PDA

View Full Version : Tech trees


porkins14
10-01-2001, 12:04 PM
I think the tightest part of the demo are the tech trees. I personally spent an hour or two just looking at those, and analyzing the civs! After viewing the Tech trees, what are your favorite civs? I didnt know the naboo crusader could be shielded. I kinda like them now. Wookies troops are going to kick butt. Did anyone see where it said Gungans have submarines?? I must be an idiot, cuz i couldnt find it anywhere?? Please explain.

Lord JayVizIon
10-01-2001, 12:09 PM
porkins, check out Mr. Fixit (http://www.mrfixitonline.com)

you'll see some interesting info on which civ has the best class of specific troops. yes, the tech tree is pretty awesome, pretty much using the same idea as aok, but nonetheless great.

porkins14
10-01-2001, 01:13 PM
I personally am interested in the trade fed, Destroyer droids look tight

Tie Guy
10-01-2001, 02:53 PM
Yeah, i loved the tech tress too. When i started reading them they just kept going and going, they seem much , MUCH, longer than AOKs, maybe its just me. Those took me forever to read them all but they sure were cool.

porkins14
10-01-2001, 02:55 PM
No response yet about the submarines?? Where are they in the tech tree? Anyone know?

Paladin
10-01-2001, 03:10 PM
Did you see the Wookie Beserkers attack and HP.
Attack:15 HP:300
That looks like the best UU.
BTW the snowspeeders sucked. I thought they were better.

Thrawn
10-01-2001, 03:13 PM
WHAT?! You can LOOK at the tech trees besides Rebel and Imperial!!! :eek: *Launches out of his chair and out of the room. . . Returns realizing he needs his computer to see the other tech trees!* :D

Paladin
10-01-2001, 03:17 PM
Yep. Well i am imagining you are spazing out and jumping up and down. Ant BTW how do u like the Beserker?

Thrawn
10-01-2001, 03:19 PM
I don't know without being able to use it first. . .

Eets
10-01-2001, 03:20 PM
Hmm... I wonder why they X'ed out some of the options in the Tech tree for the other civs, if we can't play em... It'd be cool if there was a way to unlock em!

EDIT: Ok, I see something now, on some of the other civs the same things are not X'ed out. It could be that they are not completely finished with those selections... Or it could be something else, I dunno...

Tie Guy
10-01-2001, 04:15 PM
....or it could be that that particular civ cannot access that upgrade/unit, but other civs can. Wait, i think it is.

Eets
10-01-2001, 04:17 PM
...Wait, or it could be that they have their own graphics for that specific tech tree item, hence it is possible for them to have it. But no, it couldn't be THAT!

Lord JayVizIon
10-01-2001, 04:21 PM
Originally posted by porkins14
No response yet about the submarines?? Where are they in the tech tree? Anyone know?


i think around tech level 2 or 3, depends when you can first make your shipyard. remember, gungans have unique subs as well, so you may have to wait til TL3 or TL4 to get those....

Tie Guy
10-01-2001, 04:23 PM
Originally posted by mijtechboy
But no, it couldn't be THAT!

i agree :D

Eets
10-01-2001, 04:32 PM
Well then, I'm glad I have your approval. :D

General Theros
10-01-2001, 04:46 PM
I keep hearing people talk about reading the other civs tech trees in the demo....where are you guys finding those tech trees!! I want to see 'em!!! thanks a bunch!

General Theros

Lord JayVizIon
10-01-2001, 04:48 PM
when you play the sp or mp, go to the right of your interface where you see about 5 gray boxes. there's one that's similar to a family pedigree (where one box leads to three boxes). click on that for the tech chart.....

LightWarden
10-01-2001, 04:49 PM
Quite simple, just go to multiplayer, start up a game, click on the little icon of a tech tree next to the IP button.

Pretty neat, huh?

God this game looks waaaaaaaaaaaaaay to much like AoE with a Star Wars facelift, even with the aircraft and such.

Not that that is a bad thing:atat:

General Theros
10-01-2001, 04:49 PM
Thank you very much my friend!!

General Theros

General Theros
10-01-2001, 04:53 PM
Does anyone else think that the Imperial Aircraft should be quicker and cheaper to build than the other civs Instead of vice versa? Just curious! :) also.......how can you change the units name from it's class to it's real Star wars name....(trooper recruit to Imperial Stormtrooper or whatever)?

General Theros

Lord JayVizIon
10-01-2001, 04:54 PM
no problem, but make when you post a thread that's very similar to someone else's that preceded yours, just like porkins, to post on that same thread (i had to merge your threads together)...

good luck and have fun...

LightWarden
10-01-2001, 04:57 PM
The reason why each civ has icons and animations for units it cannot normally have is if you use the option to unlock the entire tech tree in multiplayer/skirmish. It would look ridiculous if you were to send out units from the other side, so you get units you cannot have on your side, on your side.

Make sense now?