PDA

View Full Version : Game gets choppy when I use force or someone uses force on me.


alizerothree
12-27-2003, 10:52 AM
Any ideas? Here are my specs.
Athlon xp 3000
9700 Pro ATI 3.10
Direct X 9.0b
768 PC3200 RAM
WIN2k all updated
HDD all defragged with 44% space
EPOX Nforce2 Mobo

I can play with EVERYTHING maxed out on 1280 resolution and still get about 70 FPS constantly. But whren i use force i notice the fps drops to 15 and gets really choppy for like a seconds or 2. Even when people use force on me. Any ideas? Can i disable the plasm effect when force is used??? thanks

PG|Prometheus
12-27-2003, 12:24 PM
There is a command to disable the little circle around your hand when you push/pull/grip etc and replaces it with the old JK2 style ones. But I've forgotten it >/
It increases your fps overall by about 2 aswell as stopping what your describing when you use force.
I'm sure someone will post it or i'll look for it later.

PG|Prometheus
12-27-2003, 12:29 PM
ah I think its:

cg_trueLightning "0.0"

Side
12-27-2003, 01:06 PM
actualy it....

cg_render "0"

Andy867
01-24-2004, 05:38 PM
no its like cg_rendertotexturefx "0" that is the proper command to revert back to raven's old "white wind" effect from Outcast for Force Push/Pull

Neverhoodian
01-24-2004, 11:11 PM
originally posted by Andy867
no its like cg_rendertotexturefx "0" that is the proper command to revert back to raven's old "white wind" effect from Outcast for Force Push/Pull

Yes, this is the command you want. I had the same problem (laggy when pushing/pulling) and when I entered in this command...BAM! Lag's gone. :D

Crow_Nest
01-25-2004, 03:05 AM
Get the new Cat4.1 drivers from ATI! They may improve your performce, including that choppy thingy.

Agen
01-28-2004, 05:54 PM
Never upgrade Graphics drivers unless you have a real problem...

Andy867
01-29-2004, 01:47 AM
With all due respect to Agen and the 'spoon, I must disagree. Newer drivers allow for better support and have updated features that help improve performance over older drivers. Nvidia's drivers especially hold true to this... when I first got Jedi Academy, I at the time had a GeForce4 Ti4800SE 128MB card and got roughly 60-90FPS, by the time I upgraded to a newer card (for various reasons) my video card drivers were able to make JA run at a near stable 100FPS. Now with my new card, I am able to get roughly 300FPS (though not wise) and hardly ever dip below 60FPS on even some of the more demanding maps/levels

Jedi_Vogel
01-29-2004, 08:18 AM
*doesn't know what his graphics card is* :s all I know is that I've played JK and JA without problems.

I also can't find my graphics card specs anywhere, can someone point me in the right direction?

Oh and BTW I have XP Home :p *L*

Crow_Nest
01-29-2004, 08:21 AM
Go to "control panel" and go to "system"

EDIT: You can also tell by right clicking ur desktop, go propoties, go settings and go advance. If its an nvidia card, you should see "GeForce" on top, if its an ATI card, you should see the word "ATI Radeon" on top too.

Originally posted by Andy867
With all due respect to Agen and the 'spoon, I must disagree. Newer drivers allow for better support and have updated features that help improve performance over older drivers. Nvidia's drivers especially hold true to this... when I first got Jedi Academy, I at the time had a GeForce4 Ti4800SE 128MB card and got roughly 60-90FPS, by the time I upgraded to a newer card (for various reasons) my video card drivers were able to make JA run at a near stable 100FPS. Now with my new card, I am able to get roughly 300FPS (though not wise) and hardly ever dip below 60FPS on even some of the more demanding maps/levels

How the hell are you able to get 300 fps?!

DarkLord60
01-29-2004, 06:03 PM
Originally posted by DarkLord60
Why not it helps increase performance sometimes. Its Gefroce that makes things worse.

Why not it helps increase performance sometimes. Its Gefroce that makes things worse.

Originally posted by |GG|Crow_Nest

How the hell are you able to get 300 fps?!

Thats a good question. :confused:

Crow_Nest
01-30-2004, 05:20 AM
Originally posted by DarkLord60
Why not it helps increase performance sometimes. Its Gefroce that makes things worse.

Why did you repeat it twice?

Originally posted by Andy867
With all due respect to Agen and the 'spoon, I must disagree. Newer drivers allow for better support and have updated features that help improve performance over older drivers. Nvidia's drivers especially hold true to this... when I first got Jedi Academy, I at the time had a GeForce4 Ti4800SE 128MB card and got roughly 60-90FPS, by the time I upgraded to a newer card (for various reasons) my video card drivers were able to make JA run at a near stable 100FPS. Now with my new card, I am able to get roughly 300FPS (though not wise) and hardly ever dip below 60FPS on even some of the more demanding maps/levels

Eh, andy. How did you get so rich? I know you own a GeForce FX 5900 ultra right?

Andy867
01-30-2004, 07:55 AM
I own the GeForce FX 5900 128MB version, not the 256, however, when I had the GeForce 4 in, I had told it to go to com_maxfps 300 and I run at 800x600, Medium-high detail. and in some areas(and no, not some dark corner) I can get 300 FPS...

Crow_Nest
01-30-2004, 08:43 AM
Oh so its the res then, i cant set my res lower or higher than 1024x764 cause im using an LCD flat panel monitor.

Im running max detail, video sync off, dynamicglow on. com_maxfps 500. I get 80 or higher on some maps. It depends on the driver....

If i set my res to anything else, my graphics will look like sh!t.

Originally posted by Andy867
I own the GeForce FX 5900 128MB version, not the 256,

256 aint that good really, most of the time 128 will perform better