PDA

View Full Version : 3DS MAX 6 Importing/exporting


lauser
01-27-2004, 03:47 AM
Okay my MILKSHAPE crapped out on me REAL BAD and all my vertices went crazy DESTROYING my POD racer models. So yeah you can imagine my dissapointment after 100 hours+ of insane meticulous planning and then the model disrupting like that. :racer:

All that hard work down the :toilet1:

MILKSHAPE :grnlaz:

Anyhow can we PLEASE possibly get a few LINKS that people know about in this thread for IMPORTING/EXPORTING MD3s and GLMs for 3DSMax?

I'm just starting to mess with it now and I know that MANY modellers use Max for modelling. So someone must know how to do it.

Thanks in advance .....:D

lauser
01-27-2004, 04:36 AM
Hmm..answered my own query.
Here is a great LINK from our hero Paul Jaquays!!

Pauls Place (http://www.jaquays.com/gameart/model_resources.html):D

Okay I have to add that Paul is an amazing fella and his site has an overwhelming amount of info!!

Jedi_Vogel
01-27-2004, 10:33 AM
Three Cheers for Paul :D
Hip-Hip?



... no one :p
Bleh.

Pipedream
01-28-2004, 03:49 AM
I bet ya learned your lession now, but just in case...

Incremental saves!

Some of my models have over 40 saves before theyre done. You can always go back and erase all those extra saves later if you like... And sometimes its nice to have some of the earlier saves - I'll go back and grab a piece here and there once in a while.

-Pipe

lauser
01-30-2004, 05:23 AM
Actually PIPEDREAM I know about saves and all the save options. It's MILKSHAPE that had the problem. So al the files that got saved.....every last one of them...******. I mean totally screwed. There were at least 4 different versions all with different names. But the ERROR carried through to ALL of the same models. Yeah....yeah...you figure that one out....I dare ya!!:mad:

tFighterPilot
02-01-2004, 06:15 PM
Maybe the files are ok and only milkshape is screwed. Send it to someone else who has milkshape (I don't, trial version over...)

Jedi_Vogel
02-03-2004, 10:47 AM
Maybe the files are ok and only milkshape is screwed. Send it to someone else who has milkshape (I don't, trial version over...)

So out of curiosity, what proggie did ya switch to? :)

tFighterPilot
02-03-2004, 12:40 PM
3D Studio Max ;) :o

Jedi_Vogel
02-04-2004, 07:32 AM
Drattit! I can't even afford the Student Version of that :( Guess I'll be sticking to mapping until Milkshape v2 comes out then :( oh well...

lauser
02-04-2004, 10:45 AM
Here is a solution to making MODELS for people on a LOW budget(RADIANT)--------->

You can make a set of brushes in a map, and turn it into a misc_model, which you can then attach to movers, use the angle, angles, modelscale, and modelscale_vec keys on! Only the latest q3map2 will do this. rgoer explained the process to me...here goes:

Build the structure you want to make into a model in Radiant (in this case, trees). The origin of the map file will be the origin of the model. Build a caulk box around it to prevent leaks, and add an info_player_start. Next, BSP the map with the line <path to q3map2> bsp -v -meta -patchmeta <path to map>. Then, run the following line on the finished BSP file: <path to q3map2> bsp -convert <path to new BSP file>. Look in your maps directory, and you'll find the file mapname.ase. This file can be used as a misc_model in a map! Just enter the path to the .ase file in the model key in the misc_model entity.

To have the map model react properly to lightmaps, use the key/value spawnflags 4. To have q3map2 auto-clip the model (make it solid), use spawnflags 2. For both, use spawnflags 6.

To sum up:

- Make the model out of brushes, save it as modelname.map
- Compile modelname.map to modelname.bsp
- Convert modelname.bsp to modelname.ase
- Load the model in Radiant as a misc_model :D