PDA

View Full Version : KOTOR Arena Released


Talchia
01-26-2004, 03:28 PM
It is time for a new challenge, pick up your lightsaber and jump into the arena. Fight
against the toughest opponents in the galaxy and try to stay alive.



Swoop Modding Garage (http://home.t-online.de/home/Talchia/english.html)

Syphadeus
01-26-2004, 03:40 PM
Wow, that's a great idea for a MOD! Is this the result of your tinkering with the "New Word" idea? I've downloaded it and I'll install it next time I play. Does it have any confliction issues with other MODs? Only I'm also using your Carnival 1.0 MOD and your Padawan 1.3 MOD too.

Your MODs are excellent by the way, keep up the good work!

darthface
01-26-2004, 04:02 PM
This is great.. I didn't know this level of work was possible at this stage. Let me guess, you made NWN mods before? Its now fesable that entirely new plots and planets can be made, although they would have to re-use old areas, and would lack voice acting besides aliens.

Some critisicm; I was able to beat them all easily by spamming force-kill, their defense modifiers make them impossible to hit otherwise. And a huge model like the krayt dragon doesn't really work well in the arena.

andargor
01-26-2004, 04:20 PM
Originally posted by Talchia
It is time for a new challenge, pick up your lightsaber and jump into the arena. Fight
against the toughest opponents in the galaxy and try to stay alive.
[/URL]

Well, well! I was thinking of doing something similar, la Taris dueling. Great stuff! I'll try it out.

Andargor

bantha poo doo
01-26-2004, 04:44 PM
Just tried it.

Awesome mod.


I give it 5 death stars out of 5
:deathstar :deathstar :deathstar :deathstar :deathstar

Lil' Jawa
01-26-2004, 05:12 PM
Excellent mods as usual from you Talchia :)
How about a way of accessing the arena when you don't have access to the ship though? I mean maybe an item you could active to bring you there or something like that so you can play your best legit chars who are already on the Leviathan.

Stator
01-26-2004, 05:34 PM
Outstanding work Talchia. Now that we know it can be done, I am anxious to see what others will create.

Stator

Darth Stryke
01-26-2004, 06:45 PM
Very Nice mod, I agree with 5 deathstars out of 5 :D

Darth Exar Kun
01-26-2004, 07:53 PM
for the padawan mod is there something other then unzip into the overide folder, is the standard class selection supposed to be there?

Doc Valentine
01-26-2004, 10:40 PM
Ok, that is amasing. I thought we couldnt do anything map wise and out pops this. Excellent job by the way.

I'm curious though, how did you do it. Is there some mod/map editor I am unaware of?

Please tell me how this was done I have modded other games and would LOVE to mod this one.

T7nowhere
01-27-2004, 02:06 AM
Thats really cool.I started with a King Rancor then the dragon.the rancor was ok it only took a couple adheasive nades then i just unloaded my thermals. :) and the dragon pinned me in a corner that moddle is way to big.

What tools did you use to build the Mod file.

Talchia
01-27-2004, 02:28 PM
@Syphadeus
No issues with my mods, this one replaces only one dialog in the game.

@darthface
certainly, the dragon is to big for the arena but that's the fun of it ;).

@Lil'Jawa
For a module there is no neceassary of overriding 2da for spells and
items. The cheat "warp" is actually just a load module command, at the
moment you can't use it because I didn't change the entry point yet. In the
future this will work for arena and with new features of course.
3 vs. 3 deathmatches, a healer and maybe some shops to spend all
the credits.

@Darth Exar Kun
This is a misunderstand of the padawan mod, I should write the readme more
carefully. It doesn't change the starting class, you will become a 1/19 jedi.


@Gscc and T7nowher
This is plain GFF writing, everything in the engine except scripts will be
controlled with this format. The developer section from Bioware was a great
resource.

arthurh3535
02-12-2004, 10:09 PM
Is there any way to rewrite the mod so that based on your original choice, it removes your level 1 Soldier (for guardian), etc.?

And I hope you don't mind, but the Padawan mod that I ran into has some really atrocious dialogue. I really want to fix it up and make it sounds more consistant and makes better sense.

[edit: with proper grammer even. Sigh.]

Arthur Hansen

BTW, I love this mod!

gameunlimited
02-13-2004, 12:04 AM
Grammar, not grammer ;)

arthurh3535
02-13-2004, 03:02 PM
Originally posted by gameunlimited
Grammar, not grammer ;)

Of course, because I didn't spell check it. Now I feel doubly silly.

And I consider myself a writer.

:rolleyes:

Arthur Hansen

JackJJackal
05-21-2004, 10:55 AM
Anyone having the problem I am with the arena mod? When I go to either warp there using the Warp Arena1 or using the droid command to go there, the game saves and then locks up during the save, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Darth333
05-21-2004, 11:09 AM
Originally posted by JackJJackal
Anyone having the problem I am with the arena mod? When I go to either warp there using the Warp Arena1 or using the droid command to go there, the game saves and then locks up during the save, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Did you place the kotorarena.ncs and k_htmd_dialog.dlg files into the override folder and the arena1.mod into the modules folder?

If you did this, normally it should work by opening the cheat console and typing "warp arena1"

T7nowhere
05-26-2004, 07:13 AM
Originally posted by JackJJackal
Anyone having the problem I am with the arena mod? When I go to either warp there using the Warp Arena1 or using the droid command to go there, the game saves and then locks up during the save, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Are you useing the Holowan Plug-in If your useing the droid thats on the ebon hawk then that part could be my fualt(I may have included the wrong script. I did detect this problem before I released it but I might have mixed up the scripts, but it should still work by useing "warp arena1" without quotes. make sure caps is off.

Cestus
05-26-2004, 11:52 PM
Loved the mod, but there's a minor bug(feature?)
When you add people to your party, then do the 1v1 duels, your party members are stripped away (yes, I know this is supposed to happen). Once I get back to the lobby, my former party members are standing there, not in my party. If I add them to my party again, they duplicate. Not exactly a critical issue, but :)

Love the mod. That evil rodian laugh makes me smile :)

Darth Khasei
05-30-2004, 06:14 PM
This is one of the BEST mods out. Simply OUTSTANDING. It would be nice to have even more NPC's to fight against. Kind of like the top 20-25 K-1 fighters.