PDA

View Full Version : Tandy Sound-Chip?


Mr Flibble
01-25-2004, 05:20 PM
Hi, I need help. I want to play Maniac Mansion (the first one), and I can, because I have the version that came with DOTT.
But I find the sound that comes from the PC's internal speaker irritating.
I did some research and discovered if I had a Tandy sound chip or could emulate one my probs would be over.
I don't want to buy one, so I want to emulate.
Do I need to download it, or can I screw with the files of the game?
Once , when I was playing FoA, the Internal Speaker replaced the music. I went to the setup and reconfigured it. Then it worked again. Can I do that now?

I'm on Win95, PentiumII with a SoundBlaster sound card. ( Or at least that damn "Theme Park" setup screen says so)

Thanks

Guybrush122
01-25-2004, 05:22 PM
ScummVM (http://www.scummvm.org)

Ernil
01-25-2004, 08:51 PM
ScummVM (http://www.zetnet.co.uk/~pm/photos/toad.jpg)


heck. Mine gives warts.

Yufster
01-25-2004, 09:11 PM
ScummVM doesn't work with Maniac Mansion... I still get PC sound... you spudniks :(

Shivermetimbers
01-26-2004, 12:55 AM
Turn the stereo in your room up. Or your headphones.

Skinkie
01-26-2004, 01:55 AM
Fill your ears with cotton and beat your head on a desk, soon you'll get a soothing sound of blood running around your ear canals, similar ro listening to a conch shell.

Guybrush122
01-26-2004, 02:30 AM
Originally posted by Yufster
ScummVM doesn't work with Maniac Mansion... I still get PC sound... you spudniks :(

Works like a charm for me.

Anyway, I was never really a big fan of Maniac Mansion. I know know, I'm about to be beaten on the head....but hey.

Darth Groovy
01-26-2004, 05:20 AM
Originally posted by Skinkie
Fill your ears with cotton and beat your head on a desk, soon you'll get a soothing sound of blood running around your ear canals, similar ro listening to a conch shell. :eyeraise:

Ray Jones
01-26-2004, 06:06 AM
Originally posted by Guybrush122
Works like a charm for me.



it also works for me.

hmmm. werent there several versions of mm? are you sure you got the right one?

perhabs you should try VDMSound..?

or like i prefer.. the amiga version. best mm sound ever.. :)

Joshi
01-26-2004, 10:11 AM
anyone ever considered pressing 'm'?

Ray Jones
01-26-2004, 10:23 AM
shift m is mouse control..

what is m?

oh.. you mean pressing m in the scummVM interpreter? hmm..

Mr Flibble
01-26-2004, 03:06 PM
If VM workrd for you, I have two questions for you.
1)What are your PC's Specs?

2)What version of MM are you on?

NB there were 2 pc versions, are far as I am aware.
Low res + Hi res. I have the one which came with DOTT, so I'm not sure. The graphics are of a reasonable quality.

3) Will SCUMM VM give me proper sound that I can listen to out of the speakers?

4) In what way will VM screw my computer?
- ( Will it affect other Lucas games that work fine?)

I'm long winded. Plus stupid. But I won't put the newbie smilie on because A) I'm not a newbie B) Its like, waaayyy down the list , man.

Yufster
01-26-2004, 03:29 PM
Who wants to illegal sent me a pirated version of Manian Mansion Hi Res in English that I may illegally partake in illegal activities revolving around the illegal possession of a game which has been illegally acquired?

Yufster
01-26-2004, 03:30 PM
Wait now... I have.... 1234 posts! Ha Ha Ha! GET IT!? DO YA!? DO YA!?

EDIT: Wait... it's not funny. It's just an observation. You know. Anyway.

Ernil
01-26-2004, 03:34 PM
HA! You can never post again! AHAHAHAHA! THE IRONY!



MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA










or you could just have 1235 posts. but who wants that?

Guybrush122
01-26-2004, 03:58 PM
Originally posted by Mr Flibble
If VM workrd for you, I have two questions for you.
1)What are your PC's Specs?

2)What version of MM are you on?

NB there were 2 pc versions, are far as I am aware.
Low res + Hi res. I have the one which came with DOTT, so I'm not sure. The graphics are of a reasonable quality.

3) Will SCUMM VM give me proper sound that I can listen to out of the speakers?

4) In what way will VM screw my computer?
- ( Will it affect other Lucas games that work fine?)

I'm long winded. Plus stupid. But I won't put the newbie smilie on because A) I'm not a newbie B) Its like, waaayyy down the list , man.


1) Pentium 4 CPU 3 GHz, Windows XP, Direct X 9.0b, 2046 MB of Memory, and a 256MB ATI Radeon 9800 XT

2) I'm on the 256 bit color version.

3) Absolutely. Even if you have a Pentium 2.

4) It will not screw your computer in anyway. It's not a program that runs every game on your computer...its a program that you add games that you already have, to it. So if MI2 works fine for you, you don't have to add it to ScummVM and even if you did, it would come out just fine. Absolutely no screwage of computer systems with ScummVM.