PDA

View Full Version : Parsing .arena Files


VSYoda1
01-16-2004, 01:48 PM
I'm stuck on how to parse the arena files for a specific values. I need to get the fraglimit value from it and set it to the fraglimit value of the game. I can set the fraglimit from ingame but I can't seem to get the value any help would be appreciated. :)

razorace
01-18-2004, 10:21 AM
I beleive the default fraglimit for a map is already listed in the .arena files but it's just not used for anything.

Why would you want to anyway?

VSYoda1
01-18-2004, 11:36 AM
Yes fraglimit is defined in the .arena file but not retrieved in the code. I can't figure out how to retrieve a int not a string from the .arena.

Wudan
01-18-2004, 12:22 PM
Have it read the string containing the number and do a:
number = atoi(string);
It will work.

VSYoda1
01-19-2004, 06:59 PM
Thanks Wudan again for the help. :)

VSYoda1
01-30-2004, 10:30 PM
Is it possible to add another string value to the .arena file?

razorace
02-01-2004, 09:34 AM
I don't see why not. You'll probably get error msgs when you try to run the new format .arena's in basejka thou.

VSYoda1
02-02-2004, 06:54 PM
I cant seem to get the new value to load in. Is there a limit to how many values can be put in? I thought it just ran a loop through all the values :confused:

VSYoda1
02-06-2004, 09:57 AM
Any ideas? :D

razorace
02-06-2004, 08:23 PM
What are you trying now?

VSYoda1
02-06-2004, 11:47 PM
Well basically I'm trying to put some information for a map into the arena file to be loaded when a command is pressed and displayed on screen. I can display the other values but not my new one. Do you know why?