PDA

View Full Version : Darth Revan Reincarnate 1.1: Extra chEEse


Lil' Jawa
01-05-2004, 08:26 PM
Just finished it, it's available to download at here (http://www.sith-res.tk) or if that link doesn't work then here (http://w1.842.telia.com/~u84203091/).
For those of you already running a game started with 1.0 it shouldn't cause a problem though if you are before Dantooine you might want to think about restarting as you wont have to do jedi training there at all anymore.

Changes:
- Added a dialog with the door ;) , so now you can choose any jedi class you want.
- You may also choose alignment and which gear you want for starts(lightsabre-wise, this isn't a cheat) ;)
- You don't have to redo training on Dantooine now - Big Thx to HazardX for globals!
- Also some other minor changes I can't think of now but they're there, play it and see for yourself.
- Stay tuned for future projects, bigger, badder and uhh..better? :)

Mr.AbusivePanda
01-05-2004, 08:37 PM
Sweet! lol i started my game with your Dark Revan Mod last time and it took me the whole of taris, datooine, tatooine, kashyyyk, and more than half of manaan to gain enough lightside points for mastery... keep up the great work jawa! (gonna test tonight)

andargor
01-05-2004, 09:07 PM
He's Lil', but he's baaaaad. ;)

I can host it on my site, if you want.

Andargor

Stator
01-05-2004, 09:20 PM
It isn't working for me at all. I get 100xp for the door opening and that is it. I can even open the door myself without switching to Trask. Am I supposed to compile all of those .ncs files or something before copying the door file to my override folder?

Stator

Lil' Jawa
01-05-2004, 10:44 PM
Originally posted by Stator
It isn't working for me at all. I get 100xp for the door opening and that is it. I can even open the door myself without switching to Trask. Am I supposed to compile all of those .ncs files or something before copying the door file to my override folder?

Stator

You edited it or is it original? does the same thing happen with all dialog choices or just with some?
Try seeing if you didn't forget to copy some file too, that might be it.

Btw NCS are compiled, NSS are not compiled.

Stator
01-05-2004, 11:42 PM
Originally posted by Lil' Jawa
You edited it or is it original? does the same thing happen with all dialog choices or just with some?
Try seeing if you didn't forget to copy some file too, that might be it.

Btw NCS are compiled, NSS are not compiled.

It's the original I downloaded today. Version 1.1. I haven't edited anything. I decompressed the .rar file and place the k_penddoor01.ncs fle in my override folder. Then I started a new game and those were the results. Never had any door dialog options. I deleted that file and downloaded it again in case I had a corrupted download but no changes.

Stator

Stator
01-05-2004, 11:52 PM
I just realized what I did wrong and boy do I feel dumb. I needed to install all of the .ncs files into my override folder. Now I need to learn how to script without using the nwn toolset. I need to change the items for light side players. They still get the sith mask and darth revan's robes....hehehe.

Thanks for the hard work and don't let programming illiterates like me slow you down.

Stator

HazardX
01-06-2004, 08:33 AM
@Jawa:
I've found one thing you could improve:
You call 10x UT_DarkHigh to make the player evil, but you only need to do this once:

SetGoodEvilValue(oTarget, 0); // to become evil
SetGoodEvilValue(oTarget, 50); // to become neutral
SetGoodEvilValue(oTarget, 100); // to become good

It's a great mod, keep up the good work! :)

Lil' Jawa
01-06-2004, 02:56 PM
Originally posted by HazardX
@Jawa:
I've found one thing you could improve:
You call 10x UT_DarkHigh to make the player evil, but you only need to do this once:

SetGoodEvilValue(oTarget, 0); // to become evil
SetGoodEvilValue(oTarget, 50); // to become neutral
SetGoodEvilValue(oTarget, 100); // to become good

It's a great mod, keep up the good work! :)

thx i'll be sure to add that if I do a next ver and thx fer globals again :)



Stator: no it is my fault I forgot to change readme to explain to copy all files not just k_penddoor01.ncs(which was the only one in 1.0).
If you want to change items given just look in the appropriate jawa_giveitem(1 I think was good, might be wrong though), recompile it and it should give you correct one.

Stator
01-06-2004, 06:40 PM
Let me start off by saying that the only scripting experience I have is from playing around with the NWN toolset. I get completely lost trying to use command line compilers and decompilers. I can't even begin to write a script from scratch. With the NWN toolset, I have learned quite a bit and can do a decent job understanding how a script was made when I view it in the toolset.

With all of that being said, I have discovered what my biggest problem was. The SoU and HotU expansions make some changes to the base toolset and it is incompatible with KotOR. After making a dual install with a completely unmodified toolset, I can now write scripts or modify scripts that will be recognized by KotOR. I believe that I read this somewhere before but I couldn't find the post. This is basically info for other neophyte scripters like myself. You can use the NWN toolset but you need a fresh, unmodified installation.

Lil' Jawa:

I am toying with your scripts to try and add the jedi classes along with the alignments to determine your starting items. Basically I am trying to accomplish what I stated in the pm that I sent you. Once I have that working correctly, I will send you a copy to look at. After that I intend to incorporate your scripts with some of the model changing scripts people have been working on. Hopefully everything will mesh together well.

To all of you modders working on KotOR, I want to say THANK YOU for your efforts. You are giving all of us a chance to play the game in different ways and my hat goes off to you for that.

Stator

vustare
01-06-2004, 07:28 PM
Originally posted by Stator

With all of that being said, I have discovered what my biggest problem was. The SoU and HotU expansions make some changes to the base toolset and it is incompatible with KotOR. After making a dual install with a completely unmodified toolset, I can now write scripts or modify scripts that will be recognized by KotOR. I believe that I read this somewhere before but I couldn't find the post. This is basically info for other neophyte scripters like myself. You can use the NWN toolset but you need a fresh, unmodified installation.


Stator,
Just a couple of newb questions. I also have SOU and HOTU installed and so compiling KOTOR scripts in the toolset doesn't work for me and in addition, I haven't the faintest clue how to work command-line script utilities.
How did you go about installing an unmodified NWN Toolset? Did you use your original installation disks, and if so, did you install it on the same drive/partition? If not, where did you get an unmodified copy of the toolset?
Thanks in advance,
Vic

Stator
01-06-2004, 08:11 PM
This is how you do it Vustare.

First off uninstall NWN. Remember to back up anything important like portraits and modules first. Next install the original NWN. As soon as you are finished, copy the entire NWN folder to your desktop and then rename it. You can even make the folder read only if you desire. Now you will have a clean install of nwn on your desktop and you can use that for the toolset. Simply install SoU and HotU. They will both go straight to the original install on your hard drive and they will overlook the renamed version that sits on your desktop.

If you have any other questions just shout.

Stator

Stator
01-07-2004, 01:16 AM
WOOHOO!!! YABBA DABBA DOO!!! :D :D :D

I did it. I know this is small potatoes to you real modders but it's fantastic for me. Thanks to your original builder module and the source scripts for the revan 1.1 mod, I have been able to set up the game to play just as I wanted. I can now start off as a jedi before my first battle and I can start with items based on your jedi class.

Guardian - blue jedi robe and blue saber
Sentinel - brown jedi robe and yellow saber
Consular - red jedi robe and green saber

I may have the saber colors mixed up but that is easy to fix. For someone like me who doesn't have any formal training, this is a wonderful feeling. Thanks to Lil' Jawa for posting his work to get me started and to all of the other modders who have been kind enough to post there findings and to answer questions. I simply feel great. Thanks again to everyone.

Stator

hochi1942
01-07-2004, 11:09 AM
care to share with us please :D

Stator
01-07-2004, 04:34 PM
I would happily share the files but I have one small little problem. I don't have anywhere to upload them to. If anyone is willing to post them somewhere, I will gladly send the source and compiled scripts to them. One thing to remember though. This is not my work. It is only a modified version of the work done by Lil' Jawa. All credit goes to him, not me.

Stator

CraZy_B
01-07-2004, 05:44 PM
Is there an .nss to .ncs compiler that doesn't actually need NWN?



edit: Could anyone give me the default install directory of NWN and the file structure (i mean the place of the Override directory)? Maybe Torlack's compiler will work then with the nss editor.

Thanks in advance

hochi1942
01-07-2004, 06:46 PM
stator ill pm you with my email and ill find a host for it just send me the file in a zip format.

:)

OSIFRACRAT
01-07-2004, 06:59 PM
Huge newb question: How someone who has no idea what you guys are talking about, go about installing this lovely mod?

OSIFRACRAT
01-07-2004, 07:00 PM
sorry about the double post

Stator
01-07-2004, 07:40 PM
The files have been sent hochi1942. I hope that others find them useful.

Stator

Stator
01-07-2004, 07:45 PM
Originally posted by OSIFRACRAT
Huge newb question: How someone who has no idea what you guys are talking about, go about installing this lovely mod?

Real easy OSIFRACRAT. Go to Lil Jawa's site and download the Revan 1.1 mod. It's in zip format. Extract the files to your KotOR override folder. Start a new game and have fun.

Right after Trask opens the door you will get some dialogue options. You will be able to pick your jedi class, alignment, and starting jedi gear. Have fun with it. I know that I have.

Stator

hochi1942
01-07-2004, 09:03 PM
thanks stator

OSIFRACRAT
01-07-2004, 09:03 PM
Thank You!

OSIFRACRAT
01-07-2004, 09:11 PM
Is it supossed to be just one file? Thats all i can get out of the .rar file thats on the second site. His site won't load up for me. And I tried just the one file and it doesn't appear to be working but i'll try again.

Stator
01-07-2004, 10:05 PM
Here is the shortcut right to the download. You need to place all of the .ncs files into your override directory.

http://w1.842.telia.com/~u84203091/DarthRevanModv11.rar

Stator

OSIFRACRAT
01-07-2004, 10:35 PM
I'm sorry but when I unrar the file its only one file. A .dlg file? No .ncs files to be found.

OSIFRACRAT
01-07-2004, 10:51 PM
Fixed: Winrar was messing up so I downloaded and used ultimate zip instead and i can see the files now!

Stator
01-07-2004, 11:12 PM
I forgot to say that you also need the .dlg file placed in your override folder. Just copy everything except for the .txt file....hehe

Stator

Urazhil
01-08-2004, 03:42 AM
As for the "one-file-out-of-the-rar"-Problem:

Just upgrade your Winrar to the latest version. ;)

lil_dude
01-15-2004, 07:46 PM
as soon as i beat the game i'll probly download this and use it, this looks sweet

MDC
01-16-2004, 12:02 AM
Hey there Lil'Jawa,

This mod is a lot of great fun and I even tried my hand in making changes to the original. I figured, all those who want to play the dark side are in their glory here, but what about the goody-goodies? I personally find the SF Robes hideous but found someone who wanted them instead along with a heap of LS points, so off I went - I threw in a bunch off goodies like the Circlet of Saresh, a rainbow of Jedi Master Robes and lighsabers, etc. Unforunately, I have HotU and SoU installed and my NCS only worked for the first listed class in the script. I couldn't figure out what the heck I was doing wrong, so thanks to whoever brought to light this issue above. I will try again with a fresh NWN install and hope that I'm not just screwing something up beyond repair. ;) But one question:

Why give the good/bad/neutral choice and only Revan's robes? Yes, yes - it's Darth Revan Reincarnate but picking "good" or "neutral" renders them useless for some time. Also, if you're going to go light, why not all the way? ;) Just curious.

Great job and thank you.

Aven'aeris
01-17-2004, 05:37 AM
okay, so i downloaded the latest version of your mod and encountered a problem. everything worked great untill i got to Dantooin for training. your readme mentions that the mod made training there unnecesary. when i got there, however, i found that all the masters acknowledged me as a padawan, but i couldn't leave the planet. furthermore, i couldn't exit the jedi enclave (the droid told me i didn't have permission yet :)) Otherwise, i really like this mod.

Lil' Jawa
01-17-2004, 11:46 AM
Originally posted by Aven'aeris
okay, so i downloaded the latest version of your mod and encountered a problem. everything worked great untill i got to Dantooin for training. your readme mentions that the mod made training there unnecesary. when i got there, however, i found that all the masters acknowledged me as a padawan, but i couldn't leave the planet. furthermore, i couldn't exit the jedi enclave (the droid told me i didn't have permission yet :)) Otherwise, i really like this mod.

Yes i'm really sorry about that but it is a bug, didn't know it myself until a while ago where someone else encountered the same problem.
He mentioned that you could warp out to the outer grounds by using the warp cheat though and that worked for him, i'm terribly sorry about any inconvenience it may have caused and I *am* looking into how to fix it right now asap.

Supreme-Lord
01-17-2004, 12:50 PM
Same here. Stuck on Dantooine :(
Hope u fix it soon ;)

somrandomguy
01-17-2004, 05:17 PM
That is why I'm still using the old version.

bantha poo doo
01-17-2004, 09:20 PM
where can i download the old version

Syphadeus
01-18-2004, 10:57 AM
Hi there. I just thought people might like to know that there's a fix for when you get stuck on Dantooine.

As it's been mentioned, you can use the warp codes to let you get past that section. Since you cannot have completed the original first quest, you can't access the ruins. If you use the warp code "warp danm15" it will warp you inside the ruins where you can continue as normal, then you use the code "warp danm13" to warp outside of the Academy near the Ebon Hawk.

You should be able to complete your quest then. If there's an annoying Jedi woman who keeps asking "how's your training going" when you try to enter the Ebon Hawk, it'll be because you have some form of Jedi attire equipped. Unequip any Jedi Robes and equip armour or clothing and she'll leave you alone. Problem solved.

Or, of course, you could use an earlier version. I like using the most recent versions of everything though, I'm dorky like that. :)

Celladur
01-18-2004, 11:26 AM
Bah, I'm stuck on dantooine but I don't want to use a cheat because I'll get that "Cheat Used" Message on my save game screen.

Is there any other way of doing this?

If I un-install the mod and install the older version will that work?

Syphadeus
01-18-2004, 11:44 AM
Sorry, I don't know of any other way to overcome being stuck here. I'm not sure if using an earlier version of the MOD at this point would make any difference. I have no idea how the MODs work, so I honestly couldn't tell you. As far as my understanding goes (which, admittedly isn't very far), I don't think using an earlier version will be any good to you now, because the essential changes to how the game has worked have already been made by this point. Don't take my word for it by any means, that's what I'd imagine to be the case though.

As for the cheating thing, I can't understand it myself. I'm not sure why people are so adverse to the "cheats used" message on save files. So far I've only used the cheats for this and the odd item here and there and I can't say it bothers me in the slightest. I understand it must be annoying if you're adament about not having it be there though.

Sorry that I can't offer any advice. :(

Lil' Jawa
01-18-2004, 02:10 PM
don't bother cheating if you don't want to, I said i'm working on a fix so I am hopefully be done soon :)

Revan23
01-19-2004, 03:36 AM
hi i know nothing about modding, so can some 1 tell me how to put this mod in the game and what programs i need? thanks:guard:

Syphadeus
01-19-2004, 09:19 AM
Dude, the instructions on how to use the MOD are contained in a readme.txt file in the MOD itself. All you have to do is download it from the one of the links that Lil'Jawa supplied and use WinRAR to open it and then follow the instructions in the readme file.

Lil' Jawa
01-19-2004, 06:50 PM
Hey sorry guys for taking so long time(i'm such a lazy bloke :P) but here it is:
http://w1.842.telia.com/~u84203091/Dantooine_fix.zip

It should take effect instantly no need to restart your game, hopefully no more bugs from there on :)

Syphadeus
01-19-2004, 07:35 PM
Looks like Lil'Jawa's a Lil'Lifesaver. :D

Revan23
01-19-2004, 08:43 PM
i didnt have the program to un-zip it this is one sick mod keep up the good work

Lil' Jawa
01-19-2004, 09:22 PM
Originally posted by Revan23
i didnt have the program to un-zip it this is one sick mod keep up the good work

Haha I like your attitude :vadar:

lord_blodgett
01-20-2004, 12:40 PM
Yeah!!!


too bad I overwrote my save so I could try out a few mods I'm working on.

Still, this mod rocks.

CDRSeadog
01-20-2004, 01:13 PM
An interesting idea, Lil Jawa - and (I'm sure) an interesting MOD as well -

I've downloaded both your MOD, and the Dantoooine fix...I'll try them out as soon as I finish my present game - will let you know if I come across any "bugs".

BTW - your Kotor Mod Utility program was excellent also :-)

Lil' Jawa
01-20-2004, 02:03 PM
Thx but I never wrote the kotor mod utility program, The Devanstator did. ;)

CDRSeadog
01-20-2004, 02:25 PM
Ahem....I think I knew that...I must be getting both senile, as well as old *LOL*

Shimaon
01-21-2004, 12:15 AM
Lil' Jawa, I just wanted to say thanks, I downloaded your mod when I first started observing these boards and it has made me play experience MUCH more enjoyable (I worked around Dantooine with the warp cheat, heh).

Thanks Again,
Alex

Lil' Jawa
01-21-2004, 01:23 PM
Happy to hear, oh and stay tuned for even more boring mods(well i'll be posting ones everywhere once a new one is released but still)..:D

deathdisco
01-23-2004, 12:48 AM
FYI, I can't get past the Jedi who keeps asking me how my training is going. I have to use the warp code to get back to the Ebon Hawk. Other than that, keep up the good work.

Darth Stryke
01-23-2004, 04:02 AM
WELL, until someone makes a better mod to start as a jedi, I will ALWAYS be using this-GREAT job jawa. My one question for you is, what will your next mod be? :D

Syphadeus
01-23-2004, 07:30 AM
Originally posted by deathdisco
FYI, I can't get past the Jedi who keeps asking me how my training is going. I have to use the warp code to get back to the Ebon Hawk. Other than that, keep up the good work.
As I mentioned on the previous page, you can bypass the Jedi who keeps asking you about your training by removing your Jedi robes (that's robes of any type) and just wearing clothing or some form of armour. This should make it so she doesn't bother you.

deathdisco
01-23-2004, 02:10 PM
I tried that. I tried wearing armor, I even tried nothing but my underwear:giggle1:

Lil' Jawa
01-23-2004, 02:43 PM
deathdisco: i'm just guessing but did you start your game with 1.0? that would be the cause then..

deathdisco
01-23-2004, 06:42 PM
If you mean the mod version no, it was 1.1. Game version 1.01.
I wonder if any body else has this issue or if I'm the only one?
:confused:
I've all ready been through the game without using cheats, so I don't mind using them now for this. It's still a great mod.

Lil' Jawa
01-24-2004, 01:10 PM
Hmm when I tested the dantooine fix I never had anyone ask me about that although I don't think I had any robes on me when I was at the jedi compound..perhaps you forgot one of the script files which sets the globals so they were never set when you started your game?

deathdisco
01-24-2004, 04:17 PM
Here's everything in my override folder:

dan13_jdroid.dlg
jawa_align1.ncs
jawa_align2.ncs
jawa_dmod1.dlg
jawa_giveitem1.ncs
jawa_giveitem2.ncs
jawa_giveitem3.ncs
jawa_jedi1.ncs
jawa_jedi2.ncs
jawa_jedi3.ncs
k_pend_door01.ncs

The only thing I didn't have in there when I started my game
was the Dantoooine fix.

If I'm the only one with this issue, then don't worry about it.
It might be just some weird random glitch.

Thanks for the suggestions.

Lil' Jawa
01-24-2004, 05:27 PM
Strange, oh well you were able to warp past it anyway so no big deal right?:(

deathdisco
01-24-2004, 10:48 PM
Yeah, no worries:)

hvkasteren
01-25-2004, 01:53 PM
Would it be possible to get the star forge robes instead of revan robes when you choose good? At the moment you get the revan robes, which you can't use.

Cisst
01-25-2004, 08:36 PM
sorry, i just have to say it... thank you for this mod.. not to be able to become a level 19 jedi was rone of the really frustrating points... thanks for fixing it lil'jawa :)

Darth Renoux
01-31-2004, 02:55 PM
Help me! I have tried a dozillion times to make the game work and i just cant do it. can someone go through the steps of getting the game to work 1 by1 an it would be nice if it was in simple english and not pc english because i know jack**** about pcs.

Thanx!

White Ronin
02-03-2004, 08:29 PM
I second hvkasteren on the Star Forge robes idea. It was a little disappointing to create an all high and mighty Jedi only to see that she was stuck with her scout outfit.

:rolleyes:
So the addition of the SF robes in your inventory as a Light Jedi would be added sweetness.
Also there's this one piece of light side head gear I found which increases your wisdom by four or five points. It looks like the head gear of an Sith Lord (Tulok Hord?) which you find on Korriban. It looks like two pieces of gold metal which line the lower part of the jaw. Trouble is, I started over my game not really taking note of it, and I forgot what it was called and where I found it. The fact that it gave you a godly boost in wisdom was key. I think I may have picked it on Kaashyyk. Like I said I barely remember it, and I wish I did. I missed it when I didn't find it my second time around.:( Anyone have any info on that? If so I think it may make a good addition to the inventory of the light side choice in this mod. The next part is just a question and I'm not dissatisfied with it or anything, but why did you have your character put part way on the light/dark spectrum instead of at the extremes of both from the getgo? Again, not a problem per se, but just an inquiry. All in all, the mod still kicks major weakling Jedi ass. Cheers.

Muskrat
02-04-2004, 10:38 PM
About the Dantoonie bug, did anyone try asctually doing the training? if the bug is still there after that, then yes, the fix is needed, if not, just go through training, it doesn't change your character (i think, i wonder what would happen if you chose a different class than the one you chose at the beginning...) and it's free exp!

ErinKing
07-09-2004, 05:47 PM
Can Someone please make this work in a zip file the other file formate isnt working with my free mode of win zip thanks if you can.

T7nowhere
07-09-2004, 06:05 PM
Originally posted by ErinKing
Can Someone please make this work in a zip file the other file formate isnt working with my free mode of win zip thanks if you can.

The file is a rar you need to Download winrar (http://www.download.com/WinRAR/3000-2250-10259256.html?tag=lst-0-1) to extract.

Mono_Giganto
07-09-2004, 10:24 PM
Originally posted by White Ronin
I second hvkasteren on the Star Forge robes idea. It was a little disappointing to create an all high and mighty Jedi only to see that she was stuck with her scout outfit.

:rolleyes:
So the addition of the SF robes in your inventory as a Light Jedi would be added sweetness.
Also there's this one piece of light side head gear I found which increases your wisdom by four or five points. It looks like the head gear of an Sith Lord (Tulok Hord?) which you find on Korriban. It looks like two pieces of gold metal which line the lower part of the jaw. Trouble is, I started over my game not really taking note of it, and I forgot what it was called and where I found it. The fact that it gave you a godly boost in wisdom was key. I think I may have picked it on Kaashyyk. Like I said I barely remember it, and I wish I did. I missed it when I didn't find it my second time around.:( Anyone have any info on that? If so I think it may make a good addition to the inventory of the light side choice in this mod. The next part is just a question and I'm not dissatisfied with it or anything, but why did you have your character put part way on the light/dark spectrum instead of at the extremes of both from the getgo? Again, not a problem per se, but just an inquiry. All in all, the mod still kicks major weakling Jedi ass. Cheers.

Circlet of Seraesh. :)

Vampiro
07-11-2004, 04:43 PM
Their are still a few bugs in it...if you dont have training you have to go straight to Vandar then he saids you need to investigate the ruines then you see 1 matale standing their the whole time...So you have to work on that...

Darth333
07-11-2004, 05:03 PM
I used this mod a few times a never ran into any problems. Make sure you get the Dantoine fix: http://w1.842.telia.com/~u84203091/Dantooine_fix.zip

jrc24
07-11-2004, 06:22 PM
NICE WORK !!!!