PDA

View Full Version : Looking for builders, Interesting Project (JA)


holocoach1
01-04-2004, 08:35 AM
I am trying to film a movie, a starwars fan film. I intend to fully film this movie using JediKnight Academy. I will have my computer spitting out video to my digital camcoder. My friends will be logged into map that has been created to resemble a set. For instance, the first scene of my movie is inside of a spaceship. Using GTK Radiant I created the inside of this ship. Each of my friends will select the skin of the person he/she will be playing. I will be spectating mode filming the scene as they act it out.

This may sound cheesy but with this I can go anywhere and have outstanding lightsaber battles and force effects. Now the screen i am fliming will be void of gui so it will be like a camera. Unless you know the game, you would think its a CG moive. Once I have the scenes recorded onto my camcorder I will port it back into my computer and add voices and other sound effects.

If this is interesting to you and you would like to volunteer, I could really use creative builders to create sets for me to film on. My intentions were to make this a mini series and I have three 20 min episodes allready written.

At the very least, can someone tell my how to make imported models solid so that players cannot pass through them?

Thanks

Holocoach@yahoo.com
:ewok:

GothiX
01-04-2004, 09:53 AM
*waits for the day when people realise that ingame movies are utterly crappy*

holocoach1
01-04-2004, 10:04 AM
Apparently you have seen many ingame movies to have the oppinion that they all suck. If thats the case where can I find one and why do you think they all suck?

=X=Master HeX
01-04-2004, 10:47 AM
uhh... camcorder?

http://www.fraps.com/

Amidala from Chop Shop
01-04-2004, 04:07 PM
Originally posted by holocoach1
Apparently you have seen many ingame movies to have the oppinion that they all suck. If thats the case where can I find one and why do you think they all suck? Other people have been and are doing this already. Here are Jedi Outcast movies:
http://www.pcgamemods.com/se/136/0/name/
and Jedi Academy movies:
http://www.pcgamemods.com/se/165/0/name/

Duty
01-04-2004, 04:44 PM
ROFL
ROFL
ROFL
ROFL
ROFL

Jed
01-04-2004, 08:48 PM
Originally posted by Duty
ROFL
ROFL
ROFL
ROFL
ROFL

Duty, all 15 of your posts are trash up to this point.

Shape up or ship out.

shukrallah
01-04-2004, 09:29 PM
Originally posted by gothicX
*waits for the day when people realise that ingame movies are utterly crappy*

*cries* not if its scripted... remember Im making one, and so is Kengo.

Oh man.. dude, if you scripted stuff in your MP maps, your movie would be amazing. Really.

Anyways, dude, find the "clip" texture in the system texture folder, and cover the model with that. the clip texture is like an invisable wall. There was a command you could type in, but ive forgoten it now. :(

Tito
01-04-2004, 10:00 PM
Select the model in Radiant, press "n", and press the little box that says "solid"!:D

Or add the vaules manually... Can't remember if it's:

spawnflag
2

or:

spawnflags
2

Duty
01-04-2004, 10:23 PM
Originally posted by Jed
Duty, all 15 of your posts are trash up to this point.

Shape up or ship out.

Although from past experience i realise that anything you moderators don't agree with is 'trash', I have created an opinion,. along with valid reasoning in another thread.
It is more accurate to say 'most' of my posts have been trash.
thnx ;)

idontlikegeorge
01-04-2004, 11:15 PM
Originally posted by gothicX
*waits for the day when people realise that ingame movies are utterly crappy*

I didn't see you saying anything like this when you "reviewed" Team Corellia. :rolleyes:

gotcha8903
01-05-2004, 01:47 AM
yeah, the solid model thing is what tito said, and its the second one. so:
key- spawnflags
value- 2

holocoach1
01-05-2004, 02:32 AM
Cool I will try spawnflags 2 thing, I have clicked the solid flag after pressing on a model. That didnt seem to work. I will also look into scripting, can you do that in MP? Or I guess you wouldnt need multiple people if you script everything.

Thanks for the help

Amidala from Chop Shop
01-05-2004, 03:40 AM
Rather then reinventing the wheel, there are so many great maps for Jedi Outcast that work in Jedi Academy, and some great maps for Jedi Academy already done and more coming, surely almost every type of "location" that you need is already available in an existing map. Why spend many hours making maps ("sets") when what you need probably already exists?

Check here:
http://www.map-review.com/

and here:
http://www.lucasfiles.com/?s=&action=category&id=70
http://www.lucasfiles.com/?s=&action=category&id=1

and here:
http://www.jk3files.com/sort.files?game=JK3&cat=2951&ref=0
http://www.jk3files.com/sort.files?game=JK2&cat=670&ref=0

and here:
http://www.pcgamemods.com/5/157/
http://www.pcgamemods.com/1/101/

Look for maps that have screenshots so you can tell if it's promising before downloading it.

GothiX
01-05-2004, 07:30 AM
Originally posted by idontlikegeorge
I didn't see you saying anything like this when you "reviewed" Team Corellia. :rolleyes:

Correct, but that was because it wasn't a movie, but a scripted cutscene, which actually requires skill, and knowledge to make.

Prime
01-05-2004, 03:21 PM
Kengo has plenty of experience in this area. You might want to contact him.

holocoach1
01-08-2004, 09:32 AM
Okay I have done some research here into scripting and it does look pretty hard. I have a question for anyone may have scripted a cut scene. When you have your script and place it into the script folder in the .pk3 how do you get it load as a cut scene in the begining of loading the map?

I looked around to for help on this, if someone knows a tutt that would be great.

GothiX
01-08-2004, 10:59 AM
That's very easy, you set that cinematic script as a spawncript in the worldspawn. Like this:

Key: spawnscript
Value: holocaochmovie/holocouchmovie.ibi

Not sure about the .ibi though, has been a while since I did some serious scripting.

Kengo
01-08-2004, 03:47 PM
Originally posted by Amidala from Chop Shop
Rather then reinventing the wheel, there are so many great maps for Jedi Outcast that work in Jedi Academy, and some great maps for Jedi Academy already done and more coming, surely almost every type of "location" that you need is already available in an existing map. Why spend many hours making maps ("sets") when what you need probably already exists?


Not a bad idea, something I've considered doing myself for my project. Or you could just build them yourself, depending on your skill and time avaliable. One thing I cannot stress strongly enough: ask the authors permission to use their map for any project like this.

Gothix, although I think scripting a film like lukeskywalker1 and me are doing is rather more difficult than filming it with ingame footage and offers more options, I genuinely think ingame footage movies can be awesome. In addition to the world ebating RedVsBlue that was created with ingame footage in Halo, the A Great and Majestic Empire series, created in JA (http://www.pcgamemods.com/3314/) certainly has its followers. Infact, for some inexplicable reason such films have had a massive explosion in popularity with JA, even though they were equally possible with JO. Maybe its just the redvsblue effect...

Here are some tutorials on scripting and getting SP pk3s together:
http://www.geocities.com/kengomaps/tutorials.html
http://members.lycos.co.uk/eaglee7/index.html

It isn't easy at first but it is very rewarding, and gives you lots of options.

If you go with the recording options, just make sure you have a strong staff. To drum up extra interest you could perhaps provide more info on the storyline etc both here and maybe on a website. Good luck.