would be multi-threaded to be able to use the two seperate processor spaces. You would need NT/2K/XP to be able to take proper advantage of this multi-threading capability anyway.
Programs such as Photoshop are multithreaded. No game that I am aware of is multithreaded, and not until a P4 is the slowest chip on the market.

If you are talking more about the P4 Extreme's - great waste of money. Get a laptop with a Centrino Chip and watch it outperform P4's that are double to triple it's speed. On die cache is where more speed is going to be found, and the sooner they get 1 MB of on die cache like the Centrino, the better CPU's for desktops will be.

btw, last time I checked, laptops running with Intel Centrino mobile technology run on a Pentium M processor.

btw, The_One, I am also a computer software and components geek. I wouldn't get bored stiff.